We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, huge convention hotel, convenient to Metro, nice neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Ranked #101 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Anchorage
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great staff, huge convention hotel, convenient to Metro, nice neighborhood”
Reviewed 14 July 2011

I stayed here for 6 nights on a business trip. The staff is very friendly and helpful! The room was very comfortable. Amenities included a refrigerator (not an honor bar, a real fridge), flat screen tv, quiet air conditioner, iPhone dock/clock radio, hair dryer, Bath & Body Works toiletries, in-room coffee that actually tastes decent. Good food in the restaurants. Internet is free for Marriott Rewards members. The Metro is onsite, and there are restaurants galore and convenience stores within walking distance (National Zoo & Cathedral, too). My only complaint is that the walls are very thin. You can hear everything - everything! - that happens in the hallway and the rooms next door.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarvinAnchorage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WardmanPark, General Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Dear MarvinAnchorage,
Thank you for spending the week with us! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the in-room amenities including the Iphone dock, flat screen TV and coffee maker. We strive to make each room feel as though its as close to a “home away from home” experience as possible. It sounds as though you were busy with the conference but with the metro being so close and the great restaurants right outside our doors, I hope you had a chance to really experience a bit of DC. We look forward to seeing you back next time!

Dan Nadaeu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    1,019
    568
    197
    115
See reviews for
384
327
121
1,417
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

I really like this place.particularly for a business meeting. . I like that I was close to the escalator on the mezzanine deck. Others might not because it's noisy. But you get to things quickly. I walked in a large gracious room done in while golds reds and blacks. The mirror was a fitted circle tuft. The office chair a mix of gold squares. The wood furniture would fit in my living room. It's solid espresso tinted with black granite tops. The beds are very soft with comfy pillow of different depths and sizes. I had to ask for a blanket because I get cold and the maid brought not only 1 but a sheet to wrap it in.
She brought extra coffee pods (which taste better than most hotel coffee maker coffee) They serve Illy downstairs and it is as near perfect a cup as you will ever taste. On my first night I had two teas in my tea box. No teas were there my second night. Ah well. Note... they charge 12.95 for internet in the room unless you are a member of Marriott's rewards card.. Although you can go on line for free in the lobby.

I ate in the pub the first night . I had a lovely delicious salad but the chef forgot to add bacon. I didn't bother him to bring them since I started eating ti with the sweetened walnuts and raspberries and goad cheese. I told the staff but didn't want it since it was late and I was almost finished. But still very good. It was a nice way to say goodnight.

I consider this type of hotel fancy hotel for the conference set. It's nice. it meets your needs. There a bar and'/or a restaurant, a pool or spa area, and of course lots of meeting rooms. This place has it all in a quaint neighborhood that is fun to walk around in. I also enjoyed walking the ten minutes to the zoo. I ate at Mediterna, a street sized place offering hummus and wrapped leaves. I can't wait to see what I discover tomorrow.

The subway is just down the hill at the front of the hotel. It's so handy that we are only a few stops away from places you want to go. Figuring out the machine for tokens take a brilliant 13 year old boy. Also down the streets are quaint shops and stores. Good restauranteurs were lining the street but so was a gratuitous MacDonald.

The mall is so safe and has many FREE museums. I can't wait. I've seen most but are missing some. I love the city!

Room Tip: Ask for the grand old side overlookin the swimming pool. Not the building where the conference room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Pinkiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WardmanPark, General Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this review, 17 July 2011
Thank you Iteteri!
Your response was wonderful to read. I was overjoyed that you found our guest rooms so well decorated and the pillows and bed so comfortable. Your overall experience really highlighted some wonderful features of our hotel, such as the location and proximity to the zoo and metro station. We always love to hear from guests and this response will certainly be passed along to our team in Harry’s Pub and Housekeeping. We hope to see you again soon!
Dan Nadeau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crossroads, TX
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Was a nice hotel for the conference. However conference facilities seemed a bit dated. And some of the smaller meeting rooms even seemed a bit claustrophobic with drapes on the side walls.

The bar area was very nice with public computer access easy to use. The front desk staff was professional and very nice. However, some of the custodial staff needs a lesson in customer service as I walked down the very long hallway to my room and had to wait for them to maneuver a mattress into a room.

The rooms were adequate and the bathroom was nice and big. Fairly simply appointed. The grounds were beautiful as the tulips were in full bloom and gorgeous.

Did not make it to the pool, or the older part of the hotel, but it seemed like a great place. Was within walking distance to the National Cathedral and Zoo, both definitely worth checking out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the elevators if you don't want to hike down a long hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TX_Adventure_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WardmanPark, General Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this review, 17 July 2011
Dear TX_adventure_Girl,
Thank you very much for the review of your recent stay with The Marriott Wardman Park. We are always looking for ways to improve our hotel and we take the opinions and suggestions from our valued guests in to constant consideration. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future, and hopefully next time you get a chance to enjoy our wonderful outdoor pool and deck area.

Thank you kindly,

Dan Nadeau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Thank goodness for second impressions. The drive up area was incredibly crowded and was not staffed well enough. I wanted to self park and the signs pointed to the front entrance. After 15 minutes of sitting in my car waiting for someone to address us, I found out that self parking was on the back side of the hotel - if you plan to self park, call the hotel and get directions to the garage instead.
Once in the hotel, all was good. There was a big convention going on, but everything at check in went smoothly. Our room was in the old section of the hotel, which is a bit of a hike (and in the opposite direction from the parking garage), but it is a beautiful old building, well maintained, and very quiet.
Our room was nice, clean, and big enough. I had requested extra towels on the online concierge service prior to my stay - this didn't happen. I was able to get them later.
The pool was nice, but it was out of towels (apparently the laundry closed down during the July 4th weekend, and they couldn't get caught back up).
The best part of our stay was the price - we had the zoo package, and it included self parking (saved $28/day), breakfast for all of us which was a nice buffet, and the kids ate free for all other meals. If you have kids with you, this deal is definitely worth it.
The hotel is an easy 10 minute walk to the zoo, and is right beside the metro on the red line.

Room Tip: go to the hotel site and get the escape national zoo package. the old section is nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidwats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WardmanPark, General Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this review, 11 July 2011
Dear Davidwats,
Thank you for taking the time to give us the details of your stay. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay in our historic Wardman Tower and had the chance to take advantage of the wonderful zoo package! It really is a wonderful deal and offers some great extra amenities with the rate. We will continue to work on improvements with the parking and look forward to WOWing you during your next stay with us.

Thank you again,

Dan Nadeau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Maybe it is different in what part of your hotel you stay in, but my hall was incredibly noisy. You heard every kid running up & down the hall at 11:30pm with parents that didn't care how much noise they made.
And, the foam pillows were HARD. Usually nice hotels have too soft pillows, but these were as close to rocks as I have ever tried to sleep upon. Finally got up & rolled up a towel to put up under my head. Called the next morning & they offered me feather pillows instead.
Maybe the foam was just really old, but it was really hard; and I've slept on a lot of pillows in my life. Other than that, was nice surroundings, and the best pizza I've ever eaten was at the Italian pizza pallor down the street, next to the dry cleaners. Awesome cheese. Went back twice.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank okieroper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WardmanPark, General Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this review, 7 July 2011
Dear Okieroper of Copalis Beach, Washington,
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback! I was disappointed to hear that your recent stay with our hotel was less than desirable. I apologize and I would like to hear more information on how we can make your future stays more comfortable. A member of our management team will be in contact with you personally and would appreciate any further feedback you might have.

Thank you again,
Dan Nadeau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2011

My husband and I booked a night with Priceline's "name your own price" feature and our bid was picked up by the Marriott Wardman Park. I was nervous at first because I saw this whole huge story about some major GOP convention having been there in January and everyone having bedbug bites. Understandably I kind of freaked out and I contacted the management with my concerns. They replied promptly and courteously, gave me quite a bit of info on how they deal with those kinds of situations and apparently the story was rather unfounded. So we decided to give it a shot. Upon arriving at the hotel we were greeted by the extremely nice front desk staff and allowed to check in 2 hours early. Our room was neat and clean (with the exception of one old pillow which I removed from the bed). We inspected every inch of the room for bedbugs and found absolutely nothing. Everything was spotless. True, as many reviewers before have pointed out, there was no view from the room and the towels were scratchy but I wasn't there to gaze out the window and the towels were clean so I didn't care. I didn't observe any nasty attitudes from any of the hotel staff despite having read reviews about it before going. In fact, every person on staff that I dealt with was exceedingly nice and helpful.

All in all this was a great hotel. It's across from the Metro, has beautiful gardens to walk in and allows you to be in the heart of the city without feeling bombarded by traffic all the time. I would stay here again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Eddie's Cafe chinese across the street. YUM!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CristenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WardmanPark, General Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this review, 7 July 2011
Dear CristenK of Brooklyn,

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the effort to post your experience on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to learn that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel, and that our team was not only exceedingly nice, but helpful and courteous as well. It is always wonderful to hear feedback in order to work on constant improvements in providing a memorable and comfortable stay for our valued guests. I will certainly pass along the compliments to our team, specifically the Housekeeping, and Front Office departments.

Once again, thank you for choosing The Marriott Wardman Park and I look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Best Regards,
Dan Nadeau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowan
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We chose to stay at the Wardman Park Marriott simply because of it's proximity to the National Zoo, but boy are we glad we did! It's a lovely hotel with great staff. We had a room in the Central Tower, which must cut down on the confusion. I had read other reviews that said it was hard to find your way around, but we had no problems. We had a room with 2 double beds, both very comfortable. The bathroom was a little small, but the room was good sized overall. Not a great view, but that's not necessary for me.

We had the buffet breakfast in the hotel restaurant both mornings of our stay-fantastic! Great selection of fresh fruits, pastries, hot items, and an omelet and waffle station. Easy walk to the zoo unless it's very hot day, in which case you'll be hot at the zoo anyway. Such is summer in DC. One recommendation for the hotel would be to look into the packages available. Many include parking and breakfast, which saves a bundle. Also, if you're a Marriott Rewards member, the internet is free. It's free to sign up as a member, so why not! The only thing I'd change would be to have an indoor pool rather than outdoor, but that's personal preference. We still enjoyed it!

Room Tip: Look into available packages
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iowakrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#68 of 141 in Washington DC
6,694 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#25 of 141 in Washington DC
970 reviews
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#100 of 141 in Washington DC
3,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Skyline Hotel
#78 of 141 in Washington DC
593 reviews
Adams Morgan
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#85 of 141 in Washington DC
539 reviews
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#66 of 141 in Washington DC
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Marriott Wardman Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott Wardman Park

Property: Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Address: 2660 Woodley Rd NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-4106
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#77 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott Wardman Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you arrive at the Washington Marriott Wardman Park, you'll find a charming neighborhood in the heart of Washington, DC filled with amazing restaurants and quaint shops. Just a few steps away, you'll discover the funky stores and ethnic cuisine of Adams Morgan or the exciting night life of Dupont Circle. Head north to hear the sounds of animals coming from the National Zoo. Or venture into the hotel's natural surroundings to enjoy a quiet hike or invigorating run through Rock Creek Park. With a Metro stop just outside the doors and area airports close by, it's a premier city destination just two Metro stops from everything DC has to offer. We believe that brilliant meetings begin with brilliant space and offer an astounding 195,000 square feet of versatile space that can be customized for groups of all sizes. It's an unmatched place to meet where accommodating venues and equally helpful planners can bring any groups unique ideas to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Washington Marriott Wardman Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing