We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Stay at the Fairmont Hotel in Washington DC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Ranked #14 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“My Stay at the Fairmont Hotel in Washington DC”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I love the Fairmont- my room was clean, the staff was helpful, the gym needs an upgrade but convenient and clean, and the yoga class was terrific. The rate was fair and i asked and received a late check out-

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you very much Lauren W! We appreciate the 5-star review and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We also appreciate your compliments toward our team and property. Certainly important elements of a good hotel stay!

Thank you again. We hope to have the opportunity to host you in the future,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,919
    678
    156
    62
    35
See reviews for
745
801
138
831
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My husband and I spent two nights here in a Capital Corner Suite. The room was very spacious and comfortable even though we found the mattress to be a little too soft for our liking. There was a Keurig coffee machine and an electric pot for boiling water for tea, which was an added convenience. It would have been nice to have a microwave in the room too just to reheat our beverages. The hotel is conveniently located just a few blocks from the shops and restaurants of Georgetown. You do need to take a taxi to visit most of the monuments. The staff were extremely friendly and polite and we were always greeted when entering and leaving the hotel or passing a staff member in the lobby. The concierge, Rob, was very helpful in making a change to a dinner reservation when I was unable to do so directly with the restaurant. Our bellman was also very kind in going back to our car to retrieve a bag we forgot to bring in when we arrived. The lobby bar has a lovely view of the courtyard and is a nice place to sit and enjoy a cocktail or just relax and read the newspaper. The piano music on Saturday afternoon was an added bonus. Our server was very pleasant and efficient. We will definitely stay at the Fairmont again the next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for the 5-star review Claudia I! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your weekend stay and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. It’s always so helpful to other travelers!

We are very grateful for your praise of our team, including Rob, the bellman and your server. Our team is our greatest asset and we are proud of all they do. We love hearing guests feel the same way!

Thank you again. We look forward to your next visit,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My friend and I stayed at this hotel in D.C. to attend a 3-day Conference there. The front desk had friendly and helpful staff and we were able to check-in fast. The hotel lobby has very pretty interiors and white French doors where you could see the courtyard garden with colorful blooms. The conference venue in the lower ground floor was spacious and very quiet not being on the ground floor. We had our breakfasts, lunch and dinners at the Colonnade at the inner part of the ground floor overlooking the garden-- fabulous but a bit small for our party of more than 200 persons. Food was simple and far from the variety of choices we had in The Fairmont Monaco and The Fairmont Singapore, where previous conferences were held. However we noticed that the staff at the restaurant were quite slow in responding to requests from the diners. Location is good, being in the trendy Georgetown area and walking distance to the White House. Inspite of our busy stay, we were able to squeeze in visits to nearby World Bank, White House and Lincoln Center.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you very much Evelyn147! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We’re glad that you were able to make the most of DC even with your busy conference schedule!

We are grateful for your compliments toward our team and appreciate you recognizing them for the amazing individuals they are. We do apologize for any slowness in response to dining requests. We value that feedback and will use it to improve.

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The Fairmont hotel it absolutely beautiful, we stayed for a week and were thoroughly impressed. The rooms are incredibly spacious and the bathroom was great, really clean and modern. It has a beautiful outside courtyard that's lit up at night. The staff were all friendly and polite, especially the concierge desk. After a bad experience in a local restaurant the hotel even gave us a complimentary drink at the bar to make up for it, despite it being nothing to do with them! It could only be made better by offering free WiFi to guests!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enyalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you kindly enyalie! We appreciate your review and love hearing that you were “thoroughly impressed.” It sounds like our team was instrumental in making your stay memorable and we are grateful that you took the time to recognize them. They are without a doubt what makes this hotel special.

Before your next visit, we encourage you to sign up for Fairmont President’s Club. It’s a complimentary guest recognition program that grants free Internet access at Fairmont properties around the world. It also allows us to record your stay preferences so that we can better serve you.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Loved the hotel, especially the inner courtyard which is lit up beautifully at night, with little twinkling lights. The rooms that face the interior are a bit quieter, and overlook this view. Found the rooms to be very nice, very spacious. Loved the meal I had in the dining room, great feel to the place, very romantic and candle lit. The was great for Georgetown, right around the corner! Also right across the street from the train stop. A little far from major attractions, but a reasonable distance by cab.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpjotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you very much mpjotraveler! We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself during your stay and appreciate you sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. It looks like you are an avid traveler and we are excited to have our expert opinion.

You are absolutely right about the inner courtyard. It is beautiful in all seasons and provides a great view for the interior-facing rooms. We hope it also contributed to your romantic dinner in Juniper!

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We hope to welcome you back soon,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Service was excellent, room was spacious and comfortable and the location was great. The place is classy. My only negative comment is the "gym" is very weak - treadmill and some dumb bells. You can pay extra and go to the health club next door but I chose not to do that. Otherwise I highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Bruce: Thank you for the nice comments about Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. You might be interested in joining our Fairmont Presidents Club. It's free, and if you do become a member, Balance Gym is also free. Please come and visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Nice lobby and entrance. Felt a little put off by the sales staff when inquiring about some rates. Over all staff though was nice. Good gym and indoor pool :) and that's hard to find in the city. Indoor pool I mean

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank blueh2ogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed our location and the indoor pool during your visit. Please come back and visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,162 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#8 of 141 in Washington DC
316 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
1,467 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Property: Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Address: 2401 M Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1408 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is pleased to announce that all of our guestrooms are newly renovated as of June 01, 2016. The newly renovated guestrooms, suites and Fairmont Gold experience transform the hotel into the premier luxury destination in the nation's capital by adding contemporary and innovative features important to today's travelers, such as multiple outlets and a multi-functional table with a chaise. We are currently enhancing our public spaces with a redesign of the courtyard and lobby. During this time, we will install temporary walls around the lounge and lobby staircase where an exhibit of "American Icons" will be displayed. We have partnered with the Georgetown gallery, Artist's Proof, to showcase historic and current American celebrities and personalities. We are working to ensure the guest experience is not impacted during your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing