We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional hotel near Georgetown” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Ranked #13 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Traditional hotel near Georgetown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

First stay at Fairmont and was impressed by the excellent service and friendly staff. Joining frequent guest program provides access to internet and speedy checkout via web which are great benefits. Decor is traditional and ambiance quiet, good if you need to get work done or wish to avoid noisy hotels.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rlcasas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you kindly rlcasas! We appreciate your review and are grateful that you took the time to share your experience. It is very helpful to us and to future travelers.

Your tip regarding the complimentary Internet is a good one. We encourage all guests to join Fairmont President’s Club—the perks are amazing!

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,815
    645
    147
    59
    33
See reviews for
703
763
132
780
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo
Level Contributor
167 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This was my second stay at the Fairmont, both for professional visits. While the property itself is nice, it is nothing extraordinary. But the service and staff are excellent and make your stay special. I arrived at about 1230 in the morning after a long, delayed flight and was greeted warmly, checked in and escorted to my room in about two minutes!! During my stay every question or concern I had was taken care of immediately and in a friendly manner. Check out was a breeze. Rooms are very nice.

I find the location to be great as it is close to De Pont Circle and GW University, which means lots of nice restaurants and places to relax nearby. Only a few metro stops from all the offices about town--and as I had a bit of time I walked from the Reagan Trade Center back to the Fairmont which only took 30 minutes on a beautiful spring day.

All in all a great place to stay in WDC!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chesterchandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you very much Chesterchandler! It looks like you are a very experienced traveler and we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. It sounds like you had a wonderful visit.

We could not be more grateful for your kind words toward our “excellent” team. They are truly our greatest asset and we never skip an opportunity to sing their praises. We appreciate you doing it as well.

Thank you again for the review. We hope to welcome you back in the future,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

On a beautiful spring weekend, 80 degrees, biggest weekend maybe of the year (Cherry Blossom Festival) there were few, if any, outdoor spaces to enjoy. The courtyard space was blocked for a wedding and the little corner available to guests was in the shade. Further, only uncomfortable heavy teak upright chairs, no lounges or any area of repose in the sunshine. The patio that comes with the room is about 2' wide so forget about a chair out there.

If relaxing in the fresh air during beautiful weather doesn't matter then it's ok. Beware: hotel attempted to charge roughly $17. for a call under 1 minute (for real!) made from the room.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank luv3men
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for the review luv3men. We apologize for your experience; any time that we are not able to exceed guest expectations, we have failed.

We hope that you will come back and give us another chance,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We were relocated here after the original hotel we booked with made a major error. And boy, has the Fairmont risen to the occasion. We were treated fabulously from the minute we pulled up. I sit here writing this review after fantastic room service for breakfast (chorizo sausage and eggs were on point! MMMM!) Everyone has been friendly and attentive and the hotel is beautiful in every aspect. The Fairmont truly turned our unfortunate circumstances around and we are truly grateful and looking forward to staying with them again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you very much Sarah L! What a wonderful review. We could not be happier that arriving at Fairmont turned around your entire experience.

Hearing that you are being treated like royalty is wonderful—it makes us very proud of our team. They go out of their way to treat each and every guest like a unique individual.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to your next visit,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Exactly what I've come to expect from a Fairmont hotel. The hotel is beautiful, rooms are good size, clean and comfortable, location convenient, staff very helpful and very friendly. Restaurant not ideal for kids (a bit fancy and business like), but welcoming and very nice. Pool a bit small, particularly if people are swimming laps, but big enough, and there are family swim times. Convenient Starbucks across the street. Overall we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank rodo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you kindly rodo14! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Reviews like yours are invaluable to future travelers and we couldn’t be more grateful.

Your compliments toward our “very helpful and very friendly” team are much appreciated. We agree one hundred percent!

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We hope to welcome you back in the future,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Loved every aspect of this hotel and the staff are truly amazing. The food at the restaurant is to 'die for' and the service was so personally that when staff would see us they would great us by name.

Loved Washington and will definitely revisit when the Cherry Blossoms are in bloom.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you very much Michelle G! We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

We love hearing that “the staff are truly amazing.” Our team impresses us each and every day and we are so happy when other people take a moment and share their compliments. The team could not be more worthy of them. We’re also glad that you enjoyed the food—to “die for” is quite a compliment!

Thank you again. We look forward to your next visit,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Perfectly located between Georgetown and Dupont circle. Convenient to all points of interest around in the DC area. The staff is attentive and polite. The fitness club in the hotel was a great benefit!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank KMNYC60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you very much Michelle G! We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

We love hearing that “the staff are truly amazing.” Our team impresses us each and every day and we are so happy when other people take a moment and share their compliments. The team could not be more worthy of them. We’re also glad that you enjoyed the food—to “die for” is quite a compliment!

Thank you again. We look forward to your next visit,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,147 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Property: Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Address: 2401 M Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is pleased to announce that all of our guestrooms are newly renovated as of June 01, 2016. The newly renovated guestrooms, suites and Fairmont Gold experience transform the hotel into the premier luxury destination in the nation's capital by adding contemporary and innovative features important to today's travelers, such as multiple outlets and a multi-functional table with a chaise. We are currently enhancing our public spaces with a redesign of the courtyard and lobby. During this time, we will install temporary walls around the lounge and lobby staircase where an exhibit of "American Icons" will be displayed. We have partnered with the Georgetown gallery, Artist's Proof, to showcase historic and current American celebrities and personalities. We are working to ensure the guest experience is not impacted during your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda and Southall Travel so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing