We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
Ranked #43 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson
Level Contributor
71 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Elegant Hotel”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here one night while visiting friends in DC. This hotel is fantastic! There are lots of fine (elegant) details throughout the hotel. The building was built in 1906 and housed dignitaries back in the day. It's a nice change from the big hotel chains, with very comfortable beds, classic trim and nice details. I highly recommend this hotel for couples, we had a great stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DesertFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear DesertFlyer, thak you kindly for your superb review! We appreciate your attention to details and you were right saying that Churchill is not a chain hotel. We are not affiliated with any hotel brand and this is what probably makes us special in this area. We are located not far from all the popular nightlife spots at the same time being in a safe and beautiful residential part of DC. That’s why I would definitely recommend Churchill to young people travelling alone or in couples. Please come back and tell your friends about your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    432
    98
    43
    42
See reviews for
180
305
101
378
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Beautiful restored hotel around Dupont Circle. We had a bit of a "whoops" with an on-line booking engine- the front desk staff (THANK YOU Michael and Nikita) could NOT have been more superb and attentive, definitely went the extra mile and provided us all of the assistance we needed and more. My travel companion was nursing a migraine the next morning, bringing us downstairs about a 1/2 hour after the morning meal had "officially" closed- we inquired if we might be able to get breakfast, they were most accommodating, and we received a delicious meal. I cannot speak more highly of the service that was provided- we will be back!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wjs3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear wjs3rd, thank you so much for your excellent review! I’m really glad to hear that we managed to help you with booking issues and I know how tricky the online reservations can be. I am very happy that you chose our hotel and had a chance to know it better and people that work here. We would be delighted to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Have a conference in the Washington DC Hilton? Consider staying at the Churchill, across the street. A short walk across Connecticut Ave., the Churchill is an elegant hotel, reasonably priced. The food and service were excellent, easy in and out with the valet car service, and an extremely helpful staff. Try it! You will enjoy it.

Room Tip: Suites are available, but they can vary in price from night to night. If you want a suite, talk to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TFarrell2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear TFarrell2014, thank you for your kind words and the five star review! I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Churchill Hotel. Conferences across the street always keep us busy and we really appreciate the fact that you choose us among other properties in Dupont Circle area. We definitely want you to come back and stay with us next year for the same conference or anytime you are in town for business or pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leawood, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014

As always, the Churchill was a perfect stay. We go there every year at this time and they always make us feel so welcome. The rooms were clean and well maintained and the staff is wonderful. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Douglas H, It is such a pleasure to hear that you always enjoy returning to the Churchill Embassy Row Hotel We are glad to have our guests back and we appreciate your loyalty. Please stay in touch. You can always send us email or give us a call should you have any arrangements to be done prior your next trip to Washington DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

My trip to DC was for a National Conference held at another hotel, and I traveled with a group of seven women. The staff was accommodating to get all of our rooms on the same floor so that we were close to each other. We were a group of women from SC, and needed lots of suggestions for dinner and everywhere the staff recommended was wonderful! The hotel is half a mile for the DuPont Circle metro station, which was a nice walk during our stay and proved easy access to anywhere in DC. The doorman was helpful in getting us a cab, if and when we needed. The rooms were large and very comfortable. Our room had a sitting area large enough for our group of seven to meet each night prior to deciding which fantastic restaurant to go to. Our group agreed that we were able to see more of the city in its true form by staying at the Churchill instead of in the hotel where the conference was located. The staff was personable each time they saw us. I would definitely stay here again! Thanks for making our trip to DC comfortable and enjoyable!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Keri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear Keri R, thank you so much for such a nice description of our hotel and the Churchill Team. I definitely remember your group… being always together and exploring the area between the conference sessions. It was a pleasure chatting with you and I’m glad that you liked all our recommendations. There’s still a long list of places to explore and things to do in DC and we’ll help you with tour arrangements on your next visit. Please stay in touch and contact us in advance to negotiate a rate if you are planning to bring a group next year. Look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This property is elegant, comfortable, and beautiful! The staff is friendly and efficient. Very comfortable room. They have completely remodeled this small hotel and did a wonderful job! Will continue to stay there year after year!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katsking13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear Katsking13, we appreciate your time and the five star review you left about our property. We hope that Churchill became your home away from home and you can be our loyal customer in future. We did the partial remodeling and we work on small improvements all the time. Please tell your friends about our hotel since it’s not well known in online resources yet. It is so important for us to spread the word and make it more recognizable. That’s why your comment on tripadvisor makes such a big difference for us. Thanks again and it is our pleasure to welcome you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The location of this hotel was absolutely perfect, a short walk to the Dupont Circle Metro Station. Maybe 10 minutes at the most. The front desk was so helpful and friendly, the check in and check out process were very smooth as was the valet parking of our car. Breakfast in the restaurant was divine, it was a very nice change from a continental breakfast that many hotels serve. The room was spotless, the bed was extremely comfortable. The water pressure in the hotel is very good and so was the heat on the hot water. I hope to stay here again when we come back in March.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear Jenn G, thank you so much for your kind words about the Churchill and our staff. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had good time in Washington DC. We definitely want you to return! Please feel free to give us a call any time should you require any assistance with your future reservation. Thanks again for the five star review and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Normandy Hotel
#23 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Adams Morgan
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#96 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#99 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#49 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#91 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row

Property: Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
Address: 1914 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-5705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than a century, the Churchill Hotel, situated on Connecticut Avenue near the Dupont Circle and Adams Morgan neighborhoods, has been home to a long list of diplomats, dignitaries, politicians, business travelers, and prominent families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Churchill Hotel Washington Dc
Churchill Hotel Washington Dc
Churchill Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing