We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs better wayfinding” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception

Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception
Ranked #14 of 418 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Needs better wayfinding”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

The Basilica is an impressive building, but I had a hard time enjoying my visit because I felt lost most of the time I was in the building. I had just missed the start of a guided tour, and didn't want to wait an hour for another one, so I picked up a guide at the information desk (where the staff did not acknowledge me, which is another negative mark). The guide just contained a list of the shrines in the building, with a number for each, but there were so many listed that it was overwhelming and hard to decide which might be of interest. The building is beautiful, but more information should be provided to visitors.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank araker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,211
    222
    37
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh
Level Contributor
108 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving Mass”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

This is a beautiful church for the Roman Catholics. You don't have to be a Catholic to appreciate this magnificent structure. It is full of history and beauty. As long as you are respectful during their regularly held mass (which can either be in any of the small enclave, chapel, or in main church itself), tourists are welcomed.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Destiny U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Remarkable architecture”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We were awed by the building, the memorials, and the artwork. The mosaics on the wall and the domes were unlike anything we've seen. Very solemn and inspiring place.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank teamreg23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding place to visit and pray!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

The Basilica is located in an easy place to arrive by car and has a huge parking. I went there on Sunday for the mass at 10:30. It was an one hour Mass, very beautiful and touching.

There is a store to buy books and other religious gifts.

There is a good restaurant there. It is ok to have lunch there after the 10:30 mass or before the 12:00 mass.

There is an expositions of chairs where Pope John Paul II seated and photos and some pieces of clothes.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank carloslimabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Worth a visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

The basilica can be reached by public transportation - the red line on the metro. Take a tour with one of the docents. Some, of course, are better than others. Some of the sculpture is outstanding. Go done to the crypt. Go to noon mass there. Also, the gift store is fund to visit. If you were raised catholic and went to Catholic schools it will bring back memories.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AuntAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception also viewed

 

Been to Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing