We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top flight!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Ranked #12 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
211 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Top flight!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from 3 days in DC. Fairmont is perfectly situated to visit the National Mall, Georgetown, and museums. Fabulous people make you feel valued from the moment you arrive. Was at a business conference and loved the tiered "war room."

My room was fabulous: roomy and luxurious. Loved the Keurig coffeemaker with both dark and medium roast coffee!

5 stars even though construction on the exterior!

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank ChinaLake1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you kindly ChinaLake1! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like you had a wonderful time.

You are absolutely right about the location – the entire city opens up from our doorstep. We’re glad you took advantage of it! We are grateful for your compliments toward our “fabulous” team.

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,885
    668
    153
    59
    34
See reviews for
725
790
136
815
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The Fairmont Washington is great place to stay because it is in great location near restaurant and the train. They are pet friendly which I loved because I was able to take mt dog with me on this trip. They give you bowls for water and food and there are places close by to them potty. The staff is amazing and they try to accommodate your every need. It was a great experience and I will definitely stay there again and recommend to my friends and family members.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank limayg26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you very much limayg26! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our “great hotel.”

It sounds like you did a wonderful job of taking in all that the city has to offer—we’re happy you were able to do so with your dog! We love animals at the Fairmont and are pleased that we were able to take care of your pooch.

Thank you again. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Very helpful staff, clean, comfortable, everything was good. Really great being able to borrow bikes, including child bikes (must sign up for President's Club). Room service was excellent, food was very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you kindly James R! We are grateful that you took the time to share your experience and appreciate all your compliments. We are most appreciative of your kind words toward our team; they truly are “very helpful” and provide “excellent service.”

Your comments about the bikes are very helpful and will surely be useful to future travelers. We encourage all visitors to sign up for Fairmont President’s Club prior to arrival to enjoy the complimentary bike rentals along with other perks like free Internet.

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

This is my wife's sixth year of running Marine Corps marathon and this will be our fifth year staying at this hotel for the race. The property is stunningly nice, great service, and reasonable, at least on weekends. Also highly convenient with great restaurant and bar. Overall, very well run joint. While we usually need to check out before she finishes the race, they are super accommodating regarding shower, etc. in the fitness center for her.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank r00per
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you very much r00per! We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and are flattered by your loyalty. Repeat visits are the best compliment a hotel can receive!

We are grateful for your compliments toward our property and facilities; we are especially grateful for your kind words toward our team. They are truly our greatest asset and we could not be more fortunate to have them.

Thank you again. We look forward to your next visit,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is not the first time I have stayed here and have always enjoyed it. The rooms are large and the beds are comfortable. The bathroom is well appointed as well and they shampoo/conditioner/body wash are a great brand not the cheap toiletries you get other places. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The brunch is great and the lobby and courtyard are beautiful. My friend left his phone in the room and they contacted us immediately and sent it overnight to him. TOP NOTCH SERVICE!! I would most definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you kindly Ryan B! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like you had a wonderful time.

We are grateful for your compliments toward our accommodations and amenities and are especially grateful for your compliments toward our team. They are an amazing group of individuals and we could not be more fortunate.

Thank you again. We look forward to your next visit,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
208 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

While I wasn't an overnight guest at this hotel, I did have friends staying there for several nights, and had a few opportunities to go into town and hang out in the lobby, waiting for them, etc. On one such occasion we returned to the hotel, then stayed in the lobby for drinks; I had two of the best dirty vodka martinis I can remember! The bartender, when I asked if they had any blue-cheese-stuffed olives for my drink, said they didn't, but that she'd make some. Which she proceeded to do. I'd probably be a lot of trouble, personally, if more bars offered to prepare olives that way for me! It was an impressive bit of customer service, and made for a spectacular 2 drinks ;)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you very much cbudny! We are glad that your friends stayed here and that you were able to experience our lobby bar. We hope you return regularly!

Our lobby bar team is truly amazing and we could not be more proud of them. We appreciate you taking the time to share your compliments—they deserve every kind word.

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, NC
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The location of this hotel is convenient to Georgetown -- a 5 minute walk -- and to the Foggy Bottom metro stop, with a Whole Foods nearby. Kennedy Center only 10 minutes away. The room was large, bed comfortable, and bathroom spacious. The lobby area is quiet and inviting, and offers drinks and dining options. The Sunday brunch was pricey ($48) but included the very best crab cakes we have ever had!!! Virtually all fresh crab meat, very subtly seasoned. Worth the price of admission. This hotel gives good value especially considering the generally high-priced competition.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the interior courtyard may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobhardync
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you kindly bobhardync! It looks like you are quite an experienced traveler and we value your knowledgeable input—we appreciate you taking the time to share.

It sounds like you did a great job of taking in all that the area has to offer and we could not be happier. We are very glad that you enjoyed your brunch with us. The crab cakes are one of our signature dishes and always a crowd favorite. We are flattered to hear that they are the best you’ve ever had!

Thank you again. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
3,144 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#68 of 141 in Washington DC
6,563 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Property: Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Address: 2401 M Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1408 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is pleased to announce that all of our guestrooms are newly renovated as of June 01, 2016. The newly renovated guestrooms, suites and Fairmont Gold experience transform the hotel into the premier luxury destination in the nation's capital by adding contemporary and innovative features important to today's travelers, such as multiple outlets and a multi-functional table with a chaise. We are currently enhancing our public spaces with a redesign of the courtyard and lobby. During this time, we will install temporary walls around the lounge and lobby staircase where an exhibit of "American Icons" will be displayed. We have partnered with the Georgetown gallery, Artist's Proof, to showcase historic and current American celebrities and personalities. We are working to ensure the guest experience is not impacted during your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing