We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairmont Always Delivers!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Ranked #14 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 March 2014

From check in to check out, it's always a pleasant experience at a Fairmont. The room was large and very comfortable. The complimentary internet, because I am a President's Club Member, was a welcome perk I look forward to each time I stay at a Fairmont property. It was nice having an ice machine right on the floor also, as well as having complimentary bottled water in the room. The food was delicious in the dining room both times I ate there, with the most exclusive menu I have seen---as far as accommodating unusual diets---like Raw, Macrobiotic, Gluten Free, and even something for the Pooch! The Fairmont will even provide you with workout clothes if you need them, although, I never seem to have the time to take advantage of this. Overall, the property is elegant, run well, and I enjoy coming here each year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank drritarae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you kindly drritarae! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are grateful for your Fairmont loyalty. We hope that your expectations are continuously exceeded.

Our Lifestyle Cuisine Plus menu is one of our favorite features. Fairmont is devoted to enhancing guest wellness and being able to cater to custom diets is an important aspect of that. As is having workout clothes available and free gym access for Fairmont President’s Club members!

Thank you again. We look forward to your next visit,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,951 - 1,957 of 3,117 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the this hotel for the weekend, we drove from New York and we could not have picked a better weekend, it was the only oasis of warm weather in February. The hotel's location couldn't be better, walking distance to the Lincoln Memorial and the bars/restaurants in Georgetown.

We thought the parking fee charged by the hotel was a little pricey, so opted out, but we were lucky, we found a free street parking spot from Friday night until Sunday evening, you just have to be careful reading the parking rule signs.

We used the hotel's gym, it was very spacious compared to the only other Fairmont hotel I have been (The Princess in Bermuda), they even had a group class going on. Everyone at the hotel was very friendly and attentive. Sunday's buffet brunch at Juniper was amazing I ate like there was no tomorrow, good thing that we walked and walked all over that weekend.

Room Tip: Roooms... choose courtyard view over street view is possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LoopyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you very much LoopyD! It sounds like you and your boyfriend had a wonderful weekend and we are honored to have had the opportunity to host it.

Your feedback about the location is spot-on. Washington is a very walkable city and our location enables visitors to take advantage of all of our unique neighborhoods. It certainly seems like you took advantage of that!

Our gym is one of our favorite features and we are glad that you had the time to use it. From having a CrossFit box to offering daily Spin classes, it is like no other hotel gym we know of!

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I've just returned from a 3 night stay at the Washington Fairmont and I wasn't disapointed! I'd read the reviews prior to booking and chose the Fairmont over the Omni on these reviews. It's in a great location for walking into the georgetown district (about 10 minutes along M street) and if you walk along 10/15 minutes in the other direction through Wshington circle you can catch the metro train in the Foggy Bottom area of DC. The hotel is as you'd expect from the Fairmont brand. The rooms are well equipped with everything you might need, and if its not you can just ask. We were staying in a standard double (2 queen beds) and were offered an upgrade on checking in for $50 a night extra for a courtyard view. As this was our first trip to DC we declined as we were not going to spend our time here in the room. The bathroom was big and supplied you with robes and all the little toiletries my wife loves! The bath had a shower in it and the head was really big and powerfull. We didn't eat in the restaurant but it looked really nice and the prices were as you'd expect in an up market hotel. We joined the Fairmont presidents club before we left for DC and this gave us free wi fi in the room and 2 morning newspapers! All the staff we spoke to were very friendly and keen to answer any questions we had about the area or any transport needs. We loved DC and would go back and would choose the Fairmont again. Thanks for looking after us

Room Tip: All rooms are well equipped, ask for a high room away from lift. There is some street noise from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SportsnutSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you very much SportsnutSwansea! We love hearing that you chose the Fairmont based on online reviews and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. There is no better source of information than the word of other travelers.

It sounds like you and your wife had an excellent time in DC and took advantage of all the city has to offer. You were very wise to sign up for Fairmont President’s Club before arrival—we recommend that all guests do this. It comes with great perks!

We especially appreciate your compliments toward our team. They are amazing individuals and we are grateful to work with them.

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The rooms are amazing -- big comfy King size beds, plenty of pillows, a personal Keurig coffee maker, wifi/wired internet. The bathrooms are roomy and the shower heads are great. Fantastic accommodations overall.

However, the hotel lacks ANY reasonable food options. Even sitting out in a roomful of strangers and eating on a coffee table in the hotel lobby is an exorbitant financial experience. One cannot even get a burger, fries and a soft drink for under $26 plus tax and tip.

I was also turned off to find that the pool they advertise on their website is a PAY PER DAY pool that actually belongs to a gym who shares the building.

I'll likely stay here again because of the location, but I'll be very thankful that it'll be on business so I'm not paying!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you kindly Victoria P! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are glad that you enjoyed the room. We apologize for any miscommunication. The pool is indeed located in Balance Gym, an outside gym company located on the hotel’s Mezzanine level. Access to Balance Gym and the pool is free for all Fairmont President’s Club members. We are very sorry for not properly communicating this and appreciate your feedback so that we can improve.

Thank you again. We look forward to your next visit,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We spent the weekend at the Fairmont in DC (really it's in Georgetown). We booked a king room on the gold floor. They served a full breakfast up there every morning, which was full of very fresh fruit, homemade bakery items, as well as some other great choices; it was great. My only minor disappointment was the fact that they don't even offer a two hour free happy hour on that floor as most hotels do; although they do have beer and wine, you do pay for it. But, other than that, the bed was wonderful, the pillows were great, our room overlooked a gorgeous courtyard and the shower head is the best I've ever had at any hotel!
The staff was super friendly and willing to help with anything; right down to pouring you a cup of coffee when you go for one. I loved being able to walk to downtown Georgetown to eat and window shop, just a couple of blocks away.
Overall, a fantastic location, hotel and staff.

Room Tip: Overlooking the courtyard is best. If you can splurge for the gold floor, do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DHancock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you very much DHancock! We are grateful for your Amex verified review and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. It looks like you are very well traveled and have an excellent base from which to provide feedback.

Fairmont Gold is an incredible option and we appreciate your endorsement. Amenities like private check-in and check-out, complimentary breakfast and an exclusive lounge are great; however, what really sets the Gold floor apart is the Fairmont Gold team. They are extremely dedicated to the art of hospitality and we could not be prouder of them.

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I'm a huge fan of the Fairmont brand, but found the Washington outpost a bit disappointing, although it was nice on the whole.

Location: The Fairmont DC is located just off M Street within walking distance of Georgetown. The street itself is drab with nothing but the Park Hyatt across the street to look at. However, it's about half a mile to the White House and a bit further to the sights on the Mall.

Room: We were upgraded to a 700 sf corner suite which was...OK. It had a long corridor leading into a small sitting area and then separated from the bedroom space by the TV island. The furnishings were nice and modern, but not wow-inspiring. I would have appreciated having the sitting space and the bedroom space separated by a door as opposed to the more open floor plan.

Bathroom: For the size of the suite, the bathroom was quite small. It was done in marble, which was nice. The tub, though, was a disappointment. Comically small and of the chipped porcelain variety you have in your first apartment.

Gym: There are two gyms: the 24 hour gym and the Balance Gym. The Balance Gym is open to Presidents Club members and Gold Floor guests and is an independent gym that Fairmont guests have access to. To be honest, neither of the gyms knocked my socks off. The Balance Gym did have a nice range of weight and cardio machines (more than say at the Fairmont Copley), and also had a small lap pool, a jacuzzi, steam room, and sauna. These elements had a more utilitarian rather than spa-like atmosphere, though, and the machines were a bit dated. I walked into the 24 hour gym for guests and walked right out. It has a handful of modern cardio machines, but looked and felt like a dungeon.

Service: The service was OK. We didn't get evening turndown service until we called down and informed the desk.

Food: This was the big disappointment. The Market Brunch was amazing--a beautiful array of pastries, seafood, and hot entrees plus an a la carte entree and bottomless mimosas. Service here was outstanding. However, the snacks we had in the lounge were very subpar by any standard. We ordered a February special--melted chocolate in a white tub with various dipping things (strawberries, cookies, etc.) The cookies were stale and the chocolate had separated out into oil and a mushy brown mess. Not a good look at all.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandaPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you very much for the review PandaPal! It looks like you are very well traveled and a helpful reviewer on TripAdvisor; your feedback is very valuable to us.

We apologize for any disappointments you experienced during your stay. Our goal is to exceed the expectations of all of our guests and we regret not being able to do this for you. However, we are grateful that you took the time to share your experience and give us the opportunity to improve.

We appreciate your Fairmont loyalty and hope to welcome you back in the future,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This hotel is very nice and a good option in this part of DC. The wifi available in the hotel is really terrible, and I'll definitely think twice about choosing The Fairmont if I'm traveling on business.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank monkeyajb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for the review monkeyajb! We appreciate the 4-star feedback and apologize for any inconveniences you experienced with the Internet. Our Director of IT is looking into the situation and I can assure you it will be resolved as quickly as possible. For us, quality Internet access is just as important as a comfortable bed or a warm shower—it’s something required to make the stay. We are generally able to accomplish this and are sincerely sorry for any glitch that interfered with your stay.

Thank you again for the feedback. It is invaluable to us,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,419 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#43 of 141 in Washington DC
516 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
3,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#8 of 141 in Washington DC
1,752 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 141 in Washington DC
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Address: 2401 M Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1408 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £128 - £406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is pleased to announce that all of our guestrooms are newly renovated as of June 01, 2016. The newly renovated guestrooms, suites and Fairmont Gold experience transform the hotel into the premier luxury destination in the nation's capital by adding contemporary and innovative features important to today's travelers, such as multiple outlets and a multi-functional table with a chaise. We are currently enhancing our public spaces with a redesign of the courtyard and lobby. During this time, we will install temporary walls around the lounge and lobby staircase where an exhibit of "American Icons" will be displayed. We have partnered with the Georgetown gallery, Artist's Proof, to showcase historic and current American celebrities and personalities. We are working to ensure the guest experience is not impacted during your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing