We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Fried Oysters” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue 44

Blue 44
Ranked #582 of 3,190 Restaurants in Washington DC
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Fried Oysters”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Good and thoughtful service. Variety on the menu. Would return again.......................................................................................

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank gervitrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    42
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kensington, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A homie fav!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Blue is a good solid restaurant in one of my childhood neighborhoods. Loved it since it opened. Always a cozy atmosphere and nice options for a large or small meal.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pati Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Try the fried chicken on Mondays!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Their fried chicken special - only on Mondays - is delicious. Other dishes I've tried have been good, not great. Nice neighborhood spot.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank VNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
Level Contributor
75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Don't know who eats what? Blue 44 is your place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Blue 44 is a great neighborhood restaurant in upper NW DC. The food is great and the service is always friendly and consistent. I LOVE the perogies! However, what we like most about the menu is that no matter what type of diners we take to Blue 44, there is always something that appeals to everyone. Picky, adventurous, kids, seniors, whatever, we have never had a time when someone said, "there is nothing I want to eat'. We highly recommend Blue 44. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lutzboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tshwane, South Africa
Level Contributor
139 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Our favourite local”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Never disappointed with Blue 44...excellent service, great food and opportunity to sit outside (actually I have never eaten inside in all the times I have been there). Food is mostly American-style of high quality and not too pricey which makes it a great regular family choice. Dogs permitted in the outside area (a nice bonus).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank finny123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue 44 also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Blue 44? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing