We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel I have stayed in...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Ranked #13 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The best hotel I have stayed in...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

The hotel is modern and clean and well situated. We had the Fairmont Gold Package which was truly amazing. The package offered us a 5* plus service with our own Lounge and many other perks including the use of a private car and driver during rush hour which was very helpful. Our room was a really good size and offered all the facilities we needed and was cleaned to a high standard regularly. The staff offered a high level of customer service and had a great personal touch! They knew me by name and the room I was staying in and we really felt the personal touch. I must say that Caitlin and Nora were fantastic! They were there to answer any questions we had, book us a dinner reservation and transport. We really were impressed and would like to thank them. We would certainly stay here again and I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomGB90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you very much TomGB90! What an excellent review. Being the best hotel you have ever stayed in is quite a compliment!

Fairmont Gold is an amazing offering and we encourage all guests to try it at least once. It sounds like you would recommend the same. Caitlin and Nora are incredible—we are so fortunate to have them. We are grateful that you took the time to recognize them.

Thank you again. We hope to have you back soon,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,837
    651
    149
    59
    34
See reviews for
716
771
132
788
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scituate
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We had a pleasant Sunday night stay here in April. The staff was very pleasant and our room was lovely. A bit removed from eating choices but Foggy Bottom metro is a 10 minute walk away. Whole Foods is near the metro and we had a quick lunch in their café. The DC Circulator stops right out front as well for easy trips into Georgetown or Rosslyn station for the airport. Clydes in Georgetown was a pleasant 15 minute walk for dinner.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank 18greenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you kindly 18greenfield! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience as well as helpful tips for other travelers.

We are especially grateful for your compliments toward our team. They are truly our greatest asset and we are so fortunate to have them.

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

The Fairmont Washinton DC is a beautiful property.
We were friendly welcomed by the Gold Floor Team on the 9th floor.

Thank you Caitlin, our Gold Floor manager, for your good care, and also for your open-minded attitude during our conversations.

The staff on the Gold Floor were all very friendly. Special thanks to Al for giving us good advice on what to visit and how to get there.

Our room was very beautiful and spacious.

The private lounge on the 9th floor was cosy, but we didn't have much contact with other guests.
All day long there was a choice of fresh juices avallable. Breakfast and evening canapes were -most of the time- varied and tasty, But the afternoon snack was in our opinion not really meeting with the standard of a Gold Floor lounge.

The hotel is wihin walking distance to Georgetown, a very vivid and attractive neighbourhood on a sunny April afternoon.

We used the hotel's complimentary bikes (Fairmont Presidents Club) and re-discovered Washington DC landmarks by bike, It was agreat experience.

On the last day before flying home (a late night flight) we were not so happy.

First of all it was disappointing that we could not benefit from the guaranteed late check-out for Platinum Fairmont Presidents Club Members, because the hotel was fully booked.
The option of taking a shower in the Gym facilities did not appeal to us.
In all other Fairmont hotels we stayed before - and we do stay in Fairmont hotels whenever we can - we have been granted this service.

Secondly, our excellent dining experience in The Juniper restaurant was spoiled by the rude attitude of our waiter Eric who, when presenting the bill, arrogantly stated 'not to forget the tipping'..It really upset us.

On the whole we liked our stay in this Fairmont property.

Room Tip: Definitely book a room on the Gold Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guy990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you very much guy990! We appreciate your detailed review and are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Caitlin and Fairmont Gold certainly are extraordinary.

We apologize for the upsets on your final day and are glad that you enjoyed the property overall. Your exploring of the city sounds wonderful!

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Liked the location,very good service , nice clean rooms, well maintained lobby and restaurant. Price of room very reasonable.Attractive landscape area and a nice outside lounge area for coffee etc.Quiet rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank HERBST_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you very much HERBST_TA! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are especially grateful for your compliments toward our team. The service they provide is truly amazing. We are so fortunate to have them.

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
125 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed her 3 night with a family of 5 with two connecting rooms. Got it recommended by friends and Fairmont delivered above expectations. Already when we booked by phone we were met by an exeptional service attitude - followed by a smiling and welcoming atmosphere from we arrived until we checked out. The rooms are nice, but not very spacious. The bathrooms are somewhat old fashion, but clean and deliciate. The beds was very good and gave good sleeping quality. The gym was maybe the best with this hotel - a full size gym (available for others as well) with all you can dream off - including a good swimming pool (great fun for the kids), steam room, sauna ++. The bar in the reception lounge had a great variety of drinks and the same service level - try the signature drink :-) Finally they offer a good breakfast in the resturant, but it becomes somewhat price when you pay close to 150$ for a breakfast in addition to the room price, but the buffet had a whatever you desire from slized fruit to scrabled egg and bacon.... The location is perfect - close to the Metro, walking distance to Lincoln Memorial etc and 5 minutes walking to Georgetown. Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anders G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you very much Anders G! It sounds like you had a wonderful stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. It looks like you are quite an experienced traveler and your feedback is invaluable to us.

We are very grateful for your compliments toward our team. An “exceptional service attitude” is a great way to describe them. We also appreciate your compliments toward the property, bedding, gym and food. All music to our ears!

Thank you again. We hope to have you back soon,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
203 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Three night stay for business. Hotel absolutely full, breakfast tables needed to be reserved after 7.30, but very good choice, and public spaces never crowded. Pleasant piano bar. rooms very spacious, comfortable and quiet. Front desk very service oriented, restaurant staff probably too busy to be good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you kindly Christopher K! It looks like you are quite a seasoned traveler and we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. It is absolutely invaluable.

We are grateful for your compliments toward our “very service oriented” Front Desk, as well as toward our rooms and dining options. The piano music at night is lovely and we are glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy it.

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillingfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights at the end of a 16 day trip around the west coast and pearl harbour. Having had various experiences in hotels, which I suspect was due to the different booking agents the travel agent used, as there was a distinct difference in the rooms booked, this was surpassed all expectations and I only wished I was there longer.
We were very fortunate the weather on our first night was so warm it meant we could sit out in the courtyard and the cherry blossom and lights for a meal. The food was great, it wasn't over priced as many hotels had been on our stay, the staff very helpful and the Georgian/colonial feel to the hotel was awesome. The whole ambience was relaxed but very smart and up market. The furniture in the bedroom was quality and not qualitat as many chains are,the room spotless, the attention to detail exceptional, and they were most insistent we could keep our room until 1 pm on the day of the flight so we could shower and change before leaving.
The location is within walking distance to many things, depending upon how far you like to walk.
I felt I was treated like a queen and will in future always use fairmont hotels if I can.
Well done and thank you for a superb end to our holiday.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the courtyard are lovely and the ones on the main part of the building and not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simplycooking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you very much Simplycooking! What a wonderful review. It sounds like you had a truly excellent stay and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

Hearing that Fairmont will be your hotel of choice in the future is the best compliment you could give us. We are grateful that you feel that way and look forward to welcoming you to many more Fairmonts in the future.

Thank you again for such kind words,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,106 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#65 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,305 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Property: Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Address: 2401 M Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is pleased to announce that all of our guestrooms are newly renovated as of June 01, 2016. The newly renovated guestrooms, suites and Fairmont Gold experience transform the hotel into the premier luxury destination in the nation's capital by adding contemporary and innovative features important to today's travelers, such as multiple outlets and a multi-functional table with a chaise. We are currently enhancing our public spaces with a redesign of the courtyard and lobby. During this time, we will install temporary walls around the lounge and lobby staircase where an exhibit of "American Icons" will be displayed. We have partnered with the Georgetown gallery, Artist's Proof, to showcase historic and current American celebrities and personalities. We are working to ensure the guest experience is not impacted during your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing