We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good DC hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Ranked #18 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed here for three nights. The room was great, it was about a 10 min walk to the Foggy Bottom Metro station, the staff were very friendly. It would have been 5 stars if breakfast was included. Not a lot of food options around the hotel but several within a short walk. Overall we liked it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you very much Larry J! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are glad that you enjoyed your time with us. It sounds like you had a wonderful three nights.

We are most grateful for your compliments toward our team. They truly are amazing and near fail to impress us. It sounds like they had the same effect on you!

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,062)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,850 - 1,856 of 3,062 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

The hotel is okay. Most of the staff was excellent and accommodating. However, management fails them by not accurately providing information about the property. I booked this hotel specifically because Tripadvisor (and other travel guides) stated that it had a family friendly pool. This is 100% NOT true. The pool is now (for one year) a part of a separate health club. This means that family swim is for two hours in the late morning and two hours in late afternoon. Of course, these family swim times are also exactly the times that a family would be going to monuments and museums, so not helpful. At other times (and even during "family" swim time), the pool is overrun with health club members swimming laps. Very disappointing to me and my son. The limited family pool hours are NOT listed on the hotel website (I double checked). Had the hotel done so, I would have booked elsewhere. (to be clear - the pool is fine for lap swimming adults)

The hotel is under construction. Does management mention this on their website? No. Had they done so (as many other hotels do, in my experience), I would have booked elsewhere. Instead, I learned on check in that the courtyard was closed and that other construction was occurring.

The hotel has a car for members of Presidents Club. That is very cool. We used it and it was nice. But, then we were informed that this service does not exist on Sunday and Monday because it "is the driver's day off." This is preposterous. Is the hotel open 7 days? Then the service should be available 7 days. Hire a second driver. Or, close the hotel if staffing not available. But then we saw other guests being provided car service, so it turns out that some guests could have it, if they asked the right staff person. The lack of accurate information started with the website and continued through the car service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank COtraveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for the review COtraveler09. We apologize for any hardships you endured and appreciate you sharing your feedback. This is always helpful to us as we strive to improve and your notes about the website are very useful.

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and hope that you and your family enjoyed your time in Washington,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The staff went overboard to get us an upgraded room on very busy day in DC
The pool was closed for the day and the staff found another pool along w/Fairmont car to take us there. Bed was so comfortable

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you very much Cheryl W! We are glad that you had a great stay and appreciate you taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor.

It sounds like our team was able to take very good care of you and we couldn’t be prouder. Our team impresses us each and every day.

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Excellent hotel. Easy check in and out. Genuinely friendly, attentive staff. Excellent food. The rooms were very comfortable and good amenities for business. A truly great experience. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you kindly Stephanie D! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are honored to be your first TripAdvisor review. It sounds like you had a wonderful stay!

Your description of our team is spot-on. They are indeed friendly and attentive. We couldn’t be luckier to have them. And we are grateful that you noticed!

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed at the Fairmont Washington DC recently. We had a wonderful experience! The staff couldn't have been nicer and so helpful in planning our day and getting us reservations for our preferred restaurants. It's a beautiful hotel and we love the comfortable beds and choice of pillows. We took a short taxi ride to museums and monuments and walked to dinner and shopping, great location. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We stayed on the Gold Floor, costs a little more but so worth it. The free breakfast and evening ap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you very much Carol V! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are honored to be your first TripAdvisor review.

We are so grateful for your compliments toward our team. They could not be any more amazing and we love hearing guests sing their praises. We also appreciate your compliments toward our property—and completely agree: the beds are very comfortable!

We look forward to your next visit,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Stayed here twice, in March 2014 and in May 2013. Preferred it to other hotels nearby (Westin, Melrose). Good location, walking distance to Georgetown and Dupont Circle and $10 cab ride to downtown. Very professional staff. Rooms are a reasonable size for a couple or a single traveller, with comfortable beds and good-quality linens, though starting to look a little tired. Good-quality toiletries provided too. You have to call and ask for slippers or extra blankets to be brought up, but this is done promptly. It is worth joining the "Fairmont President's Club" loyalty programme to get free wi-fi in the room and access to the sauna, pool and gym classes (I took a yoga class early one morning and it was good). The only downside is the restaurant - not only is it very overpriced, but the quality of the food was very disappointing both times we ate there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank well-travelled_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you very much well-travelled_me! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and love hearing that you prefer us to other area hotels. It’s an honor!

Your suggestion to join Fairmont President’s Club is a good one. In addition to granting complimentary Internet and access to Balance Gym, it allows us to track your preferences and personalize your stays. We strive to treat each guest like the individual that they are and Fairmont President’s Club helps us to do that. We apologize for any negative experiences you had in our restaurant and appreciate the feedback. It helps us to improve.

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed here for a conference for 3 days. Cassia was very accommodating to a personal request. As a nursing mother, I often find it difficult to find a private location to take care of my infant's needs. Cassia made sure I had a private place to be able to feel comfortable. Sometimes I don't get this treatment at other locations which makes it very difficult for me to do something as simple as feed my child. I GREATLY APPRECIATE IT!!! Your simple act of kindness made my days at the conference so much easier.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blandine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you kindly Blandine! You make an excellent point about how simple acts of kindness can change not only a person’s day, but their entire stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share.

Cassia is a truly amazing asset and we couldn’t be luckier to have her. Your commendations are well deserved!

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
455 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
3,323 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
3,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 141 in Washington DC
1,158 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Address: 2401 M Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1408 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £118 - £422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is pleased to announce that all of our guestrooms are newly renovated as of June 01, 2016. The newly renovated guestrooms, suites and Fairmont Gold experience transform the hotel into the premier luxury destination in the nation's capital by adding contemporary and innovative features important to today's travelers, such as multiple outlets and a multi-functional table with a chaise. We are currently enhancing our public spaces with a redesign of the courtyard and lobby. During this time, we will install temporary walls around the lounge and lobby staircase where an exhibit of "American Icons" will be displayed. We have partnered with the Georgetown gallery, Artist's Proof, to showcase historic and current American celebrities and personalities. We are working to ensure the guest experience is not impacted during your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing