We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge hotel - spacious rooms - good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Washington Marriott Wardman Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Ranked #103 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Fredrikstad
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Huge hotel - spacious rooms - good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Our family of 7 stayed here during 4. July and we just love Washington!
The hotel is a large conference hotel, but worked well for us. We appreciated large clean rooms but make sure you get the wifi included in the price.
Hotel is very close to a Metro station that will take you down town in a few minutes. We only travelled with Metro. Did not need car. While down-town we used the bikes you can rent for almost free.

Room Tip: Try to get a price which includes Wifi and parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larscdahle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    972
    544
    187
    110
See reviews for
359
307
118
1,337
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Golden, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I have stayed at a number of Marriott hotels and this one, while beautiful was definitely struggling with some basics. They had my reservation but put me in the wrong room type and then when they put me in the correct room type (granted, this happened quickly) the king sized room was incredibly small to the point that I had to close the bathroom door to get to the main door. The room itself was nice looking but the sheets were very rough and the pillows all smelled of either body odor or mildew. I asked for others but they too smelled. I have never had this issue before at a hotel so it was very strange. I ordered room service because luckily I had per diem but the meal was incredibly expensive, even for room service. I was attending a conference and the facilities were very nice. The issue happened to be that I could get wifi in June room but could not access it in any of the presentation areas. Overall, I would not recommend this hotel. There are nicer hotels in the a area if you have a conference in the Marriott.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Briceland M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim R, Resident Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Briceland B.,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your most recent stay at the Washington, DC Marriott Wardman Park Hotel. Our goal at Wardman Park is to exceed all of our customer's expectations and I am sorry that your stay was less than perfect and the property and service fell short of your expectations. I have shared your review with the appropriate departments and will be sure to personally address your concerns with the leadership in those areas.

Respectfully,
Jim Redington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Washington DC hotels

Stanfordville
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Spent the July 4 week at the Wardman Park. The experience was great. Room had a view of the Fireworks. I was exceptionally maintained. The staff were very helpful. Location was great. It was near the zoo, Dupont Circle, and Adams Morgan.. Metro was a short walk from the hotel. Although the minimal incline upon return was a little tough to take. Great health club facility. I can't wait to return which will be soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
125 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great location. Close to the metro, zoo and many other local attractions. It's also walking distance to restaurants. Standard room was plenty big for 2 people. I would stay here again when I visit the D.C area again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here for a meeting in June. The location cannot be beat. The Metro station is a short walk down the driveway. The Zoo and the National Cathedral are within walking distance. But my room was in the Park Tower and I swear it was a 5 minute walk from the lobby and meeting area to my room.
The bed was comfortable and the room was clean but my view was of a parking garage and other hotel towers. The hotel restaurant was closed for dinner and the pub had a limited menu but there were numerous dining options just outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't take a room in the Park Tower unless you like walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DAYLOLLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, DE
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great hotel! Built as a conference hotel and the location is amazing. Subway is just around the corner. Good restaurants (District Kitchen is quite good). Zoo is just a block away. No pool, though!
It is located in a safe area with a convenient store across the street.
I read some reviews about bed bugs, we didn't find any problem with this hotel.
Staff is nice, when checking out, you can leave your luggage in a safe room where only staff can have access.

Room Tip: Double rooms are full size beds (no queen bed)! You can tighly fit an additional roll-in foldable b...
See more room tips
Green Features: Amazing service! Staff is nice. There is a pub in the hotel where you can eat dinner. Also a cafe area and a small restaurant.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maracega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is the second time we've stayed at the Wardman Park, around July 4th (2013 & 2014). First, the pros (from the perspective of a tourist):

- The location is fantastic. It's across the street from the Woodley Park metro station, and down the street from the National Zoo. There are plenty of restaurants nearby off Connecticut Ave. Heading to the national mall is a long walk, but if you enjoy walking, it's pleasant. Just remember that it's downhill to the mall, and uphill on the return.
- The price of a room was great for the area.
- The hotel itself was very nice. The front desk was friendly. We didn't use other services this time, but last year, we ate at the hotel restaurants, and enjoyed it.
- We heard noise from people in the hall, but didn't hear anything from adjacent rooms.

The cons (again, as a tourist):
- If you have to park, the overnight rate is quite expensive. At least the garage was clean and felt safe.
- Our 2nd floor room was comfortable, but the shower is really old. The shower head is much too low (I'm six feet and I had to duck to wash my hair). Still, it was serviceable and nothing was broken.
- The hotel is a bit maze-like, since there are multiple towers. Coming from the parking garage, the floor #8 of the park tower meets the ground floor of the main lobby. Why shouldn't the park tower floors be 1,2,3.. for above ground and P1, P2, P3,... for below ground, instead of starting with floor 1 = several levels down inside the parking garage?


The hotel seems ideally suited for big conventions, so be aware that there might be something going on when you plan your trip. There happened to be two large gatherings when we were there last year. This wasn't a big problem, but it did mean there were more people all at the restaurants or trying to use the computers around the same time.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor if you need a scenic view. Our second floor window faced... some ductwork and...
See more room tips
Green Features: The bathroom hand soap was a gel in a tiny plastic squeeze tube. Assuming the tubes aren't reused, it would be a whole lot greener to just stick with the tiny bar soap in a tiny paper box.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GMOTSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,132 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#25 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Adams Morgan
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#96 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#99 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,538 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#124 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
#46 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Marriott Wardman Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott Wardman Park

Property: Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Address: 2660 Woodley Rd NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-4106
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#77 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott Wardman Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you arrive at the Washington Marriott Wardman Park, you'll find a charming neighborhood in the heart of Washington, DC filled with amazing restaurants and quaint shops. Just a few steps away, you'll discover the funky stores and ethnic cuisine of Adams Morgan or the exciting night life of Dupont Circle. Head north to hear the sounds of animals coming from the National Zoo. Or venture into the hotel's natural surroundings to enjoy a quiet hike or invigorating run through Rock Creek Park. With a Metro stop just outside the doors and area airports close by, it's a premier city destination just two Metro stops from everything DC has to offer. We believe that brilliant meetings begin with brilliant space and offer an astounding 195,000 square feet of versatile space that can be customized for groups of all sizes. It's an unmatched place to meet where accommodating venues and equally helpful planners can bring any groups unique ideas to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Washington Marriott Wardman Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing