We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
Ranked #39 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2013

This is an attractive, historic hotel within walking distance of Dupont Circle. Many restaurants are also close by as is Embassy Row. Our King Suite was quite large with a seperate bedroom and was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was very, very small which was our only real complaint. We found the staff to be efficient when approached and unobtrusive otherwise. No shouts of " have a GREAT DAY" when you leave but a restrained and businesslike "good morning" if you made eye contact. The price was one of the best features in our opinion. Unfortunately, the valet is expensive and street parking is non existant. The valet was prompt, however. Finally, we implore hotels to treat wifi as they do hot water and electricity and stop charging for this utility.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

714 - 720 of 1,195 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights recently. The hotel was clean however the decor is a bit outdated.
Our main issue was that we received wake up calls both mornings, when we didn't request them. The first morning it was about 6am the second morning it was very early, around 3am. When we complained at check out he girl didn't even apologise, she simply said it was probably someone who stayed their before you who requested the call... Not very happy!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leah19655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I should start my review by saying that I don't travel much, and hence don't stay in many hotels. Actually the 8 nights I stayed there over the Christmas period was my first ever trip to the US and my first holiday abroad in 5 years. I went by myself for a purely tourist/site seeing trip.

Overall I was extremely happy with the hotel. The location is excellent for DC (if a bit of a walk to the mall) and the surrounding area contained loads of shops/bars/restaurants etc. I thought that the room was huge for the money ($80 a night) and although extremely old fashion everything was in fine condition. My room was on a corner, facing on to the busy main road, so it was a bit noisy at night but then i'm a light sleeper so maybe I noticed it more.

In terms of general services, room cleaning was faultless and the few things I needed from the staff (ordering a taxi, printing a document, serving a beer) were done without issue. However I would agree with earlier comments that they did look on autopilot a lot of the time and i'm not sure how helpful they'd have been with anything more. I suppose it comes down to your expectations though, I was satisfied with just being provided with a clean room to stay in. And on the plus side it does mean that I didn't feel pressured to tip people all the time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We stayed in this historic early 20th century Beaux Arts hotel for four days over Christmas. This holiday is probably not the best time to judge a hotel as I suspect the A-Team had the time off. First the good parts, which are the reasons I'd consider staying there again: Price is terrific. We took advantage of an outrageous Black Friday Internet special at $78 per night. But even without that kind of deal, the Churchill is very reasonable. The hotel exterior is beautiful as it started as a belle epoque upscale apartment house in the early 1900s. The interior is generous with a good looking lobby, a lounge and a business area with 2 computers and facilities of faxing and printing. WiFi is available in every room and throughout the hotel. The room was quite large with a "sitting room" area with couch and easy chair at the entrance, a nice space for the beds in mid-room, a large bathroom and an ante-room at the rear with work table, more chairs and room for a counter for storage as well as for the coffee maker. There is room service, in room spa services including massage and other amenities inlcuding a decent exercise room with weights, TVs, elipticals and treadmills. The neighborhood is terrific being the Dupont Circle area near Embassy Row with embassies and upscale houses and apartments that are very pleasing on the eyes. Great shops, including the legendary real live Kramer Books are within easy walking distance as are cafes, bistros, local neighborhood bars and fancy restaurants. Other restaurants are an easy drive and the White House and monuments are about a 45 minute walk or a quick drive as well. So what makes the place kind of so-so? The staff was not all that knowledgable (A good Concierge would have been a great help) and it is a bit difficult to get one's point across with some of the folks working there. This is awkward to say, but a review has to be honest and some of our difficulties in getting service had to do with language barriers on the part of staff rather than any unwillingness or negligence on their part. Our Peace Corps training and just common decency really makes us cross-culturally sensitive, but as I said a review has to be honest and chicken quesedilla is not shrimp quesadilla and tomato juice is not some other mix and those were just a few of the mix-ups and long delays. Everyone at the bar seemed to be a fill-in for someone else but service there did improve with the second set of fill-ins following the first substitutes. Still, as I said, I would go there again due to price, amenities and location.

Room Tip: Rooms all seem generally fine. Bring along some patience with the staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TommyBoy94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

A beautiful hotel, lovely large rooms, and beautiful furnishings. Was worried originally where to stay, but this was great location, we walked to everything from Verizon Centre to monument and White House etc. Staff were friendly, and were very accommodating. Breakfast was expensive and I recommend Starbucks only a block away for that.. Otherwise Lovely.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madisontayhot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

This hotel is in an upmarket part of Washington, in the Embassy district. Wifi is extra, but rooms are big and comfortable. Staff were excellent.
The hotel is a 10min walk to Dupont Circle on the Metro train line, where you can buy single trip, daily/3day/weekly unlimited travel tickets that let your get around the city quickly & easily once you understand the colour codes for the lines.

Room Tip: We had a stnd dble & were very happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobG207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

This historic hotel is just blocks from Dupont Circle. The rooms were moderately large, and the bathroom was quite spacious. This is an old hotel and the tile in the bath floor was worn, but totally serviceable. Bed was comfortable and clean, but this room is not setup particularly well for business travelers (few outlets, no desk).

Big concerns: One of the wing chairs was stained on the seat in an alarming pattern and the upholstery was coming apart on one side. I threw the bed scarf over the chair and didn't sit on anything that wasn't covered by a clean sheet. Of most concern was the toothpaste mark on the shelf over the toilet, and the splatter marks on the walls in the bath. I don't think my expectations are too high when I ask that I not be reminded that others have recently brushed their teeth before me. This lack of attention to detail made the cleanliness of the entire bath suspect.

Big plus: Had breakfast at the hotel restaurant and the staff was amazingly nice and hustling to get food to you fast. Quality was very, very good. Onsite valet parking is nice, and $39/day is a bargain in DC.

Room Tip: 516 was next to an alley where some banging occurred at intervals during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YorktownTraveler411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Normandy Hotel
#33 of 141 in Washington DC
1,060 reviews
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#104 of 141 in Washington DC
4,010 reviews
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#73 of 141 in Washington DC
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
1,784 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Lombardy
Hotel Lombardy
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
2,213 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#2 of 141 in Washington DC
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row

Address: 1914 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-5705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £67 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than a century, the Churchill Hotel, situated on Connecticut Avenue near the Dupont Circle and Adams Morgan neighborhoods, has been home to a long list of diplomats, dignitaries, politicians, business travelers, and prominent families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Churchill Hotel Washington Dc
Churchill Hotel Washington Dc
Churchill Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing