We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for convention center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Ranked #102 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good value for convention center”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed recently for a conference.
Normal quality expected for Marriott, with sprawling meeting facilities
That said, it was quite noisy on the second floor- major construction going on across the street.
One of the major surprises was the modest little coffee shop tucked in to the lobby

Room Tip: go for higher floor for quiet there was construction going
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barrhalevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim R, Resident Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Barrhalevi,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to share your recent experiences while staying at the Washington, DC Marriott Wardman Park Hotel. We are currently going through a $20,000,000 renovation which includes a new pool and an updating of all of our guest rooms. We are very excited that this process has begun and we are looking forward to the completion of the project. Thanks again for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Jim Redington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    588
    1,006
    562
    195
    113
See reviews for
373
322
121
1,398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I can only rate this as someone who attended a conference at the hotel for 3 days/2 nights. I thought it was a great hotel especially since I was working the conference. Everything is very close in the hotel, easy to get wifi to work during my down time and lots of places to meet. I was able to meet clients at both Harry's Pub and Stone's Throw...both had good food and very convenient. Room was perfect and service was excellent. I told my wife that we should stay there when we bring the kids to DC for a vacation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welovevacation23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crestline
Level Contributor
211 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I visited this hotel as part of a conference and it was very nice with a bar and great food selection. The restaurant on site was in a good location to overlook the entrance to the large expo area. Many meeting rooms and a large reception area. Separate bar was a little small for the hotel and the coffee bar was rediculously busy and too small for this size hotel. Good thing it was next to metro for easy traveling

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsnutpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
131 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel has a great location near the Metro stop which provides quick access to the national mall. The zoo is just a few minutes walk away. There are lots of sections to this hotel, which may account for the varied reviews. I was placed on the 9th floor of the Park Tower. I travel several times a year to conference hotels on business and this was one of the better rooms I have had in terms of cleanliness and housekeeping. Perhaps I had a more recently refurbished room.

Pros:
Lots of fluffy pillows
clean, no mildew in shower
fridge
safe
generous size for a non suite room
shower - no water temp flux, good pressure
coffee maker
towels soft, clean
catered food - good tasting - mac and cheese, brisket, salad, pink lemonade, salad..
Restaurant food (Stone's throw), good, good service
good climate control in room
bath gel and soap provided
staff on the ground in the conference center to direct us around - fabulous
Housekeeping was very quick to turn the room after I left in the morning, and they respected my door sign and didn't wake me up by knocking in the morning like other places.

Cons:
Fluffy pillows go flat instantly
Dead zones - texts delay going out or don't, phones go into roaming in rooms and in conference rooms and calls sometimes wont go out at all
In room Wireless - struggles some, logs you out too often, but better than most (my conference provided it free)
Shower head does not move, a bit too close to the grab bar in the shower
No towel bar for handtowel next to sink
Thin walls, could hear neighbor's TV every night. They are placed next to door to adjoining room, which does not help.
Loud doors in the hallways when they close by themselves.
Food - both on property meals disagreed with me
Not enough bedding (no blanket) for A/C (works almost too well!)
The Provided soaps a little "spicy/strong" smelling..some said smelled almost like cologne.
Confusing layout in the conference areas...even with lots of signage
Area where conferences use for their check in desk - freezing cold a/c
Some conference meeting rooms were a bit chilly, but bearable

No hotel is perfect, but this stay was, as I said, more pleasant than most for a conference experience. I'd be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for if they have more newly refurbished rooms. Perhaps request a room on a shorter hallway to a...
See more room tips
Green Features: No recycling in rooms. Did see a few bins in conference center.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Csaw712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

This is a generally good hotel in terms of the rooms and other facilities - no complaints there, everything was fine.

What wasn't good was the service in the lounge/lobby. I spent lots of time in this area alongside the conference I was attending and it was consistently bad. There were 2 main servers who were completely incapable of providing adequate service. On one occasion only one member of staff was on duty, which was during a World Cup match and it was impossible to order. She kept saying "in a minute" and then never returning. The bar tender also said he couldn't take food orders and didn't know the menu.

On the second occasion myself and a fellow diner at the next table found that there was a window preceding 4pm where the server said, you can't order from the day menu as the evening menu is about to come into effect, OK no problem can I order from the night menu - "no, not for 10 minutes" came the response. She was then rude and obstructive, so decided not to order. Simply awful and not what I'd expect from a hotel of this standard!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank GlobalTravelPro-007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim R, Resident Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Peter R.,
Thank you for taking time to share your experiences regarding your recent stay at the Washington, DC Marriott Wardman Park Hotel. I am very sorry to read about your experiences in our food and beverage outlets. I have shared your review with our Director of Food and Beverage and I know he will be addressing each issue. Our goal is to provide an exceptional experience thorughout the entire hotel and I am sorry that our food and beverage team fell short of providing acceptable service. We will use your review as an opportunity for training for those staff members.

Sincerely,
Jim Redington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Washington DC hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

There is a lot to say about this hotel. I will start with the bad. The rooms are just okay. They provide the basics, so nothing spectacular there. The bathroom is small, shower head is very low on the wall, the bed skirt was filthy and so was the shower curtain liner. In addition, the lighting is bad and walls are extremely thin - I could hear the guy next door using the bathroom when it was quiet. Parking rates were almost insulting at $41/self, $46/valet. "Complimentary" Wi-fi was spotty in the lobby. The room was freezing and there were no extra blankets in the closet.

The good: The building itself is beautiful. Conference facilities were excellent, everything was easy to find. With such a large group at the conference I was surprised that the food was superb. Elevators were always fast and the location was great. Keep in mind the hotel sits on a hill (for those with mobility issues), however the grounds are very well kept. There is construction going on, which may affect those light sleepers facing the rear entrance. As well, there is no pool right now, so if you're booking this summer bear that in mind. The fitness center is large and has everything in terms of equipment.

The customer service at this hotel is top notch. The staff are an absolute joy and extremely helpful. However, I prefer to stay at the Renaissance, so if this trip wasn't for business purposes, this hotel would not have been my first choice.

Although the metro is right here, the red line is unpredictable on weekends due to track work and may not even be running at all. So plan ahead to take shuttles to the closest running metro stop on weekends.

If you're here on business or with family, this is good as long as everything is clean. Couples and friends could get a better value further into Dupont, Thomas Circle or Chinatown, which offers more social and dining options within walking distance. If this doesn't matter, these locations are also a short cab ride away.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, you need a higher floor NOT facing the rear entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferAH11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim R, Resident Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear JenniferAH11,
Thank you for taking time to share your experiences regarding your recent stay at the Washington, DC Marriott Wardman Park Hotel. I have shared your review with the team here at the hotel. I also wanted to let you know that we are beginning a $20,000,000 renovation project that will update all the guest rooms and public space. We do hope that you have the opportunity to stay with us once the project is complete.

Sincerely,
Jim Redington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The hotel was the center point for my stay. It was comfortable and safe. More than enough options for dining and the free zoo is nearby. The train station is on the corner and a large park a park away.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthJerseySulio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#67 of 141 in Washington DC
6,550 reviews
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#99 of 141 in Washington DC
3,704 reviews
Capitol Skyline Hotel
#75 of 141 in Washington DC
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Normandy Hotel
#24 of 141 in Washington DC
946 reviews
Adams Morgan
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#93 of 141 in Washington DC
528 reviews
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#72 of 141 in Washington DC
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Marriott Wardman Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott Wardman Park

Property: Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Address: 2660 Woodley Rd NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-4106
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#77 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott Wardman Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you arrive at the Washington Marriott Wardman Park, you'll find a charming neighborhood in the heart of Washington, DC filled with amazing restaurants and quaint shops. Just a few steps away, you'll discover the funky stores and ethnic cuisine of Adams Morgan or the exciting night life of Dupont Circle. Head north to hear the sounds of animals coming from the National Zoo. Or venture into the hotel's natural surroundings to enjoy a quiet hike or invigorating run through Rock Creek Park. With a Metro stop just outside the doors and area airports close by, it's a premier city destination just two Metro stops from everything DC has to offer. We believe that brilliant meetings begin with brilliant space and offer an astounding 195,000 square feet of versatile space that can be customized for groups of all sizes. It's an unmatched place to meet where accommodating venues and equally helpful planners can bring any groups unique ideas to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Washington Marriott Wardman Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing