We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice historic boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
Ranked #43 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A nice historic boutique hotel”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My husband and I spent 4 nights in the hotel. We found it to be quaint, friendly, very clean and well appointed. The hotel is listed on the national register and tries to maintain its historic charm. That does translate into smaller bathrooms and occasional noise in the halls as the walls are thin. The bar is wonderful and the restaurant is very good for breakfast. There is a small exercise facility but my husband found it to be dated with older equipment. I travel fairly often and if I found myself near Dupont Circle again, I would probably stay at the Churchill.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adeleeuw473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear adeleeuw473, thank you for taking the time to leave a feedback about your recent stay at The Churchill Hotel. We were glad to hear that you liked the hotel and found it quaint and charming. We do apologize for having some outdated equipment in our fitness room - but we do have in plans to replace some of the machines soon. Really appreciate leaving a couple of words about our restaurant. We are pleased that you enjoyed its relaxing atmosphere and quality of food. Thank you for being our guest and we will be delighted to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    432
    98
    43
    42
See reviews for
180
305
101
379
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atco, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Everything was great....bed very comfortable, friendly staff, clean!!! Our room was on a side of the building.... Quiet. Only complaint was breakfast in hotel was a bit pricey BUT very good and quick!! Would definitely recommend and we would stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Jennifer B, thank you for your great review. We appreciate your kind words and are so glad you had a good time with us. We hope you have a chance to visit us again next time you are in Washington DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Unfortunate. This building has such potential. It appears that the owner/managers do not care about keeping this property properly updated. It may be "historic," but that should not be an excuse to not be "updated," and clean. My pictures show basically what I am going to describe.

From the outside, there is paint chipping away from the building. The outside of the building is also dirty. That basically should have been a sign.

Inside my room, there were spider webs connecting from the "historic" curtains to the windows. There was a window inside the bathroom that had mold and dirt all around it. There was a light in the shower stall (on the ceiling)... instead of being flush against the ceiling it was hanging down a quarter of an inch. I'm not an inspector, but I would imagine that is against code, not to mention unsafe. The historic wall paper was coming off of the wall near the shower. There was a little crevice between the tile floor and bathtub that was not cleaned - other peoples hair and dirt was there. There was some stuff on the bathroom vanity door - yellow - don't know what that was, but it seems as if no one takes the time to clean the vanity door. The back of the bathroom door seems like it needed to be redone. The toilet needed to be flushed three times before everything fully went down.

On a positive note, it did appear that my bed linens were clean. Although they were stiff and not comfortable. The staff upon check-in was also pleasant, and the common area was also nice.

The bottom line - the room I stayed in needed a major clean and updating. Attention to detail is overlooked. The room was way over priced for the quality. I would not have stayed here had I known this, nor will I ever stay again. It's a shame really... what a waste of a historic hotel that really has potential.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear John S, thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We appreciate your honesty and absolutely agree that lack of cleanliness is unacceptable and we apologize if this was the case during your stay. The comfort of our guests is very important to us and we are disappointed to read that we failed to give you the best on your most recent visit. We would like to assure you that what you described is not typical of our service. Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention, we studied them carefully and addressed to maintenance and housekeeping departments accordingly. We wish that your stay had been more pleasant and hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Spent Easter long week end in Washington, DC at Churchill. It was a very pleasant stay, front desk staff was always smiling and helpful. When the valet parking was full, Kacem helped us finding free spot on the street. Every question was answered right away. The room itself was big, with nice comfortable bed and a beautiful view. Also, it is a great neighborhood as you can get anywhere walking, there are dozens of restaurants, Dupont Circle metro and quite a few museums. The building itself is old, but well preserved and has its charm. I booked one month ahead and the price was incredible, i would say it is a great price-quality ratio. Definitely can recommend it to anyone going to DC.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GalitaBonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear GalitaBonita, thank you for your wonderful review. We are happy you enjoyed our neighborhood and the convenience to some of the best attractions in the city. Thank you for your kind compliments to our staff; we are glad we could aid you during your stay. We hope you have a chance to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield Park, NJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

From the moment we were greeted by Nikita at the reception desk until we checked out we were met by smiling hotel employees who were always going the extra step to make our stay that much more enjoyable! Very comfy bed with nice quality linens made for a restful night sleep.I normally stay with Marriott and was pleasantly surprised at how nice the Churchill was. Nice neighborhood, easy transport and many places outside to dine. We even parked in a garage quite reasonably nearby using a Parking Panda discount! WIll definately stay here again!
Ask for a room on a higher floor.

Room Tip: Higher floor, junior suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blyons163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear blyons163, we really appreciate your taking the time to write such pleasant words about the Churchill hotel and its employees. We’re particularly glad that you enjoyed our beds and found the service friendly and attentive. Our belief is that the people make the difference. We were also happy to see that you enjoyed this area of the city and found it easy to get around. Thank you for choosing us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I enjoyed my stay here. The room was a spacious suite- huge bay windows and lovely views. This is a historic property so it is special for someone like me who loves beautiful old buildings. The staff are very helpful. The hotel is also very well located for business and pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anant15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Anant15, we appreciate that you have taken the time to write a review. We’re thrilled you found the accommodations and staff delightful. Hopefully, in the near future, we will have a chance to welcome you back to The Churchill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Boston, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We loved staying at The Churchill Embassy Row Hotel in Washington, DC. The front desk staff member, Wanda Scales, was great checking us in and made sure we had everything we needed. She was most helpful with giving us directions and recommendations on sights to see while in Washington. Once checking in, we found the room to be beautifully decorated and very spacious. Our room reservation also included breakfast, and it was fabulous. They served items from the menu that were fixed to order (omelets, waffles, french toast, etc.) It was more than just doughnuts and cereal. My husband, daughter, and I really enjoyed the service we received. We had a great time despite my daughter getting sick on our second day there. Unfortunately, we had to leave a day early, but the staff was very understanding in taking care of us. One member of the staff, Kacem Osmani, went out of his way to help us with checking out. Once he found out my daughter was sick, he was very kind and helped us in everyway to make sure our checkout was prompt. He was quick to get our truck from valet parking and also loaded up all our luggage to get us home. He showed sincere concern for us and made sure we were taken care of. I was deeply touched by his compassion and kindness. If our family plans a trip back to Washington, DC in the near future, I would definitely stay here again. The hotel and staff members are "tops" in my opinion!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woverby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear woverby, it was truly a pleasure to read your review of our hotel. Glad that you enjoyed your time in Washington DC. It was very unfortunate that you had to leave one day early and we hope your daughter got better. We treat our guests as our family members and we definitely couldn’t take your daughter’s illness without certain feeling of compassion. Thank you for mentioning the names of some of our staff like Wanda and Kacem. They will be pleased to know that they have managed to make your stay wonderful. We also want to thank you for your comments regarding breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Normandy Hotel
#24 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Adams Morgan
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#95 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#100 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#91 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row

Property: Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
Address: 1914 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-5705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than a century, the Churchill Hotel, situated on Connecticut Avenue near the Dupont Circle and Adams Morgan neighborhoods, has been home to a long list of diplomats, dignitaries, politicians, business travelers, and prominent families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Churchill Hotel Washington Dc
Churchill Hotel Washington Dc
Churchill Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing