We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Ranked #103 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Wilmington, DE
2 reviews
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great hotel! Built as a conference hotel and the location is amazing. Subway is just around the corner. Good restaurants (District Kitchen is quite good). Zoo is just a block away. No pool, though!
It is located in a safe area with a convenient store across the street.
I read some reviews about bed bugs, we didn't find any problem with this hotel.
Staff is nice, when checking out, you can leave your luggage in a safe room where only staff can have access.

Room Tip: Double rooms are full size beds (no queen bed)! You can tighly fit an additional roll-in foldable b...
See more room tips
Green Features: Amazing service! Staff is nice. There is a pub in the hotel where you can eat dinner. Also a cafe area and a small restaurant.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maracega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    995
    559
    193
    112
See reviews for
369
314
120
1,382
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is the second time we've stayed at the Wardman Park, around July 4th (2013 & 2014). First, the pros (from the perspective of a tourist):

- The location is fantastic. It's across the street from the Woodley Park metro station, and down the street from the National Zoo. There are plenty of restaurants nearby off Connecticut Ave. Heading to the national mall is a long walk, but if you enjoy walking, it's pleasant. Just remember that it's downhill to the mall, and uphill on the return.
- The price of a room was great for the area.
- The hotel itself was very nice. The front desk was friendly. We didn't use other services this time, but last year, we ate at the hotel restaurants, and enjoyed it.
- We heard noise from people in the hall, but didn't hear anything from adjacent rooms.

The cons (again, as a tourist):
- If you have to park, the overnight rate is quite expensive. At least the garage was clean and felt safe.
- Our 2nd floor room was comfortable, but the shower is really old. The shower head is much too low (I'm six feet and I had to duck to wash my hair). Still, it was serviceable and nothing was broken.
- The hotel is a bit maze-like, since there are multiple towers. Coming from the parking garage, the floor #8 of the park tower meets the ground floor of the main lobby. Why shouldn't the park tower floors be 1,2,3.. for above ground and P1, P2, P3,... for below ground, instead of starting with floor 1 = several levels down inside the parking garage?


The hotel seems ideally suited for big conventions, so be aware that there might be something going on when you plan your trip. There happened to be two large gatherings when we were there last year. This wasn't a big problem, but it did mean there were more people all at the restaurants or trying to use the computers around the same time.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor if you need a scenic view. Our second floor window faced... some ductwork and...
See more room tips
Green Features: The bathroom hand soap was a gel in a tiny plastic squeeze tube. Assuming the tubes aren't reused, it would be a whole lot greener to just stick with the tiny bar soap in a tiny paper box.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMOTSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deephaven
Level Contributor
221 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is a really large hotel. I believe it may be the biggest in the city. The rooms are also very large. That being said, the two beds were really small in that large room. I think they were doubles. They could have fit two king sized beds in there and they should have! The breakfast buffet was really good-- I would really recommend it. Great service in the restaurant and with the valet parking. We valet parked our car and walked to the zoo after breakfast. I liked the location because it was close to the zoo.

Room Tip: We traveled with our 3 kids and were able to get a roll-away too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missymalloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My family and I stayed here for our vacation to D.C. This was a very convenient location to the metro to be able to get to all the monuments and museums. It is also very convenient to the National Zoo, within a couple of blocks and within walking distance. Metro stop is right at the corner outside at the end of the hotel driveway. We were also very impressed with the customer service. We ate at the restaurant and utilized room service during our stay. For both our service was excellent, my wife has special dietary needs and they were very attentive to this and accommodating, as opposed to other restaurants we have encountered. When dining in the restaurant the waiter even brought the Chef out to speak with my wife to ensure her needs were properly addressed, once the meal was delivered, the Chef even came back out to check on everything. This was well above and beyond in my opinion and something that is not encountered at other places. I give great kudos to this hotel and its staff and would recommend this place over any others in a heart beat. Rest assured if/when we return to the D.C. area we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpt153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed recently for a conference.
Normal quality expected for Marriott, with sprawling meeting facilities
That said, it was quite noisy on the second floor- major construction going on across the street.
One of the major surprises was the modest little coffee shop tucked in to the lobby

Room Tip: go for higher floor for quiet there was construction going
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barrhalevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim R, Resident Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Barrhalevi,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to share your recent experiences while staying at the Washington, DC Marriott Wardman Park Hotel. We are currently going through a $20,000,000 renovation which includes a new pool and an updating of all of our guest rooms. We are very excited that this process has begun and we are looking forward to the completion of the project. Thanks again for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Jim Redington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I can only rate this as someone who attended a conference at the hotel for 3 days/2 nights. I thought it was a great hotel especially since I was working the conference. Everything is very close in the hotel, easy to get wifi to work during my down time and lots of places to meet. I was able to meet clients at both Harry's Pub and Stone's Throw...both had good food and very convenient. Room was perfect and service was excellent. I told my wife that we should stay there when we bring the kids to DC for a vacation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welovevacation23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crestline
Level Contributor
211 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I visited this hotel as part of a conference and it was very nice with a bar and great food selection. The restaurant on site was in a good location to overlook the entrance to the large expo area. Many meeting rooms and a large reception area. Separate bar was a little small for the hotel and the coffee bar was rediculously busy and too small for this size hotel. Good thing it was next to metro for easy traveling

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsnutpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#65 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,444 reviews
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#99 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,641 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#24 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#80 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Adams Morgan
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#95 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#125 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Marriott Wardman Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott Wardman Park

Property: Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Address: 2660 Woodley Rd NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-4106
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#77 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott Wardman Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you arrive at the Washington Marriott Wardman Park, you'll find a charming neighborhood in the heart of Washington, DC filled with amazing restaurants and quaint shops. Just a few steps away, you'll discover the funky stores and ethnic cuisine of Adams Morgan or the exciting night life of Dupont Circle. Head north to hear the sounds of animals coming from the National Zoo. Or venture into the hotel's natural surroundings to enjoy a quiet hike or invigorating run through Rock Creek Park. With a Metro stop just outside the doors and area airports close by, it's a premier city destination just two Metro stops from everything DC has to offer. We believe that brilliant meetings begin with brilliant space and offer an astounding 195,000 square feet of versatile space that can be customized for groups of all sizes. It's an unmatched place to meet where accommodating venues and equally helpful planners can bring any groups unique ideas to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Washington Marriott Wardman Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing