We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard, without soul, corporate hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Ranked #42 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Standard, without soul, corporate hotel”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

The Westin is a good, not a great hotel. There is nothing bad about it. There is also just nothing to particularly rave about either.
It is not - as many others have said - actually in Georgetown - but it is a short walk to Georgetown and the many restaurants and shops in it. If you want a longer walk - we actually managed to walk back from Arlington, across the bridge, to the Lincoln memorial, and back to the hotel (stopping at quaint little student pub for dinner on the way) without too much effort. It is also close enough to Foggy Bottom metro station to be easy to walk to.
Not a bad functional place - just nothing special.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozmumwith12yrold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    972
    592
    163
    46
    22
See reviews for
484
439
131
584
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I stayed there during the holidays and as expected, the Westin delivers a high quality experience:
- the room is well appointed, well insulated and the temperature is easily and accurately controlled;
- the hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the high end shops of Georgetown, but walking to the White House area and the Mall is much further away;
- parking is convenient and not too expensive.

The "not so great":
- forget about the pool this time of year as it is outside;
- I am a Gold status member of the SPG chain but I guess it means nothing really: no lounge, no free breakfast, no free internet, not even a paper! All you get is a sign on your door that says it is a "Preferred Member" room, whatever this means as it looks like any other room I have always had at the Westin. Hilton at least gives you rewards for being a top tier member.

All in all thought, the hotel offers a quality experience in a nice area at a decent price.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

I have stayed at the Westin a couple times of the past couple year it also was the site of my companies holiday party the past 2 years. It is generally what you would expect from a Westin; great quality, up to date and clean. Two complaints: First the Westin Georgetown is NOT in Georgetown, near but not in so the name maybe a bit misleading . Expect a decent walk or a short cab ride to visit destinations in Georgetown.

The second complaint stems from one bartender working my companies Holiday party at the Westin. Generally the service is phenomenal at Westins, this one bartender in particular was the antithesis of that (I wish I got the guys name, I would have filed a complaint against this guy), he was very rude to everyone his rudeness came up in party conversation it was so bad, him poring you a drink was like he was doing a favor for you.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bw0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai PRC orig. from Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

I had business in DC and needed a convenient location for both business and sightseeing. the team at the Westin Georgetown made the stay fantastic. The rooms are nice size, well appointed and very clean. The best part was the staff as they took care of everything quickly and with smiles. The location provides you a great opportunity to walk to the Lincoln Memorial, the Washington Monument, the White House, and all the great restaurants in Georgetown are also a short walk away. This was the perfect place for a DC stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juanbaddude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California, USA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Having stayed around the corner at sister hotel The Fairfax, billed as a "step above" Westin under Starwood's Luxury Collection banner, I was pleasently surprised to find this vastly-superior Westin property in the neighborhood. The hotel is clean, modern and efficient, with friendly and helpful staff. The location, while not in Georgetown as the name might suggest, is nonetheless excellent and is an easy walk to sites, business and the neighborhood for which it is named. My room -- a standard double -- was huge, and despite being only the third floor and overlooking the hotel's entryway was extremely quiet. I will definitely make this hotel my first choice when I return to the area on business.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sww326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

The Westin is a wonderful hotel. The rooms are comfortable and the bathroom is amazing. The location is nice even though it didn't feel like we were truly in Georgetown. The true standout at this hotel though is the service. Everyone here went out of their way to help us (front desk, room service, etc), which is especially nice when traveling with our two year old. Our bellmen/valets, Ahmad and Amadou Erwing were incredibly gracious and went out of their way to interact and engage our son, which we really appreciated.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCCinCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainz
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Stayed at the Westin Georgetown for one night and what shocking experience it was. Though the properties best days have clearly long gone, and everything looks a little worn and tired - the rooms are acceptable and for a one night stay ok. Bathrooms (we had two rooms) were a not quite clean, bed is the usual heavenly bed quality and the shower is ok. Only major issue was having to wait for quite a while until the warm water started up - a 5 minute delay which was unexpected but one can live with. We ate breakfast in the restaurant (Grille) downstairs and after an 8 minute wait were acknowledged by two waiters unfortunately though only two tables were occupied all other tables were dirty. After waiting for another 15 minutes at the entrance with staff chatting to each other and tables remaining dirty we went back to our rooms for half an hour only to return and the tables were still all in a mess. Tis time one table was cleared and we could sit down for breakfast. Food order for breakfast was wrong but we were happy to get any food at all so did not complain.

In terms of service this hotel has it all wrong. The bar will close before official closing hours, staff all over the hotel look important but are more busy chatting with each other than helping guests. At check-in and check-out staff were standing behind the reception desk with occupied with their coffees.

For the rate you pay and compared to previously mainly good experiences with Westin out stay was not acceptable. If all you need is a decent bed - you'll be ok - if you need any kind of service at all - be warned.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexandert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Park Hyatt Washington
Park Hyatt Washington
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
1,794 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
#12 of 141 in Washington DC
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/Georgetown/West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/George...
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
517 reviews
Georgetown
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Georgetown Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.

Property: The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Address: 2350 M St NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. 4*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel Better when you leave than when you arrived! A short walk or subway ride to The White House, Georgetown's shops and restaurants, the Kennedy Center, and Dupont Circle. The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. Is a refreshing choice for travel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Georgetown, Washington d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing