We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big disappointment in an attractive package”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Ranked #15 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Though the facility is attractive and the staff helpful, our stay was a big disappointment.

1) We'd selected The Fairmont in part for location but particularly for its terrific exercise facilities and pool. I even made sure to call the hotel before booking to make sure what I saw in the photos was what we'd find but on check-in were told that the whole facility was closing for renovations. We pressed for use of another facility which was available only from 11am-4pm, when we'd be working and unavailable. They should have told me when I called so we had an opportunity to find another facility. For what it's worth, the facilities really are terrific, just unavailable to us.

2) The second morning of our stay we requested privacy but returned to our room to discover the "Privacy Please" tag back on the inside of the door, a light left on and the room cleaned. Everything we had carefully left laid out on surfaces had been touched and moved. To his credit, the concierge was mortified and offered profuse apologies, yet told me that the housekeeper insisted there was no privacy notice. Bad enough a mistake was made, but lying made it worse.

I hope this was just a bad couple of days in the life of a good hotel, but I surely wouldn't risk another visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lydia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,387 - 2,393 of 3,101 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

Never seen such service!! Everyone smiles and cannot wait to help. We were there for a wedding at the hotel and the staff was superb in setting up and ensuring that it ran smoothly.
What a terrific place!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmwzawza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWDC, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2012

Loved your comment everyone was smiling and try to help. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

My brother and I stayed here for a wedding in October with our German Shepard. The hotel was beautiful and the staff was excellent, from the cleaning staff, who had her photo taken with our dog, and the concierge, who went out of her way to make our stay memorable. The highlight was their new Pinkies and Paws High Tea, with amazing treats for us and our dog. Washington is a great place to travel with your dog, and the Fairmont is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TOMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWDC, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2012

We are delighted that you and your dog were able to raise your pinkies and paws at our afternoon tea. Please come back and visit us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Stayed three great nights here. Staff was exceeding friendly especially the bar staff. Don't miss Happy Hour 4-7 pm week nights. Great food and drink at reasonable prices. Nothing to do with hotel but Fairmont is getting too restrictive with their President's Club rewards.

Room Tip: Courtyard is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

I work near the hotel and was a member of the Health Club. I am writing to say that they are renovating the gym, pool, jacuzzi area through February at least. They may have a small area with some machines to use temporarily. If having a good exercise or swim facility is important, then look elsewhere for the next few months. Otherwise it's a nice business hotel, much too pricey for families. The lobby is nice and in warm months the courtyard is lovely.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

A bit expensive, but the hotel has a nice lobby, good comfortable well equipped rooms, and helpful respectful staff. The breakfast though needs some improvement in quality and variety. All business hotels should have free wifi, no one should pay for wifi at thus day and age. Wifi and breakfast were included in my room rate. I was happy with my stay. I give the hotel a 9 out of 10 overall.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khaled7691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We stayed at the Fairmont for a wedding. The room was lovely and spacious. The bathroom was also lovely and spacious. Comfy bed. It is an older facility but beautifully maintained. We joined their President's club to get complimentary internet and fitness center. The food served at the wedding and brunch was delicious. Staff was very helpful - especially the bellhops and valet!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rf06903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWDC, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

We are very proud of our smiling staff, and we are so glad you noticed. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#45 of 141 in Washington DC
494 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,385 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
3,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
1,171 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
2,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Address: 2401 M Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1408 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £120 - £398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is pleased to announce that all of our guestrooms are newly renovated as of June 01, 2016. The newly renovated guestrooms, suites and Fairmont Gold experience transform the hotel into the premier luxury destination in the nation's capital by adding contemporary and innovative features important to today's travelers, such as multiple outlets and a multi-functional table with a chaise. We are currently enhancing our public spaces with a redesign of the courtyard and lobby. During this time, we will install temporary walls around the lounge and lobby staircase where an exhibit of "American Icons" will be displayed. We have partnered with the Georgetown gallery, Artist's Proof, to showcase historic and current American celebrities and personalities. We are working to ensure the guest experience is not impacted during your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing