We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Ranked #18 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed at Fairmont Washington on the Gold Floor for 5 nights in October2013.The staff were excellent . In particular Danielle , Maggie , Al and Shannon went out of their way to ensure that we had a superb holiday . The room was very comfortable and quiet. We have stayed in many Fairmont Hotels and once again this was of a very high standard . Many thanks to all at the hotel .

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Traveller2Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you very much Traveller2Uk! We passed your compliments on to Danielle, Maggie, Al and Shannon and they were delighted. Our Fairmont Gold team is amazing and we’re glad that you chose to spend your holiday with them. It sounds like you’re glad you did as well!

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and hope to welcome you back again soon,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,059)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,038 - 2,044 of 3,059 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

This is an excellent hotel. Thanks so much for the champagne and strawberries! Lovely room, excellent and helpful staff, excellent food. We ate a several different places only to find the best food was at the Fairmont

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you kindly Jonathan B! Congratulations on your wedding. We are honored that you chose to spend your honeymoon with us. Our team loves to celebrate with our guests; I suspect they were as excited to make the arrangements as you were to enjoy them.

Our Culinary team thanks you for the compliments toward the food. Our focus is on local, seasonal and sustainable dishes that are good for the environment and our guests—as well as tasty! We’re glad you enjoyed them.

Come back and visit us again in the future. An annual anniversary visit could be fun…

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed at the fairmont for 3 days as it was across the street where our children live -it is a beautiful hotel-quiet-and beautiful. Service was good. Regarding staff I didn't get a warm and fussy feeling or glad you are here -but very cold and professional -which is fine-but I can't say they went out if their way to welcome us.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank libbie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience libbie5! We are glad that you enjoyed the beauty and quiet of the hotel and apologize for the lack of warm and fuzzy. We want every guest to feel welcomed from the moment they enter our front drive to the moment they leave—and beyond! We hope that we will have the opportunity to show you what we can really do on a future visit,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This was a really nice hotel. The staff were all very helpful and went out of their way to help. I could not fault any part of this hotel. The rooms were very comfortable and the amenities were great. An added bonus for me, was the opening windows...I just love to turn off the air con for a while and get fresh air. The food quality at breakfast was very good and the staff are just great.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you very much montob! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself during your stay with us. We agree that opening windows are fantastic. On your next visit, we recommend booking a room with a courtyard view. These rooms have petite balconies that overlook the garden and are an amazing retreat in the center of the city.

Thank you again for taking the time to help future travelers,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We were there for a conference and worked with Wendy and she was amazing! Our rooms were great and the conference went so well thanks to their staff. The staff at the hotel are so genuine and truly love to help make your experience the best it can be. I plan to come back in the spring for the cherry blossoms on a personal trip and I will definitely be staying at the Fairmont then.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Conner E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you kindly Conner E! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience---and your rave Wendy reviews. She is an amazing individual and an absolute asset. Kind, hard-working and personable…what more could we ask for?

We look forward to welcoming you back for Cherry Blossom season,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

When one travels often, the most important thing to me is comfort, and all I can say is the fairmont Washington has become my second home. The staff is incredible, from the doormen to the restaurant staff to the house staff. The front desk staff is the best ANYWHERE in the US--

Room Tip: Check with hotel to clarify room type/preference regarding garden/atrium view verses city/outside vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank W S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you very much W S! What a great review. There are few things we value more than a guest who finds a second home at our hotel.

We appreciate your kind compliments toward our team. They are indeed incredible…easily the best in the US if not the world!

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

All the staff is very helpful, gracious, and competent. They are always eager to help and do so with a positive attitude. They know how to make guests feel welcome. I found the room very comfortable with quality amenities.

Room Tip: The Capital Corner suite is well worth the additional cost. Don't worry about rooms that face t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CherylK77381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you very much CherylK77381! “Helpful, gracious and competent” are great words to describe our team, as are “eager to help” and “positive attitude.” Every word you use is perfectly fitting! We are so proud of our team and appreciate you taking the time to share your praise.

Thank you again for this great review,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
452 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
3,322 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
3,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
1,158 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Address: 2401 M Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1408 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £119 - £421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is pleased to announce that all of our guestrooms are newly renovated as of June 01, 2016. The newly renovated guestrooms, suites and Fairmont Gold experience transform the hotel into the premier luxury destination in the nation's capital by adding contemporary and innovative features important to today's travelers, such as multiple outlets and a multi-functional table with a chaise. We are currently enhancing our public spaces with a redesign of the courtyard and lobby. During this time, we will install temporary walls around the lounge and lobby staircase where an exhibit of "American Icons" will be displayed. We have partnered with the Georgetown gallery, Artist's Proof, to showcase historic and current American celebrities and personalities. We are working to ensure the guest experience is not impacted during your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing