We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Time around was a charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Ranked #19 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 14 December 2010

After my previous stay @ the fairmont dc in late Feb, 2010, i was rewarded with a 2 night free stay @ the fairmont DC, to makeup for my unhappy experience. I received great, close to excellent service, I arrived at the hotel around 9am, my luggage was stored and cell # taken inorder for the front desk to call me when a room was available. i was comp. upgraded to a corner "deluxe" room. The first night there, comp. fruit, and pastry platter was delivered to my room. The next day Ms. Angie Clifton called me to make sure everything was fine. I was in DC for the CBC convention, but there was also a wedding, pharmaceutical &cop conference going on so the hotel was filled to capacity. the staff was attentive, the only problem i had was that when I came in Feb. i was told they didn't have a driver for the house car, for premier president club members and I was given this same excuse again in Sept. I stayed a total of 4 nights and enjoyed my stay. House keeping was great and friendly.

The hotel is located in georgetown near a medical college, its a about a 10 block walk to the train and a block away from a bus stop. There's a trader joes near the hotel and cvs pharmacy.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sedaygogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,045)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,618 - 2,624 of 3,045 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2010

This was one of the nicer hotels that I've stayed in while traveling for business - I would definitely consider it for a stay with my family in the future. Food was excellent, and the room was spacious and well laid out. Service was very good, better than at other Fairmonts I have stayed in. Wireless internet worked fine, conference rooms and facilities without fault. The location may not be as central to attractions as some other hotels like the Sofitel, but that was not an issue for me on this trip.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sn1099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWDC, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2010

It was very thoughtful of you to take time to share your recent experience at The Fairmont Washington, D.C. We look forward your next stay with your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Fairmont last October to attend the Rally To Restore Sanity, and, to my surprise and pleasure, were joined by Steven Colbert and his entourage! (a little shorter than I would have expected...)

Nothing undersized about the hotel, however. A major renovation is winding down, but all the public spaces have been completed and one would never know the work was going on. The staff is young, vibrant and very attentive --- not a single stuffed shirt. Our room was well-appointed, bed was very comfortable (firm mattress) and the down comforter and bathrobes made us feel very special. Recommend getting a room facing the inner courtyard, especially on the lower floors. We only dined for breakfast, which was slightly above average (they do offer a unattended daily breakfast buffet).

A short walk from the hotel to Georgetown for shopping and eating, and a slightly longer walk to the Metro station for sightseeing. A little out of the way for heavy sightseeing (the Mall is six or seven stops away on the Metro), but perfect for a leisurely DC visit that includes a lot of time in Georgetown.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickSchlegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWDC, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2010

It sounds like you really had a great time at the Rally. Thank you for staying with us. Please come back and visit. We appreciate you thoughful comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

I spent four nights at the Fairmont recently. The room was gorgeous and immaculate. The staff are very friendly and attentive, and the feeling is just luxurious. I never heard noise from the hall or noise from HVAC systems. The location is close to the Mall, Georgetown and the White House. Easy to get to the metro and there are many good restaurants and a Trader JOe's close by. I even got a great rate. My favorite DC hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yabolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWDC, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2010

Thank you for writing about your recent stay at The Fairmont. We hope you will come visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2010

Once again, the Fairmont in Washington, DC proved to be the perfect choice for friends and family. The staff was friendly and attentive. Brunch at the hotel was a treat....convenient and delicious. The Health Club is surprisingly large for a city property which includes a pool, equipment and exercise classes. This hotel always seems to be my go to place for those coming to visit. Great location, close to shopping and Metro.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londonbridge50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWDC, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2010

It was great to here about your return visit to The Fairmont. Our Sunday Brunch is something our culinary team is very proud of, so it's nice to hear how much you enjoyed it.
Thank you, and come back soon.

Diana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the Fairmont. The front desk upon arrival was very friendly.
The concierge was very good and helpful with museums and gallery choices.
Plus she helped me find a good hairdresser in walking distance from the hotel.
The Juniper restaurant had a good breakfast buffet. Quite pricey, but very nice.
We would return due to the nice service. Our room on a higher floor was recently refurbished, but my sisters room on the 4th floor looked in need of updating. The couryard side has quieter rooms. Lots of weddings at this hotel as well. They do take over the bar area so it was a bit tight to find a place to meet with our family. Otherwise, great location and staff stand out. Dinners at Obellisk and J & G Steakhouse were
good. Would not return to J & G.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chigagotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWDC, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2010

Thank for your recent review of your stay at The Fairmont Washington, D.C. We appreciate the feed-back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2010

We were going for a city break to Washington and as it was only 3 days fancied a nice hotel. It's a good location, you can easily walk to Georgetown ( 10 min) or it's an easy stroll ( 20min) to the white house and the surrounding area. The only issue was that the nearest metro stop was 10 min away.

Hotel was very clean and staff very friendly. Would recommend the breakfast buffet as it fills you up for the whole day. Shame it does not offer free wi-fi as this seems to be the trend with lots of major hotel chains. The pool was a bit small and the bathrooms could do with some better baths/showers.

Overall really nice hotel, would recommend it for a nice city break.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#13 of 142 in Washington DC
432 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,294 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,147 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Address: 2401 M Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1408 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £123 - £426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is pleased to announce that all of our guestrooms are newly renovated as of June 01, 2016. The newly renovated guestrooms, suites and Fairmont Gold experience transform the hotel into the premier luxury destination in the nation's capital by adding contemporary and innovative features important to today's travelers, such as multiple outlets and a multi-functional table with a chaise. We are currently enhancing our public spaces with a redesign of the courtyard and lobby. During this time, we will install temporary walls around the lounge and lobby staircase where an exhibit of "American Icons" will be displayed. We have partnered with the Georgetown gallery, Artist's Proof, to showcase historic and current American celebrities and personalities. We are working to ensure the guest experience is not impacted during your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing