We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved, loved this hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Ranked #13 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Loved, loved this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Loved every aspect of this hotel and the staff are truly amazing. The food at the restaurant is to 'die for' and the service was so personally that when staff would see us they would great us by name.

Loved Washington and will definitely revisit when the Cherry Blossoms are in bloom.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you very much Michelle G! We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

We love hearing that “the staff are truly amazing.” Our team impresses us each and every day and we are so happy when other people take a moment and share their compliments. The team could not be more worthy of them. We’re also glad that you enjoyed the food—to “die for” is quite a compliment!

Thank you again. We look forward to your next visit,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,816
    645
    148
    59
    33
See reviews for
703
763
132
782
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Perfectly located between Georgetown and Dupont circle. Convenient to all points of interest around in the DC area. The staff is attentive and polite. The fitness club in the hotel was a great benefit!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank KMNYC60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you very much Michelle G! We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

We love hearing that “the staff are truly amazing.” Our team impresses us each and every day and we are so happy when other people take a moment and share their compliments. The team could not be more worthy of them. We’re also glad that you enjoyed the food—to “die for” is quite a compliment!

Thank you again. We look forward to your next visit,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed here for a few days for pleasure. My wife and I felt at home in this beautiful hotel. The concierges Eric and Adem knew us by name and helped us wherever they could. Great rooms, good food for a reasonable price for such a hotel at this location. Nice beds also for tall people like myself. We really recommend the Fairmont and the (free) President's club.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Charles_vH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you very much Charles_vH! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are pleased that you had a “simply outstanding” stay. That is quite a compliment!

Our team is our greatest asset and we are grateful that you recognized them in your review. Eric and Adem are incredible and we are glad that you had the chance to get to know them. We’re also glad you enjoyed the long beds!

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Your site had best rate by a mile. After checking multiple sites for weeks, yours came up with a particularly low rate for this luxurious hotel. Although I was a bit skeptical, it worked out beautifully. The hotel was gorgeous and they stunned and delighted me by upgrading to an $800 room! Wow! What a treat!
Will certainly use your site again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zitellona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you very much Zitellona! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are glad you had such a great stay. Surprising and delighting our guests is one of our favorite things to do and we are happy that you enjoyed your upgrade. Sounds like a surprise and delight well done!

Thank you again. We look forward to your next visit,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

I live in south so just stayed Fairmont once prior to this visit. I reserved a suite at Gold floor. It was a open concept suite, so no separate bedroom. It was spacious and clean. Gold floor offers nice breakfast, evening reception, and dessert at night. Coffee and soft drinks are available all day. They have lots of DVDs to rent on the floor if you have time to watch movie. Staff at the floor are all very nice and friendly. Closest subway station is Foggy Bottom which is less than 10 minutes walk. Taxi is convenient way to move around. Depends on the traffic, but it was $10 to White House area and $20 to Congress, including tip. Pool, Sauna, Steam etc. was not great, but it was nice to have. The suite was facing to street. Although the room was high floor (9th), i heard some street noise at night. If you really like a quite room, the room facing the courtyard may be better. One more thing - evening piano performance at the lobby was great. I enjoyed it very much. Overall, I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mona1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you kindly Mona1030! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are glad that you had such a wonderful Fairmont Gold experience. We encourage all guests to try Fairmont Gold at least once!

Your tips will prove invaluable to future travelers and we are grateful that you shared them. We value your recommendation and thank you again for leaving a review,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

I spent a couple of days at the Fairmont Washington DC last week and having been the first Fairmont Hotel i have stayed at, i am definitely a fan! If all Fairmont Hotels are like this one, then i am choosing Fairmont everywhere i go.

From check in to check out everything was perfect! I loved the email to check my arrival time, followed by an email to tell me my room was ready! It was great coming from the airport and knowing the room was ready and waiting for me.

The rooms are extremely comfortable and spacious.

In regards to location, if you are in Washington for sightseeing like i was, the hotel is located about 10 minutes walk from Dupont Circle metro station (on the main red line) which is only a couple of stops away from all of the sights. It was perfect!

The service at the Fairmont was second to none. Anything i asked was answered immediately and accurately! Which is very important when on such a short stay.

I will definitely be back,.

Room Tip: Join the presidents club - it provides you with free wifi in the hotel along with other benefits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you very much Ben B! What an excellent review!

We are honored to be your first Fairmont and love hearing that you will look for Fairmonts everywhere now. We promise they are all excellent! You are absolutely right about our location and we are very glad that you were able to take in so much of the city. There is lots to see and do and it sounds like you did a wonderful job experiencing everything.

We are grateful for you compliments toward our team and property. Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

The Fairmont Hotel is a very beautiful hotel. The staff was very accommodating. The room was beautiful and very clean. The Colonade was a lovely venue for the wedding we attended. If it was more affordable I would love to repeat my stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Lillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you kindly Lillian M! We appreciate your compliments toward our property and team and could not be more grateful that you took the time to share your experience. The Colonnade truly is the best venue in the city for a wedding and we are glad you got to be a part of a Colonnade wedding.

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#63 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,160 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Property: Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Address: 2401 M Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is pleased to announce that all of our guestrooms are newly renovated as of June 01, 2016. The newly renovated guestrooms, suites and Fairmont Gold experience transform the hotel into the premier luxury destination in the nation's capital by adding contemporary and innovative features important to today's travelers, such as multiple outlets and a multi-functional table with a chaise. We are currently enhancing our public spaces with a redesign of the courtyard and lobby. During this time, we will install temporary walls around the lounge and lobby staircase where an exhibit of "American Icons" will be displayed. We have partnered with the Georgetown gallery, Artist's Proof, to showcase historic and current American celebrities and personalities. We are working to ensure the guest experience is not impacted during your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp and Southall Travel so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing