We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, but outside of the "main" DC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Ranked #103 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but outside of the "main" DC”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

My stay at the Wardman Park was very nice. I was in an Executive Suite, which is very large, modern and could easily hold 6-8 person business meetings. Room service was very good and speedy. The hotel is rather large and you could get a bit lost in the meeting space, but after a few days, it becomes easy to navigate. The hotel is located outside of the "main" DC monuments in the Woodley Park area (near the Zoo), but very close to a metro station to take you into town if you want to sightsee. There are a number of varied restaurants just outside of the hotel if you want to venture out.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muchuckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    994
    559
    193
    112
See reviews for
369
313
120
1,381
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

This sprawling hotel within walking distance of the Zoo, is a favorite DC destination. The lobby is enormous, leading to a large sunlit dining area which offers a bountiful brunch. Inauguration balls are held here, but dogs are allowed and welcome.
The rooms vary in size. Last time I got a small one, but in the past I have been upgraded to rooms which are quite posh, and large. The rooms in the Wardman Tower, which used to be private residences in an elegant brick building, are truly amazing. The one I had at the end of a corridor had a home sized dining room, spacious living room, bedroom and bath fit for a queen, and many have stayed there.
The hotel also attracts large conferences, as well as single travelers. If you travel with little children, cookies and milk arrive at bedtime and packages filled with coloring books , etc., are passed out in the lobby. The swimming pool area is large and they also have a child's pool . The Marriott's famous gardens attract travelers from all over the world. Their front lawn was the recent setting for my grandson's 3rd birthday party. This is a wonderful hotel!
An entrance to the Metro is in the same block and the neighborhood is filled with top quality restaurants as well as a few family orientated establishments. Rock Creek is a few blocks away for hikers and bikers. Although they are enlarging and there is construction on the street, there was no noise or disturbance from it.

Room Tip: Join the Marriott Rewards Program, which is free, and upgrades are usually possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artbrut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WardmanPark, General Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
Dear Artbrut,
WOW! Thank you for describing the Wardman Park with such exquisite detail! I appreciate you taking the time to write a review! You also mentioned a great fact about our hotel… We certainly are pet friendly! In a city where it is hard to find pet friendly rooms, I can assure you we will welcome your furry friends with open arms.
We really enjoy having kids and pets just as much as we enjoy our business travelers and conventions participants. The Kids Check-In area is a great place to put a smile on the face of any of our guests’ children (especially after a long day of travel).
We certainly hope to see you again soon.

Dan Nadaeu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We spent four nights here in June as we visited our daughter who lives in the Cleveland Park area. We were greeted warmly by the valet parking staff. We took our car in and out many times during our stay and each time the valet staff was very friendly and attentive. The bellhop who took our luggage to our room was very informative and quickly located another luggage rack for our use. We stayed in the tower and had a very nice room. The room was very comfortable. Our room was quiet and the matress and pillows were very comfortable.

We used the lobby bar two times while we used the internet. The staff was friendly and attentive. We had a very good breakfast in the hotel restaurant. The grounds were beautifully landscaped. I spent two afternoons reading on the hotel patio. This was very relaxing after hours of touring downtown DC. This is in a great neighborhood with many restaurants within walking distance.

My only fault was the lack of wifi in the room. We had to go to the lobby to use our computer and this was spotty regarding reception. We are reward members but were told the lobby was the only place to use our computer. Otherwise we had a great stay. I fact such a good stay that we booked Marriott on our next destination on this trip, the Canadian side of Niagra Falls.

We are only sorry that our daughter is moving to Arlington, VA and we will not have a reason to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WisconsinCubfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WardmanPark, General Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
Dear WisconsinCubFan
Thank you so much for staying with our hotel and for taking the time to write a review! Let me start by saying that I hope you had an amazing time visiting your daughter! She definitely lives in a beautiful park of DC. I am so happy to hear that you had a great arrival experience. I will certainly pass the compliments along to our Parking, Bell-stand and Landscaping Teams. I also appreciate the feedback about the wireless internet. I completely understand how important a fast and reliable internet connection is and I do apologize if our internet was not up to optimal speed. I will certainly work on improving our connection speed and I sincerely hope next time you stay with us you find that it meets you needs.
Thank you again for taking time to help us improve our hotel!
Dan Nadaeu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
156 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

This charming hotel is DC's largest with 1300 some rooms. There are two sections/parts to the hotel. One is newer and a "typical" hotel room can be found there. The great "secret" is the Wardman Tower which is furnished with antiques and provides a haven from the hustle and bustle of the main hotel and DC hurry.

Don't plan on paying rack rates, try for discounts or your pocket book will be burning. Hotel restaurants are just that, however there are some nice neighborhood restaurants right across the street. Be selective on those. Some are lovely, some not. Recommend Petite Plats and Lebanese Taverna. Excellent restaurants ini the Dupont Circle area and Adams Morgan nearby. Downtown is not far either. Metro is right across the street as are a drug store and small market (on Connecticut).

Airport (Reagan/DCA) is @ 15 minutes away by cab for @ $20.00 depending on time of day and tip. You can also book a shuttle at the hotel desk. It is not complimentary. Check in for flights is also near the front desk.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NebraskaPineknot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WardmanPark, General Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
Dear NebraskaPineKnot

Thank you so much for writing such a helpful and informative review about The Wardman Park Marriott! The Wardman Tower certainly is a nice little escape from the conference area as well as a unique experience that offers some amazing views!
When booking a room I certainly encourage you to look for those special rates that we offer on our Marriott.com website. Often guests can book rates that include great little extras at a reduced price!
I certainly hope you get a chance to come stay at our hotel again soon!
Dan Nadaeu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
215 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

This is the second year for the Taking Action for Animals Conference presented by the Humane Society of the U.S. to be held at this hotel and it was part of the reason I decided to go this year. This hotel is amazing. The beds are super-comfortable, the staff is friendly and the food is amazing. The chefs went out of their way to make our conference completely vegan and there were even vegan options and Silk soymilk in the cafe. I am so happy to recommend this hotel, it is the epitome of class, value and style.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WardmanPark, General Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this review, 23 July 2011
Dear Petwriter,
I want to thank you for writing such a wonderful review of your recent stay with us. Having the Taking Action for Animals Conference at our hotel was such a pleasure! We take pride in catering to special needs and requests from our conference groups and it was no exception with the request for a vegan menu. I personally was extremely proud of our associates that diligently made sure every step of our catering, food and beverage offerings were in fact prepared correctly. I will certainly pass the word along that their work did not go un-noticed. Thank you again for such kind words! I truly hope you get the chance to come visit again next year!
Dan Nadaeu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Came down for 4 nights for a conference. When we arrived about 2:30 after an easy Metro ride, we were told our room wasn't ready yet. We waited around about 45 minutes before they called us and told us the room was ready. Because of the wait we were put in a king suite in the old building. The room was AMAZING! Foyer and walk-in closet at the entryway, living room with two couches, a desk, a flat-screen TV, fridge, and coffee table; then, behind that, a lovely dining room table with chandelier and a nice view. The bathroom had a door in the foyer and connected also to the bedroom, which had another desk, a chair, another TV, two bureaus and a huge, comfy bed. It was amazing--huge and luxurious.

We had a lovely four days. The coffee shop was a fine place for breakfast when the conference didn't provide. The older building is a bit of a walk to the main conference space, but that was not a big deal--maybe allow 3 minutes to get to a meeting. The pool was a nice size, but the deck was often too crowded for a seat to be had, especially on the weekend when there were several conferences. The zoo is an easy walk away. There are also a variety of restaurants right across the street--everything from McDonald's and Baskin-Robbins to fancy French and Lebanese cuisine. It is also an easy walk to the Adams-Morgan neighborhood, which also has nice restaurants and fun bars. The fitness room is quite large and features many cardio and weight machines--beyond the expectations of a hotel gym (It also serves as a sports club during certain hours). There is also a beautiful path along the Potomac just behind the hotel perfect for running or biking.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akey1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WardmanPark, General Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this review, 23 July 2011
Dear akey1101
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your stay with us, and for sharing the details of our 24 hour gym, and Illy coffee shop. I am so excited to hear that our front desk team was able to set you up with an upgrade to one of our luxurious suites! The Wardman Tower definitely has a unique charm that truly captures that early 1900’s feel while still providing all the modern amenities and comfort that Marriott is well-known for.
We look forward to having you back again soon!
Dan Nadaeu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Babylon, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights in July, 2011 for a union conference. The American Federation of teachers holds this every 2 years and thousands of members from all over the country attend. The hotel did an amazing job handling all of the accommodations, tech equipment, and facilitating the breakout room activities. For business/conventions this hotel gets a thumbs up. Special thumbs up to Jonathan at the front desk, who helped us out with payment, room check-in, and answered over a dozen questions about where to cash checks! Superb hospitality!

The hotel itself is HUGE. I found it very easy to get lost, but there are signs everywhere to get you where you are going. I did find time to walk around and scope out the place. The Wardman tower is in the original, old building. Here you find exposed brick and many historical references and objects. This is also where the pool is located. It seemed to be a nice size with ample room for chairs and loungers. The grounds of the resort are gorgeous--very well-maintained and aesthetically pleasing.

The rooms are my one gripe. Those located near the elevators/vending machines are very noisy, as you can hear everything going on in the hallways. I was also able to hear the cars and trucks out on the street. Granted, this is not the fault of the hotel, but when you are in seminars for 12 hours a day, it would be nice to have peace and quiet for sleep.

The location was amazing, right above the Woodley Park/National Zoo stop on the red line of the DC Metro. Its only 4 stops from Union Station. The food in the hotel is very expensive and not too good, so make the best of the many restaurants on the block. There is an eatery for every palate out there! The hop-on, hop-off tour bus stops just outside the hotel, as does the public bus that hits all the main attractions around DC. Plus, the National Zoo is only about 3 blocks away.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to business and leisure travelers alike. Just request a room away from the vending/ice machines and elevators.

Room Tip: Request a room away from elevators and vending areas. Wardman tower rooms have the most character a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caribe_chic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,442 reviews
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#100 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,634 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#24 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#83 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Adams Morgan
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#95 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#125 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Marriott Wardman Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott Wardman Park

Property: Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Address: 2660 Woodley Rd NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-4106
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#77 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott Wardman Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you arrive at the Washington Marriott Wardman Park, you'll find a charming neighborhood in the heart of Washington, DC filled with amazing restaurants and quaint shops. Just a few steps away, you'll discover the funky stores and ethnic cuisine of Adams Morgan or the exciting night life of Dupont Circle. Head north to hear the sounds of animals coming from the National Zoo. Or venture into the hotel's natural surroundings to enjoy a quiet hike or invigorating run through Rock Creek Park. With a Metro stop just outside the doors and area airports close by, it's a premier city destination just two Metro stops from everything DC has to offer. We believe that brilliant meetings begin with brilliant space and offer an astounding 195,000 square feet of versatile space that can be customized for groups of all sizes. It's an unmatched place to meet where accommodating venues and equally helpful planners can bring any groups unique ideas to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Washington Marriott Wardman Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing