We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE: Will not refund if flights are cancelled!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Ranked #16 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Made a reservation through expedia, and my flight as well as all flight possibilities from my area were cancelled due to bad weather. The hotel was unwilling to give any kind of refund at all. Understandable if I changed plans, but for bad weather?!?! I tried working with both Expedia and the hotel staff, but just ended up wasting an hour. Completely unaccomodating. One would think with their "on-sale" rate of $500 a night for the most basic room that you would at least get decent service. I will never try to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank hotel_reviewer096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,992)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,535 - 2,541 of 2,992 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2011

Graduation weekend in DC is no picnic. Several of the colleges schedule their big event on the same weekend so if your reservations aren't made far in advance, Good Luck! Because of the demand the cost of hotel rooms seems to go up outrageously!
Our family frequently stays at the Fairmont. It's a beautiful hotel, within walking distance (we always take a taxi but you really can walk!) of George Washington University and Georgetown (the town not the school..but it's an easy cab ride there too). We like to stay on the Gold Floor because there are all sorts of luxuries. The little breakfast room not only has a wonderful buffet of breakfast delights, but also has an afternoon snack buffet and something in the evening. We use the gym (great gym) downstairs and come up and read the paper over coffee and fruit or eggs, muffins ... delicious!
Because I didn't make our reservation for Graduation weekend early enough there were no rooms available. They took my name and told me that they would do their best if anything became available. I called 3 other hotels and finally got rooms in a Marriott for almost $800. a night. This made me sick. But, it was Graduation. We couldn't pitch a tent on the National Mall.
A week later The Fairmont called. They had 2 rooms for us, as we requested, next to each other. We also were able to have our huge family meet us for a free breakfast of muffins and coffee while we all congregated to go over to Graduation..even though everyone else in the family were staying at other hotels.
They are the definition of hospitable, professional and gracious at this hotel. The rooms are gorgeous and I always get extra pillows or whatever I need the second I ask..with a smile. Always. This is a seriously great hotel in DC.

Room Tip: Stay on the Gold Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BetsyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWDC, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2011

Thank you so much for taking time to write about "counter-act Graduation Stress". We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay, and that we were able to help make your stay stress free. Please come back and visit soon. Our Fairmont Gold team will be waiting for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Wonderful place! Excellent location, good amenities, cheerful and helpful staff,great health club, bar, breakfast. Rooms perhaps could use a slight update, but are spaceous and nice.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Great service, beautiful room, one of the best places to stay in Embassy row. We loved the attentive valet service (and we were in and out quite a bit), the prompt and accurate room service, the large and sunny room (well appointed and lovely cape-cod style decor) and excellent staff attitude overall.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FerrariWidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

This was our second visit to the hotel. The staff for the most part were all very efficient and friendly. The restaurant both inside and out was pleasant with an excellent breakfast buffet. The bar needs more space to accommodate busy times and is not user friendly.
There are NO seating areas in the lobby. The rooms are becoming shabby, ours was an upgraded one and not up to Fairmont standards The location is fairly close to the shops of Georgetown

Room Tip: ask if they have any renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baltzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Stayed here from 27 May - 31 May 2011 in room 722. The hotel has a nice vibe to it and suits the area of Georgetown. It is a short walk to the shopping/cafes part of Georgetown (they have Sprinkles cupcakes there!). The lobby area is pleasant, staff are all friendly and the room was very spacious with great interiors. Make sure you join the Fairmont's Presidents club as you get free access to the gym and wifi. As I don't travel with a laptop whilst on vacation, you need to pay to use their computers (like other Fairmont hotels) as there is no free computer in the lobby to check emails.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydTraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Brilliant hotel to stay at! Greeted by extremely friendly staff who took care of us as soon as we stepped in the door. Room was very plush - spacious, so clean - with a refridgerator!! Bathroom was big and roomy and equipped with everything you need. A short walk to the classy shopping district of Georgetown and many resturants along the way. Staff were very helpful, answering all my questions with respectful attitudes. Always a friendly smiling face, was a pleasure to stay and will stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kells2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 142 in Washington DC
1,136 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#12 of 142 in Washington DC
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,220 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,255 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Address: 2401 M Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1408 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £149 - £547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is pleased to announce that all of our guestrooms are newly renovated as of June 01, 2016. The newly renovated guestrooms, suites and Fairmont Gold experience transform the hotel into the premier luxury destination in the nation's capital by adding contemporary and innovative features important to today's travelers, such as multiple outlets and a multi-functional table with a chaise. We are currently enhancing our public spaces with a redesign of the courtyard and lobby. During this time, we will install temporary walls around the lounge and lobby staircase where an exhibit of "American Icons" will be displayed. We have partnered with the Georgetown gallery, Artist's Proof, to showcase historic and current American celebrities and personalities. We are working to ensure the guest experience is not impacted during your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing