We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Ranked #103 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Recent Stay”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here for conferences for years. The location is a nice area, but a little far from downtown. The Park Tower was recently renovated. The hotel is a little tired and could use some updating.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    995
    559
    193
    112
See reviews for
369
314
120
1,381
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed at the Marriott Wardman Park with my boyfriend when I had some organizational meetings and activities at the Washington Hilton in nearby Dupont Circle. I ended up with this hotel when I was using Priceline to get a cheaper hotel in the area. First of all, I was very satisfied with the location, being right next to the Metro Woodley Park escalator. Made most all travel much easier. It was a mile walk to the Washington Hilton for meetings, but I enjoyed the walk along Connecticut Ave. My room was in the newer tower (the older one is under major renovation) and was pleasantly appointed. Front desk was very friendly and helpful. I did have a few cons, but they were relatively minor, which is why this gets a 4 out of 5:

CONS:
- Really expensive Internet. $12.95 is a rip off. Glad I have my LTE iPad.
- Down pillows without foam alternatives. King Bed has four pillows, so why not include a few foam ones for people who actually prefer to have their head supported by a pillow?
- Bathroom was okay, but as others have noted, is too small.

Room Tip: If you use Priceline, call Priceline to get the Marriott confirmation number so you can call and add...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad and Tobago
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

The Washington Marriott Wardman Park is the largest convention hotel in Washington and convenient for such purposes. There are many meeting rooms and a few ballrooms, as well as a more than adequate number of guest rooms. Facilities include bar, restaurant, coffee shop, gift shop, gym and comfortable sitting area outside the lift on each floor. However, the guest rooms are quite small and aged in design with the bathrooms being a particularly tight fit. In summary, a comfortable, functional business and convention hotel that is about a 15 minute taxi ride from downtown.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Fly_d_Skies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim R, Resident Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear fly_d_skies,

Thank you for sharing your recent experiences regarding your stay at the Washington, DC Marriott Wardman Park Hotel. We are extremely excited about our upcoming $20,000,000 rooms renovation over the next 18 months that will impact all of our guest rooms and corridors.

Respectfully,
Jim Redington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
230 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I have stayed at this property many times attending an annual healthcare conference each year, and must report this property is in need of major upgrades /renovations for all its rooms. The property has started this with the old tower renovations, however the main building is also in need major work in the hotel rooms. For check in I used the Marriott Mobile App and arrived early to have my room ready. I was up graded to a larger room which featured a sitting area with a couch, large working desk and comfortable pillow top bed. The bathroom was clean, however in need of repair/update with stained walls, sink, and tub from years of use. The room had a odor of some sort which required the use of scented candles to eliminate it. I am confident the main building will be the next to be repaired here. The Concierge Club offers full breakfast and evening foods/drinks and is a welcome addition to my Platinum amenities .
As to convention meeting space, this property is well designed to accommodate large groups in the elegantly designed rooms/halls. The main lobby, restaurants, shopping areas, bar etc., all blend well to accommodate for a very successful meeting experience.
Until the full property is updated, I can not rate this property higher at this time and won't be coming back until it is done.

Room Tip: Avoid hotel until full renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEProfenno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim R, Resident Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear MEProffeno,
Thank you for taking time out of your day to share your experience regarding your recent stay at the Washington, DC Marriott Wardman Park Hotel. I apologize that the age and condition of the building fell short of your standards. We are very excited about our renovation projects over the next 18 months that will address your concerns. Thank you for the positive comments regarding our meeting capabilities, conceirge lounge and staff.

Respectfully,
Jim Redington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Slightly out of town location but right on subway and in a nice and quiet neighbourhood.
Just had my seventh night here after attending convention. I usually find Marriotts ok but the nearer you get to the east coast of the states the worse they get.
Internet in room is intermittent and expensive. How much do you have to spend to get a free internet connection?
Monday - Room not made up because I was working in it until about 4pm.
Thursday - Went to convention (about 1000 people) drinks reception and spend 40 minutes in a queue for a drink . Each drink individually ordered and poured - no one seems to have thought to just pour out a few hundred glasses of wine.
Friday : Laundry left in hotel laundry bag with forms filled all on bed ignored by maid who must have removed it and put it back to make bed. Phone housekeeping - not interested and state that since it is now 1210 they cannot do anything till Monday since cut off is 1200.
A lot of senior staff who maybe aren't so fast and a lot of poor English too.
People in room next to me have some friends in for drinks (or maybe there are four of them in there anyway?) They are just talking - not particlarly loud but I can hear every word if I don't have the TV on.

Do not stay here unless it's for the convenience of attending your convention and then be prepared to pay for the convenience of location with many other incoveniences

Green Features: Even the towells left on the rail were removed . The usual card is in the room but they don't take any notice of it
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LordH64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim R, Resident Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear LordH64,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to share your recent experience regarding your stay at the Washington, DC Marriott Wardman Park Hotel. I am very sorry to read that your stay fell short of expectations. I have reviewed your concerns with our staff at the hotel and I thank you for the constructive feedback.

Respectfully,
Jim Redington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Washington DC hotels

Pittsfield,MA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Recently I stayed at this hotel to attend a very large convention and I stayed for 7 nights. Before I left for DC I read some of the reviews on Trip Advisor and I was frankly feeling a few misgivings about having chosen this hotel even as a convention based site. Well, I have to tell you that I was never sorry from beginning to end once I arrived, beginning at check-in at the front desk where I was greeted in a friendly manner and was treated with the best of courtesy and consideration. There my requests for the location of my room were filled and questions for additional information about "shortcuts" to another hotel and to the adjoining shopping area were met with clear directions and they even provided me with a map of the hotel.

My room was delightful and clean and the temperature comfortable, and I especially enjoyed the marvelous coffee provided in the room. I requested a number of additional decaf servings which were finally provided after two requests by phone. The refrigerator in the room made it possible for me to attend early morning meetings without having to stop for breakfast in a restaurant or stand on the long lines in the morning at the Woodley Market off the lobby and sometimes not to have to dine out for lunch as well if the time was short between sessions. My dinner experiences were all in the hotel since I was alone and chose not to wander far and the Stones Throw and Harry's Bar worked very well for me. The hamburger, pork chops, turkey burger and quesadilla were all tasty and the service was friendly if a liitle reserved . (See my review of the pub setting elsewhere).

When I needed a car to go to Arlington National Cemetery I was given clear information and the trip was arranged and completed. My only complaint here might have been the expense but I required the assurance of transportation that would wait for a return trip which necessitated those arrangements
.
I had stayed in this hotel about 4 times over the last 15 years and it appeared to have undergone renovations particularly in some areas, lobby included. I saw areas from the elevator in the back of the hotel that looked much less modern that the area where I stayed. Perhaps those are the areas that appear in such negative reviews like "Too bad" and "not impressed..." I heard very little of the construction noise in my section which started at what I felt was a reasonable hour in the morning. The gym in the hotel is outstanding compared to other smaller ones I have been to. Lots of equipment of all kinds and friendly front desk staff.

I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again. The location is great and if I had not been alone I would have enjoyed the number of restaurants on the streets below (and have on other trips) .One humorous note--one morning my long skirt became lodged in an escalator. Two other conventioneers were able to locate an escalator technician in no time who was able to reverse the excalator and free me in seconds and because of his quick action the skirt was saved and I could get to my next session. NIce work on the part of that technician!

Room Tip: Ask for the Center Tower--if restaurants are too crowded, time dinner a little later, like 8 Lines...
See more room tips
Green Features: Glad that you are participating. Efforts to save on water by recycling towels are good
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baglady061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I stayed at the Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel for three nights at the end of March. Upon arrival, I was allowed to check into my room at noon (check in is at 4:00 p.m.) and since I had been up since 2:30 a.m. I was very grateful for that. Although I was given a room with two double beds instead of a king, I was happy to just check-in. After unpacking, I went downstairs to the Stone's Throw restaurant for a hamburger. After waiting for my food to arrive, I saw something out of the corner of my eye on the floor. It was a cockroach. It was scurrying all over the place, and then I noticed two of its friends. There I was, trying not to scream while watching 3 cockroaches run all around the bottom of my table.

After quickly finishing my food (you know I must've been starving) I went to the front desk to report the incident. Their response, "oh my, that's no good. I'll let the restaurant know." That was it. Didn't ask my name, my room number, nothing.

Thankfully, those were the only three cockroaches I encountered during the trip, but overall, I found the hotel to be very old, not updated, dirty, and smelly. The hallway leading to my room smelled of vomit. I found several hairs in my "clean" bed; several hairs on the floor in the bathroom upon first arriving. Most of the TV channels were fuzzy. WiFi was $13 per day.

The best thing about the hotel is definitely its location. It's within walking distance of 30+ restaurants and shops and a 2 minute walk to the Metro. That's the only nice thing I have to say...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellyo1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim R, Resident Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear kellyo1126,
Thank you for taking time for sharing your recent experiences regarding your stay at the Washington, DC Marriott Wardman Park Hotel. I am very sorry to read that your stay had various issues regarding cleanliness and condition. While this is certainly an isolated instance I know it had a tremendous impact on how you feel about the hotel. If possible and at your convenience, I would like to discuss the matter in greater detail. I can be reached at 202.328.5640.

Respectfully,
Jim Redington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#65 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,442 reviews
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#99 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,634 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#24 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#80 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Adams Morgan
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#95 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#125 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Marriott Wardman Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott Wardman Park

Property: Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Address: 2660 Woodley Rd NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-4106
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#77 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott Wardman Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you arrive at the Washington Marriott Wardman Park, you'll find a charming neighborhood in the heart of Washington, DC filled with amazing restaurants and quaint shops. Just a few steps away, you'll discover the funky stores and ethnic cuisine of Adams Morgan or the exciting night life of Dupont Circle. Head north to hear the sounds of animals coming from the National Zoo. Or venture into the hotel's natural surroundings to enjoy a quiet hike or invigorating run through Rock Creek Park. With a Metro stop just outside the doors and area airports close by, it's a premier city destination just two Metro stops from everything DC has to offer. We believe that brilliant meetings begin with brilliant space and offer an astounding 195,000 square feet of versatile space that can be customized for groups of all sizes. It's an unmatched place to meet where accommodating venues and equally helpful planners can bring any groups unique ideas to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Washington Marriott Wardman Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing