We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another happy stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Ranked #17 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 September 2013

A great hotel to relax in after a long day. The lobby lounge area is tranquil and very comfortable. Food quality is better than most of it's 4-star competition. Room size is decent and the staff helpful. Strongly recommend to those who do not want to pay 5-star hotel rates but would still like to enjoy upscale quality and service level.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miumiu88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Thank you Miumiu88! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. You are absolutely right that the hotel is great to relax in after a long day. We like to say that we’re an oasis in the middle of a busy city.

We’re glad you enjoyed the food, room and staff. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,945)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,020 - 2,026 of 2,945 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel to attend a conference at a nearby hotel. It was in a great location in which I felt safe walking around the neighborhood alone to explore on my lunch breaks. Staying on the gold level gave me access to the amenities of a large hotel with the attentive service you get in a small boutique hotel.

The choice to stay on the gold level floor made my stay an excellent value. All of the staff I encountered were friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make sure I had what I needed. I especially enjoyed the included yummy breakfasts and delicious hors d'oeuvres that were served each evening. It was nice to enjoy these meals in the comfortable lounge instead of having to dine alone at an outside restaurant. My room was gorgeous and spacious. I took advantage of the daily classes at the gym that were complimentary with my stay on the gold level. The use of gym clothes and sneakers that are loaned to members of the president's club was extremely convenient and enabled me to keep my luggage light enough to avoid having to check a bag (it was also nice to not have to schlep dirty gym clothes home). I felt very at home and welcome at this hotel and was very grateful to all of the wonderful, professional staff who took care of me during my stay.

Eating by the fountain at the hotel's restaurant surrounded by flowers was a nice treat. I felt like I had been transported away from the concrete jungle that surrounds the hotel. For lunch, it is worth the short walk to the L.A. Sports club next door to the Ritz Carlton. They offer many healthy, well-priced options that are served pretty quickly.

The bed was very comfortable and my room was very quiet, both of which afforded me peaceful slumber. My room and the hotel were very clean. I could not have been happier with my choice of hotel and will gladly make this hotel my first choice if I return to D.C. in the future.

Room Tip: The extra money to stay on the gold level is well worth it!!!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolgb328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you so much carolgb328! What a great review!

We’re pleased with everything you had to say. We couldn’t agree more that Fairmont Gold is an excellent value. We encourage all guests to try it at least once…and then see if you’re able to not book it again! The feeling of staying in a boutique hotel with the amenities of a large hotel is exactly what we strive for.

We cannot wait to have you back again. It sounds like you take your fitness very seriously—let us know when you are arriving so we can have health-specific offerings ready for you.

Thanks again!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel is very comfortable, with a lovely lounge area and in a nice location with helpful staff. We stayed on the concierge floor, there appear to be less amenities than when I stayed there three years ago, e.g. honor bar even for wine and beer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAPJr112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for reviewing your stay DAPJr112! We appreciate you taking the time to do so. We especially appreciate your compliments toward our staff.

We apologize that there seem to be less amenities than your last stay. That’s something we never want. If you have the opportunity, please email Maggie Baum, our Fairmont Gold Manager, at maggie.baum@fairmont.com. She will be able to make this right and ensure that our offerings only go up, never down.

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I came here on business, so wasn't able to spend a lot of time in the hotel - most of my time there was spent having after dinner drinks at the bar with my work colleagues. The bartender, a Moroccan gentleman, makes a mean Vesper. He provides excellent service and makes terrific suggestions on drinks, places to eat, etc.
The hotel manager came to my room personally to deliver a package. The room service was excellent. The rooms are neat and tidy, and the staff overall polite and very accommodating and helpful. I like the location because it is a bit removed from main traffic arteries, and so is a lot quieter. The garden court is beautiful, and they make their own honey on the roof, so ask for the cheese pate and maybe it will come with a luscious piece of honeycomb, as mine did.

Room Tip: I think you can't really go wrong anywhere - my room was on the top floor and faced the street a...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJWSanFrancisco_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thank you MJWSanFrancisco_CA! Jawad, the gentleman you mention, is one of the finest bartenders in the city (we think he’s the finest, but may be a little biased). We’re so glad you had the opportunity to chat with him and enjoy a “mean Vesper.”

Your tip about the cheese plate is a great one. The rooftop honey is one of our many sustainability initiatives—and the most popular with guests.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to hosting you in the future,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This is a very nice hotel with very friendly staff. You are greeted by many people and every one was always willing to assist. We didn't know the area very well so were given very helpful information from where sites were, good restaurants and anything else you wanted to know. The rooms were exceptional... Very clean and roomy. It was very quiet, you couldn't hear people coming and going. I didn't get to use the pool but it looked very nice. There are several restaurants you can easily walk to and shops that's also down the street. We walked to the river front and it was very refreshing. The restaurant in the hotel has a wonderful breakfast buffet- great bacon, eggs, sausage, potatoes, fruit pastries and more- would highly recommend. You can't go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skbkjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thank you very much Skbkjb! We’re glad to hear that you had such a good time staying with us. We appreciate your compliments toward our staff and facilities. And we love that you say “You can’t go wrong with this hotel.”

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and provide tips to future travelers. Come back and visit again soon!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We try to stay at a Fairmont every where we go especially as I usually have member certificates I can use towards my stay. My daughter and I stayed at The Fairmont Washington for 5 days in August and as usual this Fairmont served up the first class service that seems to be norm for this group. From the valet staff, to the front desk, concierge and restaurant – great service far exceeded expectations. They all definitely go out of their way to make one feel like you are the most important guest.

The location (near Georgetown) is great. As noted in other posts, the Foggy Bottom metro station is a few blocks down the road and there are lots of restaurants and a grocery store close by. Very accessible to all the major sights and the concierge has wonderful tips and suggestions (including offering some discount coupons),

We got a complimentary upgrade and the room was very clean and large. The housekeeping is amazing. Keurig coffee machine is a bonus. I requested a small pot of fresh milk for my coffee – this was delivered immediately.

We had the breakfast buffet in the serene courtyard garden. The breakfast is a full American breakfast, fresh fruit, pastries and breads. Juices are amazing. Loved the coffee, too. Great value at $19.

Join the Fairmont President’s Club to get complimentary Internet access at every Fairmont around the globe

A great stay with great memories. I would highly recommend the Fairmont whenever you are in the DC area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReviewsAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thank you for the five-star review, ReviewsAll! It was a pleasure to read. Especially these lines: “From the valet staff, to the front desk, concierge and restaurant – great service far exceeded expectations. They all definitely go out of their way to make one feel like you are the most important guest.”

We’re glad the location was great for all of your sight-seeing and exploring. We second your advice—guests should always stop by the Concierge desk for tips on what to do around the city. And to pick up some discount coupons! The Concierge team is amazing. As are the Housekeeping, Food and Beverage and all the other teams throughout the hotel.

Thank you again for the kind review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and look forward to hosting you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The hotel has a great location, within walking distance to Georgetown and the service is outstanding. When you pull up, you are greeted by many welcoming faces willing to help you after the long trip. We had a problem with a room service order, but the supervisor went out of her way to remedy the situation - even delivering the order herself! Extremely clean rooms. Excellent overall experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilovechoclate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thank you for reviewing your stay Ilovechoclate! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others. Nothing helps guides travel decisions quite like the opinion of fellow travelers!

Your kind words toward our staff mean a lot. Our team is amazing and we love hearing guests commend their service. Thank you again for sharing. Let us know when you’ll be back in town!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#9 of 142 in Washington DC
365 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 142 in Washington DC
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 142 in Washington DC
3,198 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,290 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#7 of 142 in Washington DC
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Address: 2401 M Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1408 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £161 - £500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is pleased to announce that all of our guestrooms are newly renovated as of June 01, 2016. The newly renovated guestrooms, suites and Fairmont Gold experience transform the hotel into the premier luxury destination in the nation's capital by adding contemporary and innovative features important to today's travelers, such as multiple outlets and a multi-functional table with a chaise. We are currently enhancing our public spaces with a redesign of the courtyard and lobby. During this time, we will install temporary walls around the lounge and lobby staircase where an exhibit of "American Icons" will be displayed. We have partnered with the Georgetown gallery, Artist's Proof, to showcase historic and current American celebrities and personalities. We are working to ensure the guest experience is not impacted during your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing