We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Location - Awesome Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Ranked #14 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Location - Awesome Hotel!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Fairmont in Washington DC couldn't be in a better location. Just a block or so from Georgetown, so you have great dinint options after a busy day of checking out the city, museums, monuments, etc. The lobby and flowers in the courtyard are not to be missed. The concierge service was awesome. The hotels were warm, luxurious and very clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you very much Colleen A! We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself at this “awesome hotel!” We agree with you that the location is perfect for taking in all that DC has to offer.

We appreciate your compliments toward our team and will be sure to pass on the word to the Concierges. They are amazing and know the city better than anyone!

Thank you again. We look forward to hosting you in the future,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,919
    680
    156
    63
    35
See reviews for
746
802
139
831
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This hotel is just flat out lovely in a lovely area of town. They treat you warmly, it's a beautiful hotel, the rooms are spacious and elegant in an understated way. Great art, great flowers in the entry. Everyone makes you feel likewelcome and that they are there to help you and it's no bother. Amazing. The area in town you are in is clean and nice with alot of restaurants. Trader Joes is around the corner, you can pick up flowers for your room there, bread, cheese, etc. The subway is 4 blocks away across from Whole Foods, where we picked up pastries and coffee and whatever else we wanted, easily. If you don't want to pay the 45 parking, there are other parking garages in the area for less. Those parking garages close early, around 8p, you can check them out online. But in the end we didn't need a car. We could get everywhere by the subway, I think they call it the metro. We could walk to the shops and restaurants in Georgetown. One day we wanted a car and I called Enterprise. It was 1 or 2 blocks over at the Marriott. I just walked over and picked it up, drove around to see the sights, then returned it. This hotel was easy. Easy to walk places, no problems with the hotel, easy helpful friendly staff. I felt very welcome here. On the last day we had to check out before our shuttle ride came to take us to BWI. The concierge and bell staff held our luggage for us while we went to lunch. No problem.
One night we ate dessert in the atrium and had a cocktail. The seating is comfortable and ambiance great. There is a "Crossfit" gym in the building. We went down in the morning to go swimming. We also hot tubed. They also have a dry sauna and steam room that looked inviting. Plus there is a machine to wring out your swimsuit, so it dries fast. Sign up for the Presidents Club, it's free, to get wifi and the gym for free. Do not be afraid to ask the staff for help. They are knowledgeable and friendly and helpful, and once you talk to them, you will wonder why you were being shy about it. They are very human here. This place has soul.

Room Tip: Try the "Bee Tini" cocktail. It's from honey they harvest on their roof! Take some tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Peaceful T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you, thank you, thank you Peaceful T! What a great review. Thank you so much for sharing. We love your conclusion: “They are very human here. This place has soul.”

You share great tips and we couldn’t agree more on your suggestions. All guests should definitely sign up for Fairmont President’s Club before arriving. It grants complimentary Internet access at Fairmonts across the world. It’s also true that you don’t need a car here. D.C. is a very walkable city and the Metro makes it even easier to get around.

We are so grateful for your compliments toward our staff and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to having you back,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I've never write a review on tripadvisor before, but I do come here often to read about hotels for fun; as well as collect information for my upcoming travel. What happen during our trip to Washington last week led me to sign up for tripadvisor, because the Fairmont is worth writing about.

We were staying at another hotel in the city, not too far away. My sister and I checked out in the evening and got in a cab to go meet with our friends at the Park Hyatt--who we will be riding to Dulles Airport together. A cabbie who doesn't know where he was going, also ripped us off by charging us $40 for a 10 minutes ride. After a long argument, we gave up and paid anyway to avoid the problems. We were ready to go in the Park Hyatt to meet with our friend so we can continue our journey home to London.

Upon arrival, we were greeted with a warm welcome an smile. A couple of bellmen pulled our baggage while a nice young lady held the door open for us. Once inside, Andy, a nice young man at the concierge desk welcomed us warmly. After a short conversation, we realized we are at the Fairmont!! A cabbie dropped us off here and not the Park Hyatt?! As we were getting ready to leave to go across the street to meet our friend, Andy had told us to relax and stay calm. He offered to call our friend from the Hyatt to meet us here. Aside from that, he also called Washington Flyer Taxi service for us so we wouldn't encounter the same problem again like the previous cabbie. Wash. Fly said they will be here in 20 mins, so Andy took us on a tour of the beautiful atrium lounge. He offered us a cocktail while we sip through the relaxing live piano. Our friend from across the street joined us just in time the taxi got here. The bellmen quickly loaded our baggage and we were on our way.

I forgot to ask for the contact information of the hotel, but I hope writing this review will add positive recognition for the Fairmont Washington. Our time at this hotel was short, but sweet. If this was the kind of service they do for non-guest, I can't imagine how pampered we will be if we had stayed here. On our next trip, we will look no further than the Fairmont. Again--Thanks to Andy, the concierge and all the staff! Truly beyond 5 stars!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you so much Melissa W! It means a lot to us that you signed up with TripAdvisor so that you could share your Fairmont experience with the world. We truly appreciate it.

Andy is beyond amazing. He is an asset to our team and the industry as a whole. We are so lucky to have him and grateful for the opportunity to work with him. It’s a real treat!

We couldn't be happier with what you experienced during your brief experience with us and hope to welcome you back in the future for a proper stay.

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We decided to stay at the Fairmont Washington DC for the second time in two years as our first visit was truly first class. This year was our 25th Wedding Anniversary and we decided to spend our anniversay day and both of our birthdays at this wonderful hotel. We booked a 7 day holiday in DC.
From the moment we stepped out of our taxi at the front doors to the moment we departed we loved every minute.
The staff are very professional, courteous and polite and they really made a big effort to please in every way.
Our room was spacious, spotlessly clean, well furnished and very relaxing and peaceful. The bed was heavenly ! so big and comfortable.
The hotel has a very high quality restaurant and I recommend a booking here, we will never forget our meal there as everything was just perfect as the food and wines are obviously very carefully selected to compliment each other. A winning combination for us.
We spent a fair amount of time each night at the bar relaxing with a great choice of drinks. The staff running the bar were so nice, very professional and a delight to chat with (as were the other guests in the hotel).
Overall this was a wonderful hotel and must be one of the very best in DC.
We are really looking forward to another holiday based at the Fairmont DC.

Room Tip: If you have a particular request for a room please ask in advance if you can and they will do their...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel seems to try it's best to recycle by having seperate waste bins for various things. It also has a good policy for bedding changes and towel changes.
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you so much Alan S! Happy anniversary—25 years is amazing! We are honored that you chose to spend it with us and couldn’t be happier with the experience you had. We appreciate your compliments toward our team and agree that they “are very professional, courteous and polite and they really made a big effort to please in every way.” Such a great way of describing them!

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We enjoyed the attentive and friendly staff. They were terrific!
We could not have asked for better service and plan to make the Fairmont our place to stay while in DC.

Our room was spacious and clean. The location was convenient and the food was delicious.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmmsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you nmmsh! We appreciate the 5 star review and are so pleased with your compliments toward our team. They are one of the most impressive groups of people that anyone could meet!

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad that the Fairmont will be your place to stay while in DC and look forward to welcoming you back,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My organization has used this property as the primary hotel for visiting executives and board members since 1989. Under the Fairmont flag, they have continued the standards of excellent service and attention to the needs of their guests. My husband and I enjoyed our overnight stay as part of a fun social event for clients ('Scandal' Premier Party), and as always, we were impressed with the warmth of the staff and the high quality of finishes and products in the room. Thank you.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gail E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you kindly Gail E! We are so glad that you were able to join us for the Scandal Premiere Party. We can assure you that we enjoyed it just as much as you did! There is nothing quite like being able to bring our regular clients in for the evening. We appreciate your compliments toward the “warmth of the staff” and your Fairmont loyalty. We look forward to welcoming more of your executives and board members and hope to have you back for the next client social event.

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2013

It's fall time night and wonderful stay in the hotel.

It's fall time night and wonderful stay in the hotel.

It's fall time night and wonderful stay in the hotel.

It's fall time night and wonderful stay in the hotel.

It's fall time night and wonderful stay in the hotel.

It's fall time night and wonderful stay in the hotel.

It's fall time night and wonderful stay in the hotel.

It's fall time night and wonderful stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayaramu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you very much jayaramu! We’re excited to have our first American Express verified review and appreciate you taking the time to provide it. We’re very glad that you had a wonderful stay and look forward to having you back,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,162 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#8 of 141 in Washington DC
316 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
1,467 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Property: Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Address: 2401 M Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1408 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is pleased to announce that all of our guestrooms are newly renovated as of June 01, 2016. The newly renovated guestrooms, suites and Fairmont Gold experience transform the hotel into the premier luxury destination in the nation's capital by adding contemporary and innovative features important to today's travelers, such as multiple outlets and a multi-functional table with a chaise. We are currently enhancing our public spaces with a redesign of the courtyard and lobby. During this time, we will install temporary walls around the lounge and lobby staircase where an exhibit of "American Icons" will be displayed. We have partnered with the Georgetown gallery, Artist's Proof, to showcase historic and current American celebrities and personalities. We are working to ensure the guest experience is not impacted during your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing