We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay in DC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Ranked #12 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay in DC”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We have never stayed in DC before and decided to give The Fairmont a try based on all the excellent reviews. It did not disappoint! The location was great, easily accessible to the Metro and to Georgetown. The rooms were well-appointed and spacious and the balcony overlooking the courtyard was a nice touch. The pillows the first night were too firm for us, but they promptly and very courteously gave us different ones for the following evening. They even sent up chocolate covered strawberries for my boyfriend's birthday which was very nice! The entire staff seems genuinely happy to be there and are always smiling and friendly. Overall, a great experience - we will definitely be back Fairmont!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the courtyard are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you very much Joanne S! We are glad that you enjoyed your stayed and are delighted that you chose our property based on other travelers’ feedback—we love hearing that! We also love hearing your description of our team. We can vouch for the authenticity—these amazing people really are genuinely happy and always smiling and friendly.

Thank you again. We look forward to your next visit,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,859
    662
    151
    59
    34
See reviews for
720
780
133
802
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Couldn't have imagined a better experience for our wedding. The Colonnade Room is beautiful and the staff is simply amazing. Eric Horovitz, the catering manager, guided us through the entire day and made sure everything was as close to perfect as possible. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you very much Chris S! Congratulations on your wedding. We are honored that you chose to celebrate with us.

Eric Horovitz is absolutely wonderful. He is an amazing asset to our team. We are so glad that you enjoyed working with him and the entire team.

Congratulations again! We encourage you to come back for an anniversary trip,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I was very excited about staying in Georgetown at the Fairmont and based in the price I was paying I was expecting something very nice but the hotel failed to meet my expectations. The room I was staying in on the 10th floor was very tired and in need some work. The hotel was nice and the service at the front desk was great but the food at the restraint was just average. I would recommend that you go to one of the great restaurants in the Georgetown area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PlanoMark33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for the feedback PlanoMark33! We apologize for not being able to exceed your expectations and are grateful for the feedback that will help us improve. We hope to welcome you back in the future to show you all that Fairmont can do,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the DC Fairmont. This is our third stay with them and yet again we were not disappointed. Rooms are roomy and well appointed . I find the hotel always very clean and airy. Staff are exceptional, housekeeping/restaurant/front desk and valet, each one very helpful and professional. Restaurant ( juniper) has a good healthy and interesting menu, lots of choices for " Heart Healthy" as well as being delicious. Overall experience was very good, it all runs a bit expensive, between room, restaurant , bar, ( gotta have the bar! ) and the valet parking but then it is in The Nations Capitol with a perfect location and easy walking to everywhere! I shall hopefully return soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 967Killaloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you kindly 967Killaloe! It sounds like you had a wonderful stay. We love your loyalty and hope to continue to wow you on every visit!

We are truly grateful for your compliments toward our team. They are amazing and deserve the praise—helpful and professional are great descriptions. We are glad that you enjoyed the Heart Healthy options in Juniper. The Lifestyle Cuisine Plus menu is one of our favorite features.

Thank you again. We look forward to welcoming you back,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This is an oldie but goodie...my husband often stays here when he is in town on business, and it is a treat when I can join him. Just checked out today from our most recent stay. Exceptional staff, large rooms, superior amenities. Can't say enough good about this property.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roanokefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you very much Roanokefoodie! We are glad that you enjoyed this “oldie but goodie.” Frequent guests always make us happy and we are very glad that we can be a “treat” for you!

Thank you again. We look forward to your next visit,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed here for a weekend stay . Great location in Georgetown .Rooms very clean and large . Complimentary car service a plus and the gym and pool add to the experience . You are in walking distance to some great restaurants. Would stay here again next time in DC.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFJC32013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for the review AFJC32013! We appreciate the feedback from a TripAdvisor Senior Contributor and are glad that you enjoyed your stay. You are certainly right about being in a great location. All of the city is accessible from the hotel.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This was our first visit to DC and we chose this property because we enjoy the Fairmont brand. We were not disappointed, as staff, room, and amenities were all first rate.

Located two blocks from George Town it gives folks a choice on where to go and for what purpose.

The room was a corner suite and quite lovely, however we discovered that a fire hall was two blocks away, giving us a wake up call on a few occasions. I would request the court yard view on our next visit.
That aside the Fairmont deserves a high recommendation. As does the food and drink!!

Room Tip: Consider asking for a court yard room. The view from our outside suite included two other hotels and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flamesfan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review flamesfan24! We are glad you enjoyed the experience and appreciate your Fairmont loyalty. We’re big brand advocates too!

We love hearing that the staff, room and amenities were all “first rate.” Our team is our greatest asset and we appreciate your compliments toward them. We apologize for the noise disruptions and agree with your idea for a Courtyard room. It’s a wonderful view!

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,125 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,461 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#1 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Property: Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Address: 2401 M Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1408 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is pleased to announce that all of our guestrooms are newly renovated as of June 01, 2016. The newly renovated guestrooms, suites and Fairmont Gold experience transform the hotel into the premier luxury destination in the nation's capital by adding contemporary and innovative features important to today's travelers, such as multiple outlets and a multi-functional table with a chaise. We are currently enhancing our public spaces with a redesign of the courtyard and lobby. During this time, we will install temporary walls around the lounge and lobby staircase where an exhibit of "American Icons" will be displayed. We have partnered with the Georgetown gallery, Artist's Proof, to showcase historic and current American celebrities and personalities. We are working to ensure the guest experience is not impacted during your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing