We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection !!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Ranked #13 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Colts Neck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
195 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Perfection !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

So I had a senior moment & screwed up my reservation; when I attempted to check in the hotel realized I screwed upnand went in too high gear to correct the problem... Thank-you Kamal at the front desk for being amazing; people like Kamal is why Fairmont is a 5 star hotel chain; they care !!! The hotel & staff are amazing; treat yourself when in DC to a great hotel with a perfect location...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetoeat5935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you very much lovetoeat5935! Kamal is indeed an excellent 5-star service champion and we are grateful to have him on our team. It sounds like he was quite helpful to you!

Your TripAdvisor profile shows that you are an experienced traveler, so your 5-star review carries quite a bit of weight. The feedback is much appreciated!

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,816
    645
    148
    59
    33
See reviews for
703
763
132
782
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

The property is very nice and geared towards a sophisticated guest. I prefer that this sophistication be coupled with a slightly more relaxed atmosphere. The staff were all friendly, yet a bit stuffy. Sunday brunch was way overpriced for standard buffet. There are not enough casual dining options at the hotel or even nearby. This may seem silly, but I was particularly annoyed by the placement of the in room coffee maker. To make a cup, required pulling the sliding shelf out all the way and then having my husband pick up the coffee maker to pull it far enough away from the cabinetry to fill it with water. Beds were also too soft for our taste. We still enjoyed the trip very much, but would likely chose a different hotel in the future.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for the review B B! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and apologize for not being able to exceed your expectations.

We hope that you choose to give us another chance in the future and we can show you what we are really capable of.

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

I recently stayed at the Fairmont with my husband for my birthday and we loved it!
From our arrival until our departure, the experience was amazing. The staff was so friendly and very professional. A special thanks to the Fairmont staff at the gold floor! (Katy, Nora, Cheikh, Nibi )

The location of the hotel is very convenient and central. we had dinner at Juniper with a friend and it was delicious. The bedroom was well design with warm and luxurious feeling.
I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malou M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you kindly Malou M M! We are honored to be your first TripAdvisor review and grateful to have been your hotel of choice for your birthday. It sounds like you had a great trip!

Recognizing our team by name is a great compliment to us and them. We love hearing how our team has touched our guests, fulfilling our brand promise of turning moments into memories.

Thank you so much for sharing,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

All aspects of my stay at this hotel except the breakfast service were fine, as I would expect for the room price. My disappointment derived from the hotel's failure to deliver breakfast to my room. I had ordered breakfast the night before; it was not delivered at the time I had indicated; after waiting 10 minutes, I called to see when it would be coming and was told they would look into it; after another 10 minutes, still no response; I called again to cancel my order as I had a meeting to attend and could not wait any longer. I had a long and busy day ahead of me so missing breakfast made for a very bad start. I regard this as very poor service for such a hotel. I would stay again only if I have to.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 20Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for the review 20Ian. We apologize for not being able to exceed your expectations. We are absolutely in the wrong in this situation and extend our deepest apologies.

If you visit DC in the future, we would love for you to give us another chance so that we can show you what a Fairmont team is truly capable of.

Thank you for the feedback,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

I stay here once or twice a year for a conference, and this hotel is always great. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable, as is the whole building. The lobby and lounge areas are full of light and there is clean comfortable seating all over. One thing I have noticed over the last few years of staying here is that the staff in all areas of the hotel is phenomenal. The wait staff are unbeatable - they must not have much turnover because I've had some of the same waiters and bartenders at conference events for a few years and they are funny, polite, completely attentive, and always friendly. The hotel is convenient to a lot of great dining options as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alexis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you kindly Alexis H! We are honored to be your favorite conference hotel and appreciate your continued loyalty. We hope your conference continues for many years!

You are absolutely right about the low turnover rates. Some members of our team have been here for 25+ years! We love celebrating their service commitment.

Thank you again,
Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Clean, quiet room. Excellent and professional staff. Bar food was great. Room service was great. Literally nothing went wrong. Very much liked the ability to open the small balcony door and get fresh air.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank iwmacswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you kindly sophub! It is wonderful to hear that you would recommend our hotel to everyone. That is quite a compliment.

We are honored that you chose the Fairmont for your weekend retreat and couldn’t be happier with your experience. You are absolutely right about the location and quality of the food. We apologize for the cost of parking—one of the downsides to the excellent location that hotels in this area enjoy is the premium for parking spaces. For your next visit, we encourage you to look at our “Eat, Park and Go” offer which includes complimentary breakfast and parking.

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DH
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

I spent a week at this hotel while attending business at DC... My stay was unforgettable... The location of the hotel is very convenient and central... The design and decor of the hotel gives you this warm and luxurious feeling... The lobby is my favorite place... Dining at the lounge is a must... Staff are very friendly, especially the lounge bartender (Jaouad)... The only negative aspect was the small and clumsy gym located at the basement... I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bu_motaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you very much bu_motaz! It sounds like you did indeed have a very pleasant stay and we couldn’t be happier.

We especially appreciate your compliments toward our team and are grateful to you for noting their excellence. Jaouad and our team amaze us each and every day.

Our apologies for your disappointment with the gym. It sounds like you were in the 24-hour fitness center on the Ballroom level. Before your next visit, we encourage you to sign up for Fairmont President’s Club. It grants you complimentary access to the amazing Balance Gym on our Mezzanine level.

Thank you for your review. We look forward to your next visit!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#63 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,159 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Property: Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Address: 2401 M Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is pleased to announce that all of our guestrooms are newly renovated as of June 01, 2016. The newly renovated guestrooms, suites and Fairmont Gold experience transform the hotel into the premier luxury destination in the nation's capital by adding contemporary and innovative features important to today's travelers, such as multiple outlets and a multi-functional table with a chaise. We are currently enhancing our public spaces with a redesign of the courtyard and lobby. During this time, we will install temporary walls around the lounge and lobby staircase where an exhibit of "American Icons" will be displayed. We have partnered with the Georgetown gallery, Artist's Proof, to showcase historic and current American celebrities and personalities. We are working to ensure the guest experience is not impacted during your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing