We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big, impersonal, friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Ranked #102 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
122 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Big, impersonal, friendly”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

If one word could sum up this hotel, that word is BIG. It takes 3 to 4 minutes sometimes to walk from the elevators to the rooms at the far end of the corridor. The staff are in general very friendly and give useful directions about restaurants and public transport. There is free wi-fi in the lobby area but not in the rooms. Breakfast is not included in the room rate. Check-in and check-out are quick and hassle free. There are sometimes big shows at the hotel drawing many young people and these times can be noisy.

Room Tip: Try to get a room near the elevators.
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel makes an effort in this direction. Reminds one to hang up towels and instruct about not changing bedsheets if not required.
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indianguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim R, Resident Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear indianguy,
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to share your recent experience regarding your stay at the Washington, DC Marriott Wardman Park Hotel. We are the largest hotel in Washington, DC and host many conventions throughout the year. I am very sorry to read that this impacted your experience and I am also sorry that we did not make your stay more personal. I do hope you considering returning to the property the next time your travels bring you to Washington, DC.
Best regards,
Jim Redington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    588
    1,006
    562
    195
    113
See reviews for
373
322
121
1,398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
134 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We spent 3 days at the Marriott Wardman over Easter weekend. It is a VERY large convention hotel. There are only 10 floors, so the halls are very long. Luckily, we were at the end of the hallway; a very long walk, but much quieter. We were on the Concierge level and the breakfast was very nice but very busy every morning. The staff was really overwhelmed. Apparently that was the busiest it has ever been. The hotel is perched on a hill, so our room had a nice view of Rock Creek Parkway. It is located directly across the street from the Metro and is only a few blocks from the National Zoo. There are plenty of restaurants walking distance from the hotel as well. The Marriott Wardman Park has beautiful grounds, which were a big surprise for an urban hotel. We really enjoyed all the beautiful tulips that were in full bloom for Easter weekend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livetotravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The location of this hotel to restaurants, the metro, pubs and the liquor stores made this hotel awesome. The rooms were clean (I even checked under the mattresses) and new looking. The breakfast buffet (that you have to pay for) was excellent. My only issue with this hotel is the wifi. Even though it was paid for through my work, there were issues with connectivity and it was a pain to sign in every time. If it had free wifi all through the hotel, I would give it five stars.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimminnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed here for a large work conference. The hotel is nice--the lobby, bar, restaurant are all very comfortable. It is also very close to a Metro station (just across the street), which makes getting around DC very easy. The rooms were average--nothing special. It is about a block away from the National Zoo.
I would stay here again, but it would not be a place that I'd take my family as it seems designed for conferences and the business traveler.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wjdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I've stayed at this hotel numerous times but haven't for at least a couple of years so I was hoping it had improved. Not so much.

The hotel is comprised of both an old and new section--and now my colleagues and I have discovered a "secondary "old section," a basement area built into a hill. You have to go several floors below the lobby level to reach this area, and a room in this section of the hotel looks and smells like a 1960's efficiency apartment. Even in the newer part of the hotel, the standard guest rooms are pretty tired.

In the main part of the hotel, gone is the Starbucks, replaced by an Illy with surly staff and Harry's Pub offers pedestrian fare. Because of the relative isolation of the hotel, the prices are astronomical in its little store. The nearby neighborhood has some cool restaurants and the Metro is convenient--but you won't be in walking distance to some of the hippest D.C. neighborhoods.

If you're lucky enough to stay in the new part of the hotel, hopefully you won't be close to an ice machine--they're the loudest I've ever heard. Combine this with a very rowdy group of teens and adults slamming doors, yelling to one another in the halls and generally causing a ruckus far past midnight on weeknights (security did nothing about this despite calls) and the sleep quality was about zero. I finally got moved to a spacious King bed suite of some type--finally, it was quiet and calm--with a nice view of National Cathedral.

I'm a loyal Marriott fan, and this property has the potential to be a beautiful retreat--but it's not there. With the price being what it is, and with so many other great hotels in this city, I wouldn't settle on this one unless you absolutely must. If I'm required to attend a future conference at this hotel, I'll stay elsewhere and taxi in each day. Bottom line: If you're fussy about where you stay and can afford a choice don't bother with this hotel unless you're in the new part of it--and in a suite.

Room Tip: Ask for the central tower / the newer part of the hotel when you book. If you're disturbed by so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestCoastNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim R, Resident Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Westcoastnomad,
Thank you for taking time out of your day to share your recent experience regarding the Washington, DC Marriott Wardman Park Hotel. I am sorry to read that the property did not meet your expectations. We continue to reinvest in our historic hotel and are delighted to share with you the $20 million dollar renovation of our guest rooms and corridors that will be completed in August, 2015. We will also be replacing carpet in our lobby and meeting foyers that will give the hotel a more sophisticated and modern look. We are committed to keeping Wardman Park at a high level in not only service but product as well.

Respectfully,
Jim Redington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Washington DC hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
280 reviews
205 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 408 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This hotel is in a very nice and less-busy area of the city. I didn't realize how huge this hotel is until I walked in. Similar to the other reviews, this is a great place for a conference, but since I was by myself it was too big for my liking. It didn't help that my room was at the very end of a very long hallway.

The staff was extremely pleasant and check in was quick and easy. The lobby is huge, so there are a lot of places to sit, watch TV, and even drink.

My room was down a long hallway, but it was very quiet. It was decently-sized and the beds were comfortable. I didn't have any complaints about the room. The Wi-Fi wasn't complimentary, and I was having issues logging into the network. I use Wi-Fi all the time but I couldn't figure this one out. Luckily, there's button on the phone that connects you to a central place where they can work out the issues. After about ten minutes, I had internet.

The gym was big, but it was packed when I was there in the morning. There were plenty of towels, and even fruit at the front desk. It was a nice touch.

The Woodley Park Metro stop is just outside the hotel door, so it's very convenient.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoysInNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim R, Resident Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear BoysinNY,
Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience regarding your stay at the Washington, DC Marriott Wardman Park Hotel. I am sorry to read that we were unable to personalize your stay and not make you feel more comfortable given the size of the property.
Best regards,
Jim Redington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Nice large hotel in cute neighborhood close to National Zoo. Clean rooms and hallways. Across the street from Metro and fun places to eat. Close to National cathedral and quick metro ride to DuPont Circle. Good value, great place to see Washington DC from.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les_Allie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#67 of 141 in Washington DC
6,550 reviews
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#99 of 141 in Washington DC
3,704 reviews
Capitol Skyline Hotel
#75 of 141 in Washington DC
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Normandy Hotel
#24 of 141 in Washington DC
946 reviews
Adams Morgan
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#93 of 141 in Washington DC
528 reviews
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#72 of 141 in Washington DC
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Marriott Wardman Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott Wardman Park

Property: Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Address: 2660 Woodley Rd NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-4106
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#77 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott Wardman Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you arrive at the Washington Marriott Wardman Park, you'll find a charming neighborhood in the heart of Washington, DC filled with amazing restaurants and quaint shops. Just a few steps away, you'll discover the funky stores and ethnic cuisine of Adams Morgan or the exciting night life of Dupont Circle. Head north to hear the sounds of animals coming from the National Zoo. Or venture into the hotel's natural surroundings to enjoy a quiet hike or invigorating run through Rock Creek Park. With a Metro stop just outside the doors and area airports close by, it's a premier city destination just two Metro stops from everything DC has to offer. We believe that brilliant meetings begin with brilliant space and offer an astounding 195,000 square feet of versatile space that can be customized for groups of all sizes. It's an unmatched place to meet where accommodating venues and equally helpful planners can bring any groups unique ideas to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Washington Marriott Wardman Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing