We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Miss this Hotwire Special. Great Value, Historic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
Ranked #41 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
new orleans, louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Don't Miss this Hotwire Special. Great Value, Historic Hotel”
Reviewed 25 September 2009

Paid about 75 dollars a night for two nights on Hotwire tax included. Great room. Friendly staff. Historic Hotel. Great Neighborhood. A few blocks to public transportation. What more do I need to say. Book it on Hotwire.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qtrready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PWork, manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, 4 October 2009
Thank you for the wonderful comments about our rooms, staff and location. We look forward to your return to our historic hotel.

Warm Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    530
    443
    98
    44
    43
See reviews for
188
315
101
394
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

Spent two nights at the hotel on a recent business trip. The room itself (808) was actually pretty small, but that wasn't much of an issue for me as a solo, business traveler. The bathroom was quite large with modern fixtures, and was a pleasant surprise compared to some of the pictures that had been posted. Overall a very nice room.

The hotel also hosted a business meeting including catered food. The staff did a great job with room set-up, keeping water available, etc. The quality of the food served at the breakfasts and lunches was also very good, surprisingly good, in fact, for a hotel.

Hotel area itself has lots of restaurants and convenience stores. The nearest Whole Foods is a bit of a hike (down to DuPont Circle and then about a half mile down P St). Neighborhood seemed safe and vibrant.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UMich_traveler_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PWork, manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, 4 October 2009
Thank you for sharing your experience with our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your room and the food for your business meeting. We look forward to your return.

Warm Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscatine, IA
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2009

The Churchill offers a comfortable, clean stay for the best price I have found in DC. From the Churchill it takes about two minutes longer to walk to the Dupont Circle Metro than from a couple of other hotels. But those other hotels may cost 50%+ more per night. The staff at the Churchill were very helpful. And the bar is great!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithPorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PWork, manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, 4 October 2009
Thank you for the great comments about our staff and bar. We look forward to accomodating you in the future.

Warm Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2009

The Churchill is a hotel I would highly recommend! The Rooms were immaculate, the Service impeccable, and the Breakfast beautifully served and delicious. After a long day of sightseeing, there were many interesting restaurants within a short walk to choose from.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewJerseyJosephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PWork, manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, 4 October 2009
Thank you for the outstanding remarks about our rooms and the service we provided. We look forward to providing that same level of service on all of your trips to Washington DC.

Warm Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2009

This hotel was amazingly good for the price and for being so accessible for everything in Washington DC. The staff were helpful and friendly. The room was spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjorygrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PWork, manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, 4 October 2009
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear that your stay with us was a success and we look forward to your return.

Warm Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2009

The staff at the Churchill was the most helpful that I have experienced in all my travels.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doctorjohnLouisiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PWork, manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, 4 October 2009
Thank you for the excellent comments about our staff and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2009

I chose this hotel for the TEA Party March on the Capitol, Sept. 12, 2009. I rode the Amtrak and needed something within walking distance. The Churchill is close to DuPont Circle Metro stop and very convenient for pedestrians. I was looking for something special to help with the weekends atmosphere. The Churchill is in an older building and brings a classic older traveling experience. Beautifully appointed and the staff was exceptional. When I opened the door to my room, I was taken aback with the sound of classic music, lights on, and an open expanse of a large room with flat screen TV, a separate room for an office and coffee setup. The furniture appears antique and beautiful. I could not ask for more in a room. I cannot wait to go back with my family.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albydam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PWork, manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this review, 4 October 2009
Thank you for the wonderful comments about our historic hotel. We look forward to have you and your family as our guests again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Normandy Hotel
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
983 reviews
Adams Morgan
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#91 of 141 in Washington DC
547 reviews
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#101 of 141 in Washington DC
3,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,092 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#125 of 141 in Washington DC
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row

Property: Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
Address: 1914 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-5705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than a century, the Churchill Hotel, situated on Connecticut Avenue near the Dupont Circle and Adams Morgan neighborhoods, has been home to a long list of diplomats, dignitaries, politicians, business travelers, and prominent families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Churchill Hotel Washington Dc
Churchill Hotel Washington Dc
Churchill Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing