We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, not much else to say.”
Review of Capital View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Capital View
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We spent 4 nights in Washington DC, and we greatly enjoyed our experience of the city, so much so that we spent a very minimal amount of time at the hostel (arriving back at 22:30 and departing at 08:00 each day). At first, the hostel did seem very strange, as we were shown to it by an extremely kind and helpful man who literally walked us from the station for no other reason than to be nice, and he was immediately told to wait outside if he wanted to speak to us and that we could only go outside and speak to him once we had fully checked in (presumably for security reasons however we felt this was excessive, as he had also provided the hostel with extra business along the way, as we met an Austrian traveler who he convinced to stay and attend the 50th anniversary of the MLK speech). Once checked in, we were informed that we were not allowed to wear our shoes on the premises (equally strange), and we were then provided with pairs of white spa slippers and told to put our shoes in one of the racks beside the door. Our room was alright, we slept well enough but the air conditioning seemed to be on some kind of hyper mode, as it was like stepping back into Scotland when entering the room. The kitchen facilities were decent, and the living area spacious enough, although we didn't spend much time there at all. Overall, we probably would stay here agan due to the good location and cleanliness of the rooms, but it was a very odd experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crismurphy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

The location was not too bad and most of the main sights were within walking distance. Nice common area and a good kitchen so we were able to cook when we wanted to. We stayed in a 4 bed dorm which had lockers in the room. The staff were really friendly and helpful.
The bathroom was right opposite our dorm and the extractor fan in there was so loud you would not even believe it... so we got woken up every time someone went to the bathroom in the night and it was generally really annoying. It was also very noisy outside with police sirens at night. The hostel also has a no shoes policy which was a bit weird as you are just meant to leave your shoes in their downstairs cupboard. I wouldn’t have minded but I didn’t feel comfortable walking around barefoot / in slippers in the kitchen when people are rushing around and cooking.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Strawberry3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

everything about this hostel was disappointing! upon arrival my friend and I were asked to take our shoes off (something I have never experienced in any hostel before) we were shown the stairs and told verbally that the communal kitchen was location down the hall, however the next morning while having our breakfast another staff member was giving a full guided tour to other guests!! when we entered our private room we noticed that it was extremely stuffy and hot, when we went down stairs to ask if the aircon was on in our room, a staff member said "yes" when we mentioned it was very hot in there...she followed us in and agreed then said we will get someone to look at it (which never happened!) we also noticed others wearing 'slippers' and another guest asked if we got any...which we did not!! (not that I was overly concerned-they look ridiculous!) the beds are extremely uncomfortable and every morning around 6 am we were woken to laughing and screaming from outside our window (this hostel backs onto a carpark). we also saw rats run across the front yard and whilst in our room heard scratching from within the walls-presumably the rats!

but what really convinced me to write this review was an incident that happened on our last night here when we noticed the staff members eating our food (which was placed in a proper bag Packaged etc) that we accidentally left in reception upon arrival. when confronted they simply said "oh well you should have labelled it" we also left a poster down there (which we were told the boss had taken home with her) you would think they would notice us leaving something as big as a poster and a giant pink bag upon arrival!!

stuff are rude and if you're planning on having a few fun nights in Washington don't think you'll get it here, they don't plan any activity nights and you are not allowed alcohol on the premises!

would never stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kpreciou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

I really can't quite decide where to stand with Capital View.
Clearly you can't rival the price for the damn near perfect locations, or it's proximity to Union station or the little extras that were given to us over 4th July.
But the hostel seems to be lackingiffin atmosphere and has some odd rules. I'm all for the shoes off at the door (it's a great way to keep the place clean) but there seemed to be a lack of consistency amongst staff. We were not provided with slippers whereas others were. We were kindly asked to remove our shoes upon arriving, we witnessed others being rudely told off on arrival. We consistently removed our shoes, others wondered around with theirs on carefree. Its only a small issue but inconsistent none the less.
I, personally, couldn't fathom the "no food in rooms" rule. I understand not taking your dinner etc to your room on plates, but I felt like I was under surveillance if I so much as had a bottle of water or apple in my room! I understand that this is, again, for cleanliness but it makes for an uncomfortable atmosphere.
Talking of atmosphere. There isn't really one. The hostel doesn't provide a communal breakfast and rarely arranges evening activities so everyone seems to float. I'm not one for partying or making life long friends but the place just seems to be missing something.

Our room was a private and very basic (bunk bed and wardrobe) and we shared a bathroom with 3other rooms. Or so I thought. It seemed that other people had decided our bathroom was nicer and joined the queue, meaning we often had to wait 30-40mins for a space. If we had stayed longer than 3 nights I would have complained.

The location is the biggest selling point for me. You are at the mall in just 20mins, 5mins from union station and 10 mins from the Capitol. It's a slight misleading description that you can see the Capitol from the "roof terrace"...perhaps if you lean over and squint between the trees and buildings. The terrace was a bit of a let down for me. I had heard that it had been recently renovated but it looked very sorry and worse for wear. It's certainly no garden of Eden. But perhaps a lick of paint and regular bbq events may increase its appeal?

Capital view wasn't a bad place. It's in a great location and offers a brilliant price. It just needs to tie up some loose ends with a good coat of paint and a bit more fore thought.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tarch333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I stayed here on recommendation from a friend and was not disappointed. The hostel is ideally located close to key attractions such as the capital building, White House and union square. Staff were very friendly; showed us to our room, gave us directions and printed of documents we needed for free. The bathrooms are clean, however the hostel could do with a few more toilets as I often had wait in line. Bedrooms are very clean and spacious with plenty of output sockets for both lower and upper bunk beds. This hostel is not a party hostel, it is very quiet after 11pm and it would probably be frowned upon by fellow guests if you came back drunk screaming and shouting. All in all this hostel was a good find for us as we were in Washington solely to visit key attractions.

Room Tip: Get a mixed sex room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights (wanted to stay longer but was booked up) and on the whole was a good experience. The rooms are clean (not allowed to wear shoes so its extra clean), bathrooms nice, but its major draw card is its location- only 10minutes walk to all the major touristy things. We just walked everywhere saving money, as we never had to catch buses or the metro.

Things I didn't like:
-The employees who "greet" you at the door and show you through the hostel... We only dealt with 2 of them, and I didn't like the experience at all. The guy and girl were not approachable and I didn't like them being around. On many occasions we heard them being blatantly rude to guests who asked questions or had to double check on some of the rules (of which they were quite a few).
-The kitchen is nice but is missing too many things- they need some more utensils, plate, cups. Also they need to invest in tea towels. A small thing but really annoying not have when cooking.
-Beds- ours had broken springs, leading to uncomfortable nights sleep.
-No real "hostel vibe"- no breakfasts, dinners, activities. Everyone just goes about their own business.

So all in all a clean hostel in a good location- just don't expect great service or comfy beds.

Room Tip: Showers on the top level have terrible water pressure so try to shower on the mid level. Take of yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonnieEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We are always staying in this hostel. Once being treated exceptionally well, we are life-long guests of this place(:
Great things about the hostel:
+ The nicest staff ever! Very friendly, helpful, understanding.. We were running late for checking in...as our bus from NY was in the traffic jam... and we called up the hostel, they waited for us and were very patient and understanding of our situation and didn't even charge us for the late check-in ((((: they always can help in picking places to eat, sights to see, transport to take.. Very nice people to deal with.
+ The place accommodates a lot of people, but it's always very cozy and peaceful
+ No-shoes policy. You feel like home! It also makes the place very clean.
+ Computer corner, free wifi. You can use one of the computers downstairs in case you don't have one/you lost one/you are out of charge or what not...you are welcome to use theirs.(:
+ Clean kitchen to store your food, to cook, to dine.
+ Nice lounge to meet other people, to rest, to watch a TV (if you want it at all)
+ BEST location in DC! In walking distance from the Union Station, close to China Town - where you can find any place of your taste to eat breakfast/lunch/dinner -, close to main attractions, museums and of course Capitol! So it's kinda "CapitOl View Hostel"
+ Amazing cozy roof terrace! Very romantic...with a view on Capitol - nice for summer nights...
+ The bathrooms are clean if YOU clean them after yourself. So please expect to leave the bathroom in a condition you would like to see when you step in.. Don't be lazy (: the staff is cleaning them of course too. But not after each guest, ok?...(;
+ Lockers. Well, it's hard to call it "lockers" but there's a space on the second floor where you can leave your belongings - it's very helpful! Especially when you check out in the morning and have the whole day to spend outside before leaving. We always have a night bus to home back home, so it's nice to have a place to leave our bags at (:

Thank you Capital View for making our each stay the best!

Room Tip: Best match price/quality!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anastasia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Days Inn Washington DC / Connect...
#120 of 142 in Washington DC
1,886 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#82 of 142 in Washington DC
2,621 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Pod DC Hotel
Pod DC Hotel
#64 of 142 in Washington DC
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
HI Washington DC Hostel
#1 of 46 in Washington DC
682 reviews
Downtown Washington Hostel
#5 of 46 in Washington DC
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital View

Address: 301 I St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-2524
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Mount Vernon Square , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Washington DC
Price Range: £28 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Capital View 1.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most centrally located hostel in Washington, DC. We are just blocks, and less than 10 minutes away from The Capitol, The Monuments, The Museums, and all of the major attractions in the Capital. Feel free to explore, or just spend the time on our roof top patio, and utilize our roof top pool and Jacuzzi access on weekdays! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Capital View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing