We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our family visit to the White House” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Ranked #13 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our family visit to the White House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

From the moment we pulled up to check-in until the time we checked out, the staff was professional and committed to excellent service.The Fairmont truly enhanced our Washington DC experience. Our rooms were well-appointed and attention to detail was obvious. We have stayed at many Fairmonts, from Bermuda to Hawaii,and we have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ppotter1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you very much ppotter1953! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and love that you started the visit with high expectations due to past Fairmont experiences. We’re also glad that we exceeded those expectations!

We are grateful for your compliments toward our team—they are indeed professional and committed to excellent service and quite worthy of the recognition.

Thank you again and we hope to have you and your family back again soon,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,815
    645
    147
    59
    33
See reviews for
703
763
132
780
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

The staff at the Fairmont were extraordinarily attentive and keen to assist. We were always greeted with the warmest of welcomes by one of the doormen, Omar, who took a real interest in us (including our young son) and did everything he possibly could to assist us whenever we were coming or going. He epitomizes the very best in service (as well as being an extremely kind person) and the Fairmont should be extremely proud to have him on its team.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Guest416Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you very much Guest416Toronto! What a wonderful review. We are so pleased to hear that Omar made such an impact on you. We couldn’t agree more---he absolutely epitomizes the very best in service and we are very lucky to have him. He makes us proud each and every day.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and have shared the compliments with our entire team. Omar deserves recognition from all levels.

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Have stayed in a Fairmont before in Banff but the customer service in this hotel was simply outstanding. From the minute we arrived to leaving every member of staff could not have been more helpful. It was our first trip to Washington so used the concierge service frequently. They booked a restaurant for us for New Year's Eve, located a lost bag just did everything to make our stay perfect. The hotel is ideally situated for the metro at Foggy Bottom, we walked to a lot of the attractions. The wifi is free in the hotel as long as you sign up to the Fairmont Club this was great for us as there were very few bars or restaurants that offered free wifi something we get a lot in the UK. We didn't got a chance to see all the museums so we will be back and will definitely be staying at the Fairmont. Thanks for making our holiday a fantastic one.

Room Tip: 8th floor away from lifts so nice and quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: Good policies had a separate bin in the room for recycling.
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elin208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you kindly Elin208! We appreciate your five star review and are grateful that you took the time to share your experience with future travelers. There’s no better guidance in making travel decisions than the input from previous guests!

We love hearing your compliments toward our team. They are indeed helpful and intent on doing everything they can to make guests’ stays perfect. We’re glad to hear that they were able to do that for you!

We’re also glad to hear that you will be back to visit the museums and stay with us again. We look forward to having you,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Took the family to Washington for New Years. Great time of year to go. The hotel wasn't busy but the staff were in top form! I contacted the hotel with a question before we booked and they were extremely helpful. I emailed the concierge before we arrived to arrange New Year's Eve dinner for the family, he had great recommendations and took care of reservations. Everyone we interacted with from the moment we stepped out of our car was friendly, well informed and helpful.

The hotel itself is decent high end business. We upgraded to a suite with a connecting room. The connecting room had clearly been more recently freshened up, but the suite wasn't bad, just starting to look slightly tired around the edges.

I tend to favour Fairmont when I travel and not only did they live up to what I have come to expect, but they went beyond at every step. We'll go back for sure!

Room Tip: During the holidays, get a room facing the courtyard. They have thousands of white Christmas lights...
See more room tips
Green Features: Standard for hotels in this class. They'll clean towels only when you want, etc.
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you very much Andrew M! We appreciate this rave review and are honored that you chose to spend New Years with us.

We love hearing your compliments toward our team and couldn’t be more grateful for you taking the time to do so. The team we work with is amazing and we can’t say enough good things about them. It sounds like you think the same!

Thank you again; we look forward to your next visit,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

This was my first stay at this property and always have high expectations for a Fairmont experience. They did not disappoint. Good location for walking to sight seeing locations and staff were fantastic. Lots of hotel choices in the area, but I will choose the this hotel again when I return. Great meeting rooms and services.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you very much Mike D! There are few things we like hearing more than a guest arriving with high expectations due to previous Fairmont experiences—and us being able to exceed them. Thank you for letting us know!

You are absolutely right about the location. It is ideal for taking in all parts of the city. You are also very right about our team. They are an amazing group of individuals and we love hearing them praised.

Thank you again. We look forward to your next visit,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We chose the Fairmont for our recent wedding. They did not disappoint. The Colonnade Room was a beautiful venue for the ceremony and reception. Eric, Catering Manager was a joy to work with from start to finish, accommodating every request. Food and beverage were fabulous thanks to the Chef and Banquet Manager. Fairmont staff from General Manager to front desk were friendly and professional. Many of our guests took advantage of discounted room rates and also enjoyed a nice weekend in DC. Highly recommend for special events!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PieJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you very much PieJean! We are honored that you chose to celebrate your wedding with us and appreciate you sharing the experience. It sounds like it was quite a weekend!

Eric is an amazing asset to our team and we couldn’t be luckier to have him. He goes above and beyond in all aspects of his job and has a true love for creating lifetime memories for his guests. We appreciate you noting this in your review. We also appreciate your compliments toward the rest of our team—from the Chef and Banquet Manager to the members of our Front Desk team, each person who works at the Fairmont is dedicated to providing a wonderful stay.

Thank you again. Congratulations on your marriage—and be sure to get in touch with Eric to plan an anniversary stay next year!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at The Fairmont Washington DC in November 2013. I had to go to Virginia for a funeral, and since my husband had never been to DC and had always wanted to go (and it had been 14 years since I'd been), we decided to extend our trip and drive up to DC after the services.

Not knowing the DC hotels, I used Priceline to book. I targeted specific areas and star ratings. While I had to increase my price and keep extending my area to get a hotel without changing my star rating, we finally landed on the Fairmont. I was very nervous as I had not hear of it before, and we regularly stay at very nice resorts.

When we walked into The Fairmont, we were immediately wowed! We were greeted in the lobby and taken over to the desk to check in. We have different last names and they asked if we wanted 2 beds (haha). The front desk staff worked their magic and put us on the 10th floor in a king room. We went up to our room and our luggage arrived less than five minutes later. We freshened up and headed to the bar for a drink.

We were immediately attended to in the bar area, and there was a pianist playing. The service was outstanding. We headed to dinner in the restaurant, but went back to the bar afterwards for a night cap. Everyone there was so friendly! We were very tired, so we headed back to our room after our drinks.

Over the next few days, we spent time sight-seeing and coming back at night to get ready and pick a place for dinner. We frequently ended up at the bar. :) Jawad actually walked me to the ladies' room rather than just pointing me towards it the second night because I didn't know where it was. Amazing service. The drinks were incredible and the company even better! Jawad and the rest of the bar staff greeted us by name in the evenings. We looked forward to seeing them at night! One evening, we wanted to have dinner in the bar and they arranged to have some items brought to us off the regular bar menu (from room service). I don't think I heard "we can't" or "no" from the staff!

We were having such a great time there that we actually extended our trip there by 3 nights! My 40th birthday is in April, and my husband asked if I wanted to go back to DC for my birthday. I immediately said yes! We toyed with the idea of trying another hotel, but since The Fairmont had a huge impact on our experience, we nixed that idea pretty quickly. Instead of risking Priceline again, we signed up for The Fairmont's President's Club now and already booked our room! We will be there for 6 nights in April and we are looking forward to it already. :)

Room Tip: We had a standard room and it was great. We overlooked the courtyard and enjoyed the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyWharton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you very much AmyWharton! What a great experience. We are so glad that you took the time to share it with us and your fellow travelers.

The people on our team tend to be what makes a Fairmont experience and it sounds like you noticed that immediately. The front desk is excellent at working their magic and Jawad and the rest of the bar staff are some of the most welcoming people you can encounter after a day exploring. It’s rare that a guest spends any time being served by Jawad without being wowed. Not everyone books an immediate return visit though!

Thank you again for sharing this. We look forward to welcoming you back for your birthday visit,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,146 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Property: Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Address: 2401 M Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is pleased to announce that all of our guestrooms are newly renovated as of June 01, 2016. The newly renovated guestrooms, suites and Fairmont Gold experience transform the hotel into the premier luxury destination in the nation's capital by adding contemporary and innovative features important to today's travelers, such as multiple outlets and a multi-functional table with a chaise. We are currently enhancing our public spaces with a redesign of the courtyard and lobby. During this time, we will install temporary walls around the lounge and lobby staircase where an exhibit of "American Icons" will be displayed. We have partnered with the Georgetown gallery, Artist's Proof, to showcase historic and current American celebrities and personalities. We are working to ensure the guest experience is not impacted during your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing