We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“far superior to all the many DC hotels I've stayed at”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
Ranked #37 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2009

My nephew and I were treated professionally and graciously throughout out stay. The room was spacious and comfortable with all the accommodations for laptops and personal needs. Quiet and clean....great stay.....will book next visit to DC.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelon63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Responder1, Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2009

Thank you for your comments about our hotel. We are glad that you had a great stay and we look forward to showing you another the next time you are in Washington DC.

Warm Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

929 - 935 of 1,205 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2009

We came for one night to attend a friend's child's wedding. The hotel is in an area that we have stayed in before, we like the access to the National Zoo, the beautiful parks and close to public transportation.
The room and friendly staff were tops!
We definitely will return when in Washington again.
The price of the room was fair.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eatingwelllady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Responder1, Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2009

Thank you for staying with us and commenting on your experience. We look forward to your return.

Warm Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2009

We are repeat customers to the Churchill when in DC for pleasure trips. Its location a few blocks from Dupont Circle makes it an easy walk to the Metro or to fun restaurants, galleries, and beautiful streets in the Kalorama neighborhood. It is very clean and well-kept. We have enjoyed all our rooms, from the smallest to the largest suite. It is very tastefully appointed without being overdone or stuffy. Rooms couldn't be quieter. Service is wonderful. The Churchill's size is intimate yet private, the best of what a boutique hotel has to offer. The wait for valet parking to retrieve your car is very short and efficient. Our only complaint would be that the beds with pillow tops are a bit soft for our taste but this does not stop us from returning. Their weekend rates can't be beat. We have sent friends here repeatedly, and will definitely stay there again and again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rumitrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Responder1, Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2009

Thank you for recommending our hotel and staying with us repeatedly. We strive to keep our guests coming back and we look forward to accomodating you again and again.

Warm Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2009

This was a very nice hotel. The staff was courteous and attentive. Although I was in DC for a conference, I took my children there to learn some of the history of DC. What made the biggest impression on me was that it seemed as though my children were the only ones at the hotel during our stay, the staff was always very nice and polite. Our first night there, the waiter was offering suggestions on the sites to see that were kid friendly. When I go back to DC, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smr1Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Responder1, Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2009

Thank you for your comments about our historic hotel. We are glad you and your children had a pleasant stay with us and we look forward to your return.

Warm Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2009

My Stay in the Churchhill D.C. was wonderful. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The hotel itself is beautifully appointed. It was a joy to stay there

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaherHamden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Responder1, Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2009

Thank you for sharing your experience with our hotel. We are glad you had a wonderful time and we hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2009

When we first arrived the room position was too noisy located next door to the ice machine, with a call to reception, our room was not only changed but upgraded.
The room itself was VERY clean with a comfortable bed. The bathrooms were small but that didn't bother us.
The location of the hotel is in a very nice area of Washington, you feel free to walk about at night in this amazing city.
I would return to this hotel tomorrow and recommend to many.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnMarieJoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Responder1, Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2009

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We look forward to your return.

Warm Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2009

Not to imply this is a bad hotel, quite the contrary, but it did not really fit our needs.

Had a group of HS students for a convention. Really not a place for kids, no pool, and little to do in the hotel. the staff was very helpful, despite a major front office error when checking in (they ran the VISA for $11,000 not $1100, even worse the lady at the desk couldn't understand the difference, but the manager was great, taking care of everything). Two of our four rooms had a little beetle in them, no big deal, but always bothersome. Room TV's have limited channels, and the hotel is not really that close to the Metro, about six long blocks which does not seem like much until you've been walking all day. No real workout room, just a couple of cardio machines. WiFi system is $9.95 per day and really slow, the business area is actually part of the bar, and their machines are slow too....Finally, the windows in the bathroom were not sealed well and cold air kept leaking in.

Lots of good things about the hotel too, great staff, nice restaurant, fast room service, nice location (other than the metro walk), very elegant, big bathrooms, just to mention a few things.

If I come back with my wife, this hotel would be on my list of places to stay, if we brought our teenage kids, we might look for something that had more options, like the Courtyard next door.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Responder1, Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2009

Thank you for your comments about our hotel. We are always glad to hear what went well and where we can improve. We hope to see you and your family on your next visit to Washington DC.

Warm Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Normandy Hotel
#30 of 141 in Washington DC
1,088 reviews
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#88 of 141 in Washington DC
594 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Lombardy
Hotel Lombardy
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#18 of 141 in Washington DC
1,589 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,393 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#91 of 141 in Washington DC
1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row

Address: 1914 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-5705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £85 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than a century, the Churchill Hotel, situated on Connecticut Avenue near the Dupont Circle and Adams Morgan neighborhoods, has been home to a long list of diplomats, dignitaries, politicians, business travelers, and prominent families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Churchill Hotel Washington Dc
Churchill Hotel Washington Dc
Churchill Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing