We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding week at the Fairmont Washington DC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Ranked #18 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Our daughter got married this past weekend at the Fairmont and my wife and I stayed 5 nights. Bob Mikolitch is the Director of Catering but to us he was much more. His guidance as well as attention to details ensured the wedding and reception were perfect. The food was excellent and all of the hotel staff were amazing. Excellent hotel and great place to have a wedding.

Gary & Beverly Cowsert
Austin, TX

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gdcowsert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thank you so much Mr. and Mrs. Cowsert! We couldn’t be happier to hear how the wedding went for you. And your description of Bob is perfect; he is always “much more,” and an expert at his craft.

Congratulations to you, your daughter and your new son-in-law. Thank you again!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,064)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,162 - 2,168 of 3,064 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

The Fairmont hotel does demonstrated how professional the hotel should be run. Everything is in order, the checking in, the room and its facilities. The room is in perfect condition. There are no faults in the room that can be found. This is totally the standard of a good hotel should be. I will certainly come back for more

Room Tip: With my experience all room should be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonycookery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thank you very much Tonycookery! We appreciate you taking the time to review and share your experience. It means a lot and is very helpful to future travelers!

Your visit was wonderful to hear about and we can’t wait to have you back for more!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I recently stayed one night with family at the Fairmont in Washington while traveling south for vacation. I wish I was staying at the Fairmont for 4 days and the only place for 1 day because the hotel was awesome.

Check-in, valet and the lobby was flawless. Everyone was extremely helpful, the service was fast and friendly. The lobby area was beautiful with plenty of places to sit and relax, the entire hotel is spotless and very well maintained.

Our room was a deluxe with a small balcony which was very nice. The room was clean, very comfortable and functional. The bed was marvelous and one of the more comfortable ones I have slept in which is always appreciated. I love the water pressure in this building makes for a great shower ! (its the little things what can I say).

We ate at the buffet for breakfast and the food and staff were prompt and wonderful and the food was great. Valet was very fast and even gave us some water to take with us on our trip.

Overall probably one of the best Fairmont's I have ever stayed in. Terrific hotel and the staff is first rate...well done !!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hdblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thank you so much Hdblue! We love getting reviews from seasoned travelers – and you certainly fall under that description!

We agree with you 100% that it is the little things that make or break a stay and are glad that our amenities were to your liking. We greatly appreciate your compliments to our staff and property and can’t wait to have you back again!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed at the Fairmont for a very hot weekend. Was very pleased to see how beautiful it was. After a quick check-in, we went to a lovely room overlooking the beautiful courtyard. Beds were comfortable & slept well, which is a plus for me. The rooms have a Keurig coffeepot which my husband loved & a separate teapot which I loved. Such a nice touch. We didn't have breakfast there but our friends did & didn't think it was worth the $20 each. A group of us had the $30 Sunday Supper which was a good deal in pricey Washington. The portions were not big, which was fine for me, but not all the men. The chef was off that night so we did not have him come to our table as advertised. We had great service from Nora. She was excellent at the dinner & again in the lounge the next day. The lounge was very pretty & comfortable but the drinks at the bar were very expensive.
The hotel was a nice 15 minute walk to the Georgetown harbor, which is lovely. Since it was so hot, we took cabs to most other places. The only real downside was the AC would go on for about 30 seconds, then off for a couple minutes, then back on for 30 seconds. Very strange & took a couple days to get used to it.

Room Tip: Joined the president's club before arrived & was upgraded to deluxe king room overlooking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you very much for the kind review Sharon K! We’re honored to have been your Washington oasis. You make excellent points to help future travelers—the Keurig and teapot are always nice to have and we certainly second your recommendation to sign up for Fairmont President’s Club before you arrive. From complimentary Internet access at all Fairmonts to recognition of your travel preferences, it’s always a good idea!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I chose the Fairmont as my hotel for my first visit to the United States District Capital. The room was clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The morning paper was always ready at the door and my room faced the lovely courtyard. I enjoyed my breakfasts and dinners in the dining room and food and service were exactly what I expected from the Fairmont. Well situated and easy use of the Metro system

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllaninWanderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you CDN_Adventurer_2! We’re so glad to have been “just what you wanted.” It’s what we aim for!

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and share your experience and are honored to have hosted you for your first visit to our Capital. Come back and visit again soon!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Just back from 2 week trip to Washington DC and Bermuda. We are a 50 plus couple who enjoy travelling and seldom visit the same place twice however our experiences in Washington DC will entice us back and we will definitely stay here again.
We loved the city and the hotel. Our room overlooked the lovely courtyard and had everything you could need. As someone said in an earlier review it is the small things that make a first class hotel - like the coffee machine in the room, the chargers for computers,phones etc ( I had left ine at home and was delighted to see that I could charge up my Ereader and iPad) , free WIFI for guests registered for the Fairmont Presidents Club, the good bathroom amenities and, of course, the friendly helpful staff who seemed to care whether we were having a good time.
We enjoyed the happy hour at the bar Mon to Fri (why not the weekend?) and can certainly recommend the cocktails. Breakfast in Junipers was good - great that they had freshly squeezed orange juice as standard.
Concierge staff were very helpful with places to eat, local bars etc and did not try to push their own restaurants or bar.
Check in and check out were very quick - offered upgrades on arrival but decided it wasn't worth the extra for us. The hotel is well placed although walking in the 90 degree heat was a challenge at times and the strawberry lemonade at reception was very welcome on our return to the hotel.
All in all a fabulous 4 days. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfan2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you jmc27! We’re glad to hear that you loved your trip—and that you will be back again!

Our favorite comment in your review is this: “the friendly helpful staff who seemed to care whether we were having a good time.” It’s a great observation; our team really does care about our guests. We really appreciate you taking the time to note this.

Thanks again for the review. We look forward to having you back.

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We had this hotel booked for us by Dial a Flight as part of a big US trip for myself and my 17yr old son.
It's in a good position for visiting the sights and monuments. Took us about 15/20 mins to walk to the Lincoln Memorial which was fine.
We only had 24 hours so it was perfect really.
The hotel itself is nice and of good quality. Buffet breakfast was good and not that expensive. We had an evening meal here as there is not really much choice in the area as its mainly a business district, and I found it good but expensive. There is a pool and fitness suite but its run by a third party company so you have to pay to use it. My son went for a swim and said it was good.
You have to bear in mind that its quite a way from the airport and as such transport is quite expensive. We arrived by train and that was only a 15 min taxi ride but left by air and that was $60, and 45 mins.
So nice comfortable 4 star hotel, good efficient staff but in a very quiet area with not much going on.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charliebucket999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thank you for the review charliebucket999! We’re honored to have been included as a part of the big US trip for you and your son. We hope you got lots of pictures!

The monuments are quite a sight and the perfect distance to walk to and enjoy day or night. Especially when you have as nice of weather as we’ve been having lately. We’re glad you enjoyed everything and hope to host you again.

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#16 of 141 in Washington DC
457 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
3,326 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
3,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 141 in Washington DC
1,158 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Address: 2401 M Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1408 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £116 - £422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is pleased to announce that all of our guestrooms are newly renovated as of June 01, 2016. The newly renovated guestrooms, suites and Fairmont Gold experience transform the hotel into the premier luxury destination in the nation's capital by adding contemporary and innovative features important to today's travelers, such as multiple outlets and a multi-functional table with a chaise. We are currently enhancing our public spaces with a redesign of the courtyard and lobby. During this time, we will install temporary walls around the lounge and lobby staircase where an exhibit of "American Icons" will be displayed. We have partnered with the Georgetown gallery, Artist's Proof, to showcase historic and current American celebrities and personalities. We are working to ensure the guest experience is not impacted during your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing