We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
Ranked #38 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We really loved this hotel. For reasons unrelated to this hotel, we needed to split our hotel stays between two adjacent properties. After our three days here, we regretted moving on to the other property, across Connecticut Ave. Churchill is gracious, elegant, friendly, charming, all the elements you want when you need more than a place to sleep. Our room was quite spacious and quiet, a real haven after navigating the streets of DC. Breakfast was hot, and though buffet style, we were served coffee and beverages at clothed tables, using real silverware, not plastic, and greeted as if we were favorite guests, not strangers. Every employee we encountered offered that same experience, from the front desk to the bellman, and even the woman vacuuming the hall. What a difference a little training makes.
This place is special. We will never stay across the street again, even if we are supposed to!

Room Tip: Our room was on the north side, near Connecticut, but not the least bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sallie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

HI Sallie F, Thank you for your five star review. We actually hear a lot of the same comments in regards to once people stay here, they never want to go back across the street and stay there. It's very gratifying to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed everything from our restaurant, professionalism of our staff, great central location, and spaciousness of the room. Please come back and see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

541 - 547 of 1,195 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We found The Churchill online. Being from Houston its hard to know what you are getting sight unseen. We were very pleased to find this historic treasure!!!
Rooms are well appointed and clean. Check in a smooth process. The bar was awesome! Restuarant worth eating in more than once!
Beds and linens top notch!!
Staff is very attentive. Centrally located!
5 star in my mind!!!!!

Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Kim S, thank you for sharing your kind thoughts and words about The Churchill with the rest of the world. It's nice to know that you felt you received 5 - star service because that's what we strive for. If you ever come up from Texas again, please stay with us and bring the whole family with you. We'd love to meet them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Our family of four stayed here for 5 nights - the room size was great for 4 grown people - the beds were so comfortable that we almost didn't mind that the beds were not queen size. The location in Dupont Circle was great - loved the neighborhood and the walk to the metro station was convenient. Staff was very helpful and always welcoming when we returned from a long day of sightseeing. Found some great restaurants within walking distance. We also enjoyed the bar and restaurant at the Churchill. Chocolate cake was a special treat after spending the day walking around the city.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the ninth floor - nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Julie S, sounds like you had a wonderful experience while staying at The Churchill. Thank you for complimenting the staff, the room size, the comfortableness of the bedding, the great location, and most of all the chocolate cake. We're so glad you stayed with us, please come back soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The Pros
Breakfast was great. Service was not always consistent, but food was
Super easy to get to and from airport
Convenient location to Dupont Circle and Metro Station
Most staff seemed friendly but we never really felt welcome. Difference between being doing your job, and extending yourself for your guests.
Room service was great!
Historic Hotel
The Cons
I sent several emails ahead of my arrival to prepare for our stay which were never answered. I followed up with a call each time, and got put on hold each time which did not do much for my expectations.
Bathroom was uncomfortably small. Not big enough for two people at the same time. Literally! We were in room 412 - only one sink and when you sat on toilet, you were literally touching the side of the vanity - I had to remove the toilet paper from the holder for some more room :) I thought of asking for a different room, but did not want to be disappointed if they said "that's all we have"
I could not adjust temperature in room so I had to turn the AC either on or off
I called ahead to have wine placed in the room en route in advance of our late arrival - was transferred to the restaurant, they told me they could not help - as I was not checked in yet! urgghh! Thankfully Nikita (I believe) got it taken care of for me.
Slow internet is free - you pay $13 for faster speed which I needed.
Iron labels rubbed off, so we could not get it to work - had to request a new one

My husband said as we were leaving, he would recommend the hotel to others - :) He was happy and enjoyed DC. :) He did not mind the cold room, touching the toilet paper, and not really getting the right answers.
We will go back to DC and may try the Hilton across the street for the next visit but the stay was not horrible.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cocoapuffstx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

HI Cocoapuffstx, we're are truly sorry to hear you had a less than desirable experience at The Churchill. Some of your concerns will definitely be addressed and we appreciate your feedback. Please give us another try if you decide to stay in this area again; we'll do our best to make your stay terrific. Kind Regards, Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Our group traveled to DC and stayed at the Churchill. Every member of the Churchill staff was extremely courteous and attentive - from Mary in group sales to the servers in the restaurant.
The hotel is charming.
My room was clean and comfortable. The bed was great; I normally don't sleep well in hotels, but I slept soundly at the Churchill.
I was able to walk to restaurants and the "neighborhood" was quaint with modern buildings blending with historic.
I found that as each day of business was nearing an end, I was looking forward to returning to the Churchill- very nice place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Peggy B, thank you so much for taking a moment to leave such a wonderful review about your recent stay at our hotel. We really appreciate your time and kind words about the Churchill and it’s team. Glad that you took advantage of our location and had time to explore the neighborhood. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We spent two nights in this lovely boutique hotel in May. The staff was amazingly friendly, helpful, and welcoming--from the moment we booked our room. The room was immaculate. The bed so comfortable! We loved the location in Dupont Circle. And the price was certainly right. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbo54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear mbo54, thank you for choosing our hotel and being our guest. We are pleased you appreciated the location and amenities of our hotel and that we could provide you with such a great experience. We are grateful for leaving a five star review and look forward to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We spent one night in the Churchill Hotel as part of a guys night in Washington DC. We wanted to pick a place that had easy access to several of the pubs/restaurants near Dupont Circle, and this hotel seemed to fit the bill. We were not disappointed. Check in was very easy, and the staff very professional and courteous. Valet parking is mandatory (and costs $40).

For an older refurbished hotel, the rooms are incredibly spacious and comfortable. The bed sheets and comforters are extremely comfortable. The bathrooms have an older feel, but plenty of space and lots of hot water. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant,or really try any of the other amenities. At $200 a night, the hotel is much cheaper than many of the other options in this section of DC.

Location is excellent! Dupont Circle is an 8 minute walk, and the Zoo is probably a 15 minute walk. Quite honestly, if we wanted to visit DC again, we would probably stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gvr001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear gvr001, thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review. We really appreciate the opinion of a Senior Tripadvisor Contributor. Glad you loved the location and accommodation and your stay was overall enjoyable. We look forward to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Normandy Hotel
#34 of 141 in Washington DC
1,063 reviews
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#104 of 141 in Washington DC
4,013 reviews
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#73 of 141 in Washington DC
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
1,785 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Lombardy
Hotel Lombardy
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
2,216 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#4 of 141 in Washington DC
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row

Address: 1914 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-5705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#16 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £65 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than a century, the Churchill Hotel, situated on Connecticut Avenue near the Dupont Circle and Adams Morgan neighborhoods, has been home to a long list of diplomats, dignitaries, politicians, business travelers, and prominent families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Churchill Hotel Washington Dc
Churchill Hotel Washington Dc
Churchill Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing