We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Quality and Polished Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Ranked #16 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The Washington, DC Fairmont is one of my "go to" places when staying in town and rarely disappoints. To be fair, even though I am a President's Club member, I also stay at other hotels including the Park Hyatt (directly across the street and also a very nice hotel), as well as the nearby Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton and others in town, mostly because the hotels, very much including the Fairmont, really manipulate the rates based on whatever is going on in DC (conventions, meetings, political events etc) and at times, can make staying unaffordable if not ridiculous and absurd, even for their best guests. So you are really forced to check the market before booking. That aside, the rooms are lovely and well cared for and the overall facility is well run and first class. The location is within walking distance of Georgetown, is in the safest of neighborhoods, and is also walking distance to great restaurants and bars. You will not go wrong staying here and if not for the wild swing in nightly rates, I'd probably stay all the time. If the rates happen to be absurd, check the Park Hyatt or even the Westin (also across the street) or nearby Marriott, though neither are as groomed or upscale as the Fairmont.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room facing the courtyard. It will be far more quite and is insulated from st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topshelfplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you very much topshelfplease! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are grateful for your Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown loyalty. We love hearing that we are guests’ “go to” hotel in Washington.

We apologize for the rate changes based on availability; it sounds like you really know the D.C. marketplace!

Thank you again for making us your hotel of choice,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,988)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,911 - 1,917 of 2,988 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

The staff and service at the Fairmont in Washington DC was amazing. I am a very picky demanding traveler, and could not find fault with the Fairmont, my new "go to" hotel in DC. The concierge was spot on with his recommendations.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ptravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you very much Ptravelguy! What a wonderful review. We are honored to be your hotel of choice in Washington and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. Nothing like feedback from other guests to help in travel decisions!

We are especially grateful for your compliments toward our staff. Our team is amazing and constantly makes us proud.

We look forward to your next visit,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I thought the staff was very attentive. I loved the ability to 'check in' electronically when I was on my way to DC and was very happy that a room was available earlier than expected. The room service was very speedy, I didn't have to wait forever for my food to arrive, also very reasonable priced. Overall a great visit!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank April E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you very much April E! It sounds like you had a wonderful experience. We appreciate all that you have to share.

We agree that the ability to check-in electronically is very exciting. Speed of check-in and check-out is something we focus on constantly and innovations like this help us in our quest. We are truly grateful for your compliments toward our team. Attentive is an excellent way to describe them!

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Great weekend getaway spot in Washington. Great Staff. Very knowledgeable on the area / events / restaurants etc. Location is great - 5 minutes walk to Foggy Bottom Metro. Close to stopping and dining and easy to hook up with tours. Allow several days for the museums if your into that sort of thing. Monuments, capital building and Whitehouse are well worth seeing too. Had a great time. Would definitely go back and would stay again at the Fairmont.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Golfandcurling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you Golfandcurling! We appreciate your compliments and are glad that you enjoyed your weekend getaway. Washington is a great spot to explore and it sounds like you did a wonderful job of taking advantage of that.

Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I have stayed at the Fairmont DC half a dozen times for business and twice now for pleasure. Everything about the hotel is top rate--the staff, the the service, the rooms, the food and the public areas--and I will come back again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NewYorker1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you very much NewYorker1000! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are delighted by your Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown loyalty. Music to our ears!

We are grateful for your “top rate” review and honored to be one of your “all-time favorite hotels.” Thank you again. We look forward to your next visit,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I returned to the hotel (Gold Floor) when I had to return to DC. This visit was again outstanding. One factor is the quality of the room and the Gold Lounge, but another factor is a staff that is accommodating, friendly (but not overly so), and efficient. I wish I could transfer the quality of this product to other hotels.

Aside from comfortable accommodations (the bedding is perfect; the design and amenities of the room make the room exceedingly comfortable) and a well-trained staff, the hotel has an optimal location (between Dupont Circle and Georgetown). I know there are other hotels in the city, but as they say "the devil you know is better than the devil you don't know." I know I'll receive superior service and comfortable lodging at the Fairmont so why take a chance somewhere else.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, the Gold Floor is worth the cost. If not, you might ask for a room facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAKlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you very much RAKlein! What an excellent review. We love hearing that you wish you could “transfer the quality of this product to other hotels.” That’s quite a compliment!

Fairmont Gold is a product we are very proud of. The team on our Gold level are some of the best in the industry and they impress us each and every day. We appreciate your ringing endorsement and urge others to listen—Fairmont Gold is definitely worth a try!

Thank you again. We hope to see you back soon,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The hotel was located close to the metro and very comfortable. The staff did a great job. I had made a mistake in my on-line reservation, and the manager promptly set it all straight for me. Everyone down to the bell hop, was efficient and professional. Great value. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank restlesspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you for the five star review restlesspirit! We are glad to hear that you had an “excellent stay” and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with future travelers. It sounds like you had a wonderful time!

Thank you again for your compliments toward our team. They are amazing and deserve the praise. We look forward to welcoming you back,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,136 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#12 of 142 in Washington DC
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,219 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,246 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#8 of 142 in Washington DC
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Address: 2401 M Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1408 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £149 - £564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is pleased to announce that all of our guestrooms are newly renovated as of June 01, 2016. The newly renovated guestrooms, suites and Fairmont Gold experience transform the hotel into the premier luxury destination in the nation's capital by adding contemporary and innovative features important to today's travelers, such as multiple outlets and a multi-functional table with a chaise. We are currently enhancing our public spaces with a redesign of the courtyard and lobby. During this time, we will install temporary walls around the lounge and lobby staircase where an exhibit of "American Icons" will be displayed. We have partnered with the Georgetown gallery, Artist's Proof, to showcase historic and current American celebrities and personalities. We are working to ensure the guest experience is not impacted during your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing