We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it use to be.....”
Review of Odyssey Cruises

Odyssey Cruises
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy live music, dining, exceptional service and monumental views. Cruising year-round from the Gangplank Marina, Odyssey offers brunch, lunch, dinner and holiday cruises like Father's Day, plus all sorts of specialty cruises.
Everywhere
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Not what it use to be.....”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

As a native Washingtonian, I've been on the Odyssey many times, but the last time was probably 10 years ago. My husband and I decided to give it another try, taking my adult niece with us. First, let me say, the administration booking fees are very high, and I am not sure why. For three, the fees were over $50, plus the $68 per person fare. Check in was quick and easily. Staff was friendly. We were seated promptly. The food staff setting up the buffet seemed disorganized and neglected to add the serving utensils, so the buffet was delayed. Hair was noted in the butter dish. Initially, there was no one carving the sirloin. Our table and the one next to us was wobbly. Our head waiter was great, but his assistant seemed to be to have had too many mimosas, champagne or something- constantly dropping glasses, forgetting our drink orders or forgetting to bring us clean plates. He was observed dancing in the aisle. It just wasn't what I expected. My niece enjoyed herself, because it was her first time and she also had many mimosas. The cruise itself was lovely. We did enjoy sitting outside and seeing the monuments and the cherry blossoms. But, never again....it's just not worth it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank we_out
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    68
    34
    24
    32
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Went on the Odyssey cruise for our family of five to celebrate a birthday. The hostess was nice greeting and seating us, but just like the other reviews had pointed out, we feel neglect by the waiter during the whole meal time. Some of the utensils were very dirty that we had to ask the waiter to change them, and the cup for the coffee was chipped. The first time the cheesecake was delivered, there was someone's hair sticking on it. They replaced it for us, it was like those "no baking necessary" cheesecake you make from a box, it was not even harden yet, taste like some kind of creamy pie... Food was not so good, and our waiter delivered the food but never came back to check on us. Our waiter did come twice to rush us for the tips before the boat heads back to the boarding deck though.

So the view on the water was nice, the live music was nice, but we didn't like the overall service and food at all. Won't recommend this cruise to friends or family just because we been on better ones before. A bit disappointed :(

Helpful?
Thank Louis579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed!”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Went on the Odyssey cruise for our family of five to celebrate a birthday. The hostess was nice greeting and seating us, but just like the other reviews had pointed out, we feel neglect by the waiter during the whole meal time. Some of the utensils were very dirty that we had to ask the waiter to change them, and the cup for the coffee was chipped. The first time the cheesecake was delivered, there was someone's hair sticking on it. They replaced it for us, it was like those "no baking necessary" cheesecake you make from a box, it was not even harden yet, taste like some kind of creamy pie... Food was not so good, and our waiter delivered the food but never came back to check on us. Our waiter did come twice to rush us for the tips before the boat heads back to the boarding deck though.

So the view on the water was nice, the live music was nice, but we didn't like the overall service and food at all. Won't recommend this cruise to friends or family just because we been on better ones before. A bit disappointed :(

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Louis579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weldon, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“PERFECT Birthday Celebration!!!”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I booked a cruise for 4 ladies to celebrate my sister's 32nd birthday. We could not have been happier with our choice. From the time we stepped foot on the premises, we were greeted by friendly staff (except for the lady at the ticket window...she was courteous but not extra friendly like EVERYONE else). The photographers, the greeters when we boarded the ship, the waiters and waitresses, the chef manager (Mike...he was the best!), Holly, the man at the entrance gate, the man that held our hand as we stepped up and down the pier...all had superb service. I feel terrible that I do not remember our servers' names, but both young ladies provided exceptional service!

The food was tasty. We tasted each other's appetizers and entrees. I had the crab cake, grilled salmon, and strawberry cheesecake...delicious. My sister's dessert had a candle and "Happy Birthday" insert that was very cute and intimate for our table. The honorees on the ship were recognized (for their anniversaries and birthdays).

The live band was engaging and the music selections brought almost everyone to the dance floor at some point. The line dances were FUN! The cocktails were good. We all tried the Tropical Sunrise and Maui (Surprise??...can't remember the whole drink's name). The Maui cocktail had more "kick" to it. Both drinks came with souvenir glasses wrapped and packaged nicely.

We purchased the $40 picture package with came with 2 framed 5X7 photos, 2 unframed 4X6 photos, and an extra frame. This definitely the best buy. We also received the pictures via email for making the purchase.

Although the Odyssey is classy and elegant, the guests were not afraid to "let their hair done" on the dance floor!! Guests varied in age, ethnicity, and in many other ways. What was true for all was the wonderful cruising experience and happy faces! The ladies and I plan to return with our husbands/boyfriends in the near future! We do not have any complaints and can't think of any suggestions for an improved experience because it was truly perfect.

Note: We stayed at the Hyatt Regency on Capitol Hill and opted to take a cab instead of driving for convenience. Turned out to be a great idea since we were drinking on the ship. The cab ride was $10 each way...not bad at all.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank MsPearl105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“great new year's eve experience”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I'd been on a summer time cruise, but we decided to try their new years eve event. It sells out early and its expensive, but I think it was totally worth it. The boat was nice, the crew really helpful and attentive, the tables were nicely set up (all that usual new year stuff) and the food and music were great. The dancing was super, and the views of the lights and fireworks were great. So romantic - we loved it, drank champagne and danced until 1. Thanks for a great evening.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank emmy_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Odyssey Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Odyssey Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing