We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For the price it's a no brainer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
Ranked #43 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“For the price it's a no brainer”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for New Years 2 years in a row! This is our go to place in DC to stay it's within walking distance to DuPont circle and Adams Morgan! The hotel is older but in more of a historical way then I gross needs to be renovated way! We could hear our neighbors but weren't very bothered by that! We love that the rooms all have different charm to them! We are normally Starwood people but again this is a great hotel for the usually expensive dc prices!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank britbrith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear britbrith, thank you so much for taking the time to leave a comment about your stay at the Churchill Hotel. Glad that you liked the location and enjoyed your time in Washington DC. Hotel rates in DC are very unpredictable but as a rule you can find really good deals in December-January. We also try to attract more people during holiday season. Please feel free to check our rates this year and you are more than welcome to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    430
    98
    43
    41
See reviews for
179
302
101
373
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario CANADA
Level Contributor
199 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed three nights at this hotel and have nothing but positive things to say about our stay. It is an old historic hotel beautifully restored and in an excellent location for touring the city. It is a short walk downhill to the Metro station at Dupont Circle (uphill on the way back) and only three short stops to the famous museums (get off at the gallery stop). Additionally it is directly across the street from a stop for all of the trolley tours. Our room was very reasonably priced (less expensive on the weekends) and we found it was cheaper to book directly on the hotel website than any of the other discount sites. The room was very large, nicely furnished with very comfortable beds, a couch and separate small room with a desk and small refrigerator. The wash room was large, very clean well stocked with wonderful towels and toiletries. We particularly like the fact that it was separated from the rest of the room with a door. Our room did not face the front and was away from the street so it was delightfully quiet and we had great sleeps. The front desk staff were very helpful and every staff member we met greeted us with a friendly hello each time we met them. The two elevators are old and small but very quick and we had no problem at all with them. We were on the 9th floor and each day we walked down the beautiful stairway. There is a very good restaurant at the hotel and there is a happy hour each day from 4 to 7. We only had breakfast at the hotel and we were very pleased with the meal and the excellent service. There are a number of nice restaurants close by and if you need some exercise you can take a delightful walk around the neighbourhood and see some quite interesting old homes. We had a great time at this hotel and it is definitely up there on our list of best places in which we have stayed. Thank you for your wonderful hospitality!

Room Tip: Choose one off the front of the hotel and you are in for a quiet night. It should be mentioned howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BenOntarioCANADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear BenOntarioCANADA, it’s an absolute pleasure and honor to receive such a wonderful review from a Top Contributor like you. Your five star rating is deeply appreciated. We are extremely happy that everything went well during your stay and you enjoyed your visit to Washington DC. We are pleased that you found our location convenient and our staff helpful and accommodating. Glad that you tried our restaurant and took advantage of happy hour in the lounge. Thank you for choosing us and being our guests. Hope that you plan to visit us again on your next trip to DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Customer service is the pits!!!! A friend called to tell me plans had changed and was told I was not a guest there. Had problems with the valet finding my car keys. At check out they tried to charge me for a week when I had only stayed 2 days. Vending machines did not work. If you want ice, forget it! I left a book I bought in a museum and could not get anyone to check the room. I know it was on the shelf in the closet. I called twice a day for three days asking, but nobody, I repeat, NOBODY would go to the room to get it. Four days later the head of housekeeping finally called and said she would check the next day, but never called back. If you might need assistance for anything, forget it. There is NO customer service! By the way, the Metro entrance they claim is nearby is at least three-quarters of a mile, and it is all up-hill after walking around all day. You can do better anyplace!

Room Tip: Make reservations somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear William D, thank you for being our guest and leaving an honest feedback. We are terribly sorry for probably not doing enough to resolve your situation with left behind item. Let me address this to the housekeeping department for clarifying the details of this case. Everything you described looks like a coincidence of unpleasant circumstances that could be eliminated or at least moderated by making extra effort from our side. It’s true that we have only one ice machine but its working and can be accessed any time. The distance from Dupont Circle Metro station is exactly 0.5 mile and hotel is located on top of the hill but we always try to make sure travelers are aware of this fact before making a decision to use metro. We regret for not meeting your expectations and definitely will work on avoiding such mistakes in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mifflinburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We had a great stay at the Churchill. Not knowing anything about the hotel I was a little nervous. The price was right but I did not know what to expect. I went with my four siblings for a weekend.
We all loved it, but what impressed me the most was the great personal care. That is a touch that is sadly missing in other hotels of this level. The beds were very comfortable, the location was great. I would definitely star there again and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catalina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Catalina P, Thank you for taking a minute to write a review on your recent stay at the Churchill. We appreciate your kind words about our property and staff. Glad you found our location convenient and had good time in Washington DC. We will be happy to see you, your friends and family back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I took my wife into DC for a brief weekend birthday get-away (we try to do that every time she turns 39 again!) We chose The Churchill Hotel based on the location, description from the booking site, and the great rate. We were not disappointed! The Churchill is a short and pleasant walk to the Metro, to the many outstanding restaurants, bistros, and pubs around DuPont Circle, and the embassies.

The property is a very comfortable hotel now and one can still see that it was indeed a luxury apartment building in the past. Old movie buffs will picture themselves in the set of those old films where the leading lady lives in a luxury apartment when you walk the halls. You cannot help but imagine you will glimpse Humphrey Bogart, Allan Ladd, Peter Lorre, Van Johnson, Robert Taylor, or someone of that era knocking discreetly on a door or dodging out of the way in one of the hallways!

My wife loved the weekend and the hotel. Thanks to the staff for friendly service, sparkling clean rooms, and a wonderful experience.

Frank G.
Leesburg, VA

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Frank G, thank you for such an unusual and charming description of our property. Your five star review is highly appreciated. We are pleased you loved the location and amenities of our hotel and that we could provide you with such a great experience. We are grateful for choosing our hotel for celebrating your wife’s birthday and we look forward to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed in the Churchill Hotel for my first trip to DC this past spring. I wanted something less corporate, a little more unusual, and I was not disappointed.

We stayed in a Junior Presidential Suite, which I highly recommend, but we were first shown to a regular room, and that looked perfectly nice as well (just a tiny confusion with out reservation, not the hotel's fault and quickly remedied). Very elegant and not too run-down, but you do have to expect a little "old world" sort of tatters to the building. The bed was comfortable and water pressure was good. Staff seemed friendly and the valet parking worked mostly well -- we waited a little too long once, but otherwise it was a good solution.

My only complaint is the HVAC system, which didn't seem to work. No matter what setting we put it on, it blew warm air -- and it was a hot DC spring weekend, we wanted to be cool. Management offered to move us but it would have been to a smaller room and I didn't want to give up our space. They brought a fan and we opened the window all night, and it worked pretty well. These kinds of things happen with old buildings, that's the risk you take.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 32daisies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear 32daisies, thank you very much for taking the time to write such a thorough feedback about your recent stay at the Churchill Hotel. Glad you loved the hotel and your stay was overall enjoyable. Sorry to hear that you had difficulties with AC system. I have to admit that this is the common problem for many old buildings in Washington especially at the time of the season when weather keeps being changeable. Thanks for being our guest and we look forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Washington DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Welcoming staff and friendly environment. For five nights we were very impressed by the consistently excellent level of service at this fine hotel. Our room was very clean and quiet. We will certainly stay there again on our next trip to D.C.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Clare S, thank you for choosing The Churchill and being our guest. Glad to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and everyone was helpful and accommodating. We definitely want you to come back. Please keep checking our website for seasonal promotions or give us a call should you require any assistance with your future reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Normandy Hotel
#25 of 140 in Washington DC
888 reviews
Adams Morgan
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#97 of 140 in Washington DC
517 reviews
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#99 of 140 in Washington DC
3,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 140 in Washington DC
1,985 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#91 of 140 in Washington DC
1,113 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
6,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row

Property: Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
Address: 1914 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-5705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than a century, the Churchill Hotel, situated on Connecticut Avenue near the Dupont Circle and Adams Morgan neighborhoods, has been home to a long list of diplomats, dignitaries, politicians, business travelers, and prominent families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Churchill Hotel Washington Dc
Churchill Hotel Washington Dc
Churchill Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing