We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
Ranked #40 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed in the Churchill Hotel for my first trip to DC this past spring. I wanted something less corporate, a little more unusual, and I was not disappointed.

We stayed in a Junior Presidential Suite, which I highly recommend, but we were first shown to a regular room, and that looked perfectly nice as well (just a tiny confusion with out reservation, not the hotel's fault and quickly remedied). Very elegant and not too run-down, but you do have to expect a little "old world" sort of tatters to the building. The bed was comfortable and water pressure was good. Staff seemed friendly and the valet parking worked mostly well -- we waited a little too long once, but otherwise it was a good solution.

My only complaint is the HVAC system, which didn't seem to work. No matter what setting we put it on, it blew warm air -- and it was a hot DC spring weekend, we wanted to be cool. Management offered to move us but it would have been to a smaller room and I didn't want to give up our space. They brought a fan and we opened the window all night, and it worked pretty well. These kinds of things happen with old buildings, that's the risk you take.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 32daisies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear 32daisies, thank you very much for taking the time to write such a thorough feedback about your recent stay at the Churchill Hotel. Glad you loved the hotel and your stay was overall enjoyable. Sorry to hear that you had difficulties with AC system. I have to admit that this is the common problem for many old buildings in Washington especially at the time of the season when weather keeps being changeable. Thanks for being our guest and we look forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Washington DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    435
    98
    44
    42
See reviews for
182
308
101
386
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Welcoming staff and friendly environment. For five nights we were very impressed by the consistently excellent level of service at this fine hotel. Our room was very clean and quiet. We will certainly stay there again on our next trip to D.C.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Clare S, thank you for choosing The Churchill and being our guest. Glad to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and everyone was helpful and accommodating. We definitely want you to come back. Please keep checking our website for seasonal promotions or give us a call should you require any assistance with your future reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

It is well located, very cosy and staff is great and they do whatever they can to help you.Rooms are really nice and big, and bed super confortable. The bar and restaurant are good, not great.
I really reccomend it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ropavese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Ropavese, thank you kindly for your five star review and warm words about our hotel and its team. We appreciate the time you spent to share the feedback on your recent stay at the Churchill. Glad you had great time with us and we definitely want you to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

What a great choice. We spent 3 glorious nights during the Memorial Day weekend. Perfect location, close to shops, transport and restaurants. We had a King room that was spacious, the decor was tasteful and beautiful. The staff, especially the front desk, were friendly and very helpful and had great knowledge of the city. Would absolutely stay again and would definitely recommend this hotel! Peter and Oksana from Australia

Room Tip: Corner King Suite was magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Peter and Oksana, thank you for such an awesome feedback and five stars you gave us. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful time in our hotel and Washington DC. Thank you for mentioning our staff. Glad everyone was helpful and delivered stellar service. Please feel free to visit us again and share the experience you had with your friends and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stay here whenever I visit DC. The rooms are reliably clean and quiet and the staff is friendly and helpful. I like the location. It is convenient to the Dupont Circle metro. The area has a number of bars and a good selection of restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear NK, thank you for choosing our hotel and being our guest. We are pleased you appreciated the location and amenities of our hotel and that we could provide you with such a great experience. Please consider us for your next trip to DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My wife, Mary, and I spent a three night Memorial Day weekend at the Churchill Hotel. The weekend was wonderful, and the Churchill contributed muchly to that. We love the location on Conn. Ave., just a few blocks up from Dupont Cir. The price for our quite comforable standard room was extraordinary. The cleanliness and amenities were of the finest caliber. The staff, especially Arianna and Niketa, at the front desk, were efficient, knowledgeable and most pleasant.The Churchill was a good a hotel as Stacy Keach was a Falstaff at the Shakespeare Theatre and Mr. Keach was impeccable.

Richard from Salem, Mass.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Richard B, Thank you for your five star review and for letting prospective guest's know how wonderful you feel The Churchill is. It is truly a blessing to have people consistently review our hotel and always mention the friendly helpful staff, the wonderful amenities, the comfortableness of the guest rooms, and the great location. You're welcome back anytime!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The staff at the Churchill were very nice. My room was clean and comfortable. However, the batthroom floor needs to be changed just because of the look. Great location, great staff, great price. I would recommend to my clents and friends!!!

Room Tip: There is no pool, so the terrible mark on pool should be "not applicable."
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lexistravel814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Hi lexistravel814, We're extremely pleased to hear you had a fantastic mini vacation. Thank you for complimenting our staff, the quality and cleanliness of your guest room, and the added value you received. Your suggestion about replacing the bathroom floor is well received and management will definitely look in to it. Thank you again for your wonderful review and we hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Normandy Hotel
#24 of 141 in Washington DC
946 reviews
Adams Morgan
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#93 of 141 in Washington DC
528 reviews
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#99 of 141 in Washington DC
3,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,029 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#57 of 141 in Washington DC
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row

Property: Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
Address: 1914 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-5705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than a century, the Churchill Hotel, situated on Connecticut Avenue near the Dupont Circle and Adams Morgan neighborhoods, has been home to a long list of diplomats, dignitaries, politicians, business travelers, and prominent families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Churchill Hotel Washington Dc
Churchill Hotel Washington Dc
Churchill Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing