We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced and mediocre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Ranked #12 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Lafayette, LA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overpriced and mediocre”
Reviewed 8 August 2009

My wife and I stayed here during the 4th of July holiday. The first night we arrived the air conditioning was broke throughout the hotel. On a subsequent evening there was apparently a fire that had broken out, around 12:30 am someone from the hotel came over the intercom very loudly and said the fire had been subdued. No one in the hotel even knew there had been a fire to begin with! The TV in the room was very small, the bathroom was lackluster. The mini bar and laundry was one of the most expensive I have run across. The bed was comfortable and the food was above average. Public transportation was quite a walk away from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nordberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,859
    662
    151
    59
    34
See reviews for
720
780
133
802
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2009

This Fairmont is perfectly situated between downtown and Georgetown, with an easy walk to the White House. We stayed on the Gold Floor -- worth every penny. The rooms are nicer and you receive complimentary food and beverage service throughout the day. The spa/gym is not luxurious. If you are seeking that type of atmosphere, you would be better off at the Four Seasons or the Ritz Carlton. The staff is remarkable -- kind and helpful.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SWTraveler32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

This is a lovely, first-rate hotel. However, it lacks the charm, location and history that other top hotels in DC have (for example, the Willard). The Fairmont is also in a rather sterile location in DC. It is surrounded by office buildings, and there really is not much in the immediate vicinity. Since I travel to DC for business (and do not have to pay the bill), I would not stay in the Fairmont again. There are a number of other, better options in DC. I was pleased to learn, however, that the Fairmont does allow pets, with no non-refundable pet deposit or extra fees. The breakfast was good, but nothing dramatic. It was definitely not worth the $28 per person fee for the buffet. I preferred the Ritz Carlton in DC (despite its similarly poor location).

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyra-Belaqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2009

We spent three nights at the Fairmont Washington on their Gold Floor. We were thoroughly pampered by very attentive staff who took care of our every need. The hotel itself is very beautiful and has excellent facilities, including health club and pool, courtyard bar and restaurant, and a stunning lobby lounge. I would sincerely recommend the Gold experience and look forward to returning for our next stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DamaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2009

We booked this hotel late, having stayed in the Fairmont in new york and thoroughly enjoyed it. We informed the hotel of the fact that we had a RV with us and we would require parking. Before booking they were very saying there are several near by and that something could be organized. They re-assured us so we went ahead and booked. They Said speak to the receptionist on at the time of our arrival and they will give us further information.
Arrived at the hotel and the receptionist blanked us. We informed him that we dont mind traveling and again was little help.
We parked on the side of the street and had to get up at 7:00am to move our RV and at that point had to wander the city looking for a place to park and they clearly did not want to help in the hotel.

Besides the parking the hotel was very dated. The corridors were not nice at all. A million milies from the Plaza in New york yet around the same price.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drbeatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We stayed for 8 nights at this plush hotel with a young toddler. It is very comfortable barring minor discomforts like loud toilet and water leaking from the tub. The bed was very comfortable and large enough for all of us to sleep on. We requested for a microwave which was sent up immediately. For families with young children. the location is a bit off since the walk to all the major places is quite a lot with a stroller. But georgetown is very closeby. I would recommend the Circulator bus which goes from georgetown to union station along K street for 1 dollar a ride. The restaurant is quite pricey and not worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSVSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

My wife and I stayed at The Fairmont for 2 days during a fly drive holiday through Virginia.We wanted to visit Washington for the first time and having travelled from the UK wanted to play safe by staying in a top class hotel. We have stayed in Fairmonts on numerous occassions nad have never been disappointed - this was no exception. - However often we eat out as 5 star hotels can be overly expensive but we found the restaurant here to be very good value especially for a big city - so much so we ate in both nights - don't get me wrong it wasn't cheap but good value - even the wine was reasonably priced which is a rarety in The States. -

Washington really surprised us - so different from New York / Philadelphia .
No high rise buildings but open leafy bulavards in the french style. Plenty to see and do - the 2 day tourist bus pass is a must for getting around and seeing everything. We had a vey enjoyable couple of days.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank royandpauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,125 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,461 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#1 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Property: Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Address: 2401 M Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1408 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is pleased to announce that all of our guestrooms are newly renovated as of June 01, 2016. The newly renovated guestrooms, suites and Fairmont Gold experience transform the hotel into the premier luxury destination in the nation's capital by adding contemporary and innovative features important to today's travelers, such as multiple outlets and a multi-functional table with a chaise. We are currently enhancing our public spaces with a redesign of the courtyard and lobby. During this time, we will install temporary walls around the lounge and lobby staircase where an exhibit of "American Icons" will be displayed. We have partnered with the Georgetown gallery, Artist's Proof, to showcase historic and current American celebrities and personalities. We are working to ensure the guest experience is not impacted during your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing