We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Westin Standards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Ranked #43 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not up to Westin Standards”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed here for business and while I usually love Westin's this was most disappointing, The room was a very funky shape which meant lots of unusable space but then cramped in other areas. Lights didn't work well and the lighting the bathroom was very bad. A too small shower meant banging my knee caps trying to get out. the water took forever to heat up. But what I HATE about staying in a "nice" hotel is the huge charges for things that are given away free other places: $40 for internet for 3 days. $6 to print 2 pages from the business center. Such a rip off. come on Westin! really?

Room Tip: the other hotels next door are much better value. larger rooms, better service, cheaper, free wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank Braunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter Y, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Braunn,

Thank you for your feedback. Sorry that you did not get the best room type for your needs. We have rooms with different floor plans and some do have a smaller shower area. There are some package rates that are avaliable that include internet or breakfast depending on your needs. This might help you avoid some of those fees.

Thank you for your notes on Trip Advisor.

Be well,

Peter Yeung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    984
    596
    167
    47
    22
See reviews for
490
442
131
594
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
KY
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

1.Doormen- quick, very friendly, efficient.
2.Check In- quick, very friendly, efficient.
3.Accomodations- pristinely clean, very comfortably appointed.
4.Amenities- comfortable robe, Starbucks Coffee, thicker towels, nicely scented toiletries
5.Location- perfect for walking everywhere in Georgetown.
... only wish I had brought my swimsuit!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MMC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter Y, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear MMC2,

I really enjoyed your bullet point Review. Nice format. The photo attachment were nice too. Thank you so much for giving us this review. We have shared your note with our team and everyone enjoyed it. Thanks for staying with us.

Be well,

Peter Yeung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I love this hotel. My daughter is a student at George Washington University and as a loyal Starwood Member of 18 years, I chose my favorite Starwood brand which fortunately happened to be very close to GWU. The service at the Westin Georgetown has been amazing. When I request something sent to my room, it happens very quickly. The Bathrooms are very clean and spacious. The rooms are quiet and immaculately clean. All requests have been cheerfully carried out by the friendly and accommodating staff. I'd like to single out one person in particular. Simone at the front desk is amazing. No matter what I ask, she magically makes it happen for me. I've never had such treatment in any class of hotel that is better than the Westin Georgetown. Oh, I almost forgot, the downstairs restaurant has amazing Latin inspired food and beverages. Give this hotel a try and I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Delux rooms are worth it. View isn't important in this hotel.
See more room tips
Green Features: I love that the hotel is "green" conscious. Just makes me want to stay there even more.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TalentWave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I picked this hotel based on location alone and was not disappointed.

Located walking distance from Foggy Bottom Metro the hotel was easy to get to. It was also a quick 15min walk to Georgetown.

Staff was quite friendly and rooms were of good size. A small outdoor pool and a decent sized gym were a nice bonus.

Free wi-fi in the lobby

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter Y, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Barry C.,

Thank you for picking our Hotel for your trip. We are happy that we met your expectation and hope you come back to see us again soon.

Be well,

Peter Yeung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

If you are visiting DC and want a convenient, comfortable, and restful hotel experience, go to the Westin in Georgetown. The location is accessible to both Georgetown and the Mall, the staff is very helpful and friendly, and the rooms are quiet and comfortable. Other than the expensive, slow internet room connection, we were happy with our experience at the Westin in every way. Highly recommended!
Judy

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter Y, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Judy123456,

Thank you for your review and feed back on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We recognize that internet is very important to our guests and we will pass your note to our IT Team. Thank you again,

Peter Yeung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel is breath of fresh air. My roommate and I desperately needed a break from our small, hot NYC apartment - so we decided to book a “Westin Weekend” at the Westin Georgetown, Washington DC. Our stay was amazing! The hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood in between Georgetown and DuPont Circle, surrounded by foreign Embassies and missions. While a very quiet part of town, it’s about a 15 minute walk to the nearest Metro station. Georgetown and Durpont Circle areas are both about a 12 minute walk and there you can find enough bars, restaurants and shopping to keep you happy. The staff at The Westin was friendly and didn’t waste our time checking us in or out. The room itself was clean, bright, and huge! The rooms are so large and well insulated we didnt hear any noise and selt very well throughout the night! The bathroom was very large and featured a standing glass rainfall shower, separate bathtub, huge oversized mirrors and sink. The design of the room stayed true to Westin’s traditional yet modern style with an overall feeling of peaceful, understated luxury. This hotel is truly amazing and I want to thank Westin for a fantastic weekend in DC!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAXtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter Y, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear JAXtravel,

Welcome from NYC. We are so pleased that you pick us for your special weekend get-a-way. It sounds like you had a great weekend and we hope you were able to get out and enjoy the sites. Our Bathroom are larger than the typical Hotel size Bathroom and our guest love them. Thank you again for letting us be a part of your weekend trip and anytime you need a break from the "Big Apple" let us know.

Be well,

Peter Yeung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We checked in for a two night stay. We had a deluxe room. The location of the hotel is wonderful. If you have to park a vehicle, go to www.spothero.com and you get to park at the hotel for a fraction of the price.

Our room was facing More Street. All night, you could hear sirens go by. The bathroom in our room had white streaks down the walls and the wall that the toilet sat against was very dirty. The faux suede chair in the room had stains on the arms and the back.

I doubt that we would ever return to this hotel.

Room Tip: I don't know if all rooms face Meeting Street, but if they don't, ask for those that do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minimelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter Y, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Minimelon,

Thank you for your feed back. Cleaniness is very important to us and we appreciate your feed back. Your notes have already been passed onto our housekeeping and Maintenence team. Thank you again.

Be Well,

Peter Yeung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Park Hyatt Washington
Park Hyatt Washington
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
1,822 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
#12 of 141 in Washington DC
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Georgetown Area
Georgetown
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
#38 of 141 in Washington DC
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.

Property: The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Address: 2350 M St NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. 4*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel Better when you leave than when you arrived! A short walk or subway ride to The White House, Georgetown's shops and restaurants, the Kennedy Center, and Dupont Circle. The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. Is a refreshing choice for travel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Georgetown, Washington d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing