We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, friendly staff, paid internet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Ranked #103 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, friendly staff, paid internet”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very clean and in a nice area with lots of restaurants within walking distance as well as the national zoo. Rooms are standard but comfortable. The staff are really great and accommodating. If they would step into the current times and open the internet I would rate higher. At this point in time internet should be standard, not $15 a day, what is this the Ritz where people want to be ripped off?

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank swingerhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    995
    559
    193
    113
See reviews for
370
314
120
1,383
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This hotel is beautiful. The outside is amazing, I sat in the garden more than I did inside. The parking deck is clean and well lit so it appears safe. The lobby is very nice and adds a wow factor. The room was a basic full service room... a room with a bed and bathroom. For the most part it was nice and pretty clean.
The Location is amazing!! This hotel is only a few minute walk from the zoo and a load of restaurants. It's also super helpful to have the metro station literally outside the front door.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, CT
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

When I arrived here, I was told that this was the biggest hotel in Washington DC. It certainly feels big, but bigger isn't necessarily better. And, in this case, that is pretty much what it all amounts to. Another reviewer called this a "convention" hotel. That is very accurate. It's huge with a great many meeting rooms of all sizes and multiple towers to accommodate a large number of guests. The week I was there it was unseasonably mild for DC in the summer, mid 70's at best. The hotel air conditioning didn't get the memo. It was FREEZING inside the meeting rooms and in the mini lobby outside of the elevators on the 4th floor where my room was located, it had to have been under 60 degrees Fahrenheit. I'm talking down jacket cold! My room was neat, smallish, with a view of a rooftop. The bathroom was tiny. The bed was the best thing about the hotel. Pillows were top notch and the mattress just perfect. I would have slept well if not for the teenagers in the hall until all hours making noise. There were teenagers all over the hotel almost every night I was there (for a week). Due to the size of the hotel, teen groups tend to favor staying here apparently. Not a big attraction if you are seeking quiet at night.

The staff was courteous but didn't go out of their way to be either friendly or helpful. They lacked that signature Marriott "eagerness" to please. No one seemed to care if I was having a good stay or not. The food was absolutely horrible. Several restaurants on premises, all serving essentially the same mediocre food. Our internally catered lunches and dinners were near inedible. If I was a college freshman, the food would have been OK, I guess, but I'm a businessman and after a long day of lectures and work I want something a little more enjoyable than food court quality offerings. Even breakfast was decidedly unremarkable. What happened to the fresh baked muffins that Marriott used to be known for?

Overall the physical plant had a tired feeling to it as well. The front entrance is adjacent to what is essentially a construction zone. Loud, banging and dirty with trucks and lots of construction and equipment. No attempt was made to hide this or otherwise make it look nice during this construction, which appears to be a singificantly long term project. It's just an additional demerit on an already mediocre report card for this hotel. With so many spectacular hotels in DC, it's amazing to me that anyone comes here. While they do have the space to accommodate large groups, clearly they are not making much of an effort to offer anything more than that space and an over abundance of unwanted air conditioning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justwarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim R, Resident Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear justwarren,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your most recent stay at the Washington, DC Marriott Wardman Park Hotel. Our goal at Wardman Park is to exceed all of our customer's expectations and I am sorry that your stay was less than perfect and the property and service fell short of your expectations. I have shared your review with the appropriate departments and will be sure to personally address your concerns with the leadership in those areas. I would certainly like to discuss your concern directly. If possible and at your convenience please contact me at 202.328.2000.

Regards,
Jim Redington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I recently stayed here with my husband for his fraternity's centennial celebration. The hotel was large and very accommodating. The rooms are nice and each room comes has a refrigerator, which was very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L_B_Idlebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano, Italia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The Marriott Wardman is a very dependable hotel in D.C.. I have stayed multiple times and have never had to complain about anything. Great facilities for conventions, but not only. Comprehensive services by professional staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AugustoPellegrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Loved this hotel, and if only there were a pool, it would be perfect! Super nice! Fast food or fine cuisine all within walking distance. National zoo is only a 10 minute walk. The rooms are very comfortable and stylish. The variety of restaurants in the hotel make it so that you don't even have to leave if you don't want to. Front desk was eager to accommodate any request. I will definitely stay here again if I ever have the chance!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ameescar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I was recently at the Marriott Wardman Park for a conference and definitely had some very positive experiences and some negative. In looking at the areas of concern first: I will start with the bathroom. I stayed in a king bed room and although the bathroom design best utilized the space with a space saver sink and wall shelving the shower needs work. I am only 5'3" tall and the shower head hit me at the top of the neck. I cannot imagine anyone over 5'6" being able to adequately shower in there. There was also some indication of some possible water damage on the ceiling of the shower. The only towel rack was in the shower! I was staying by myself but wondered how if my husband had traveled with me we would have dried two bath towels without hanging them over the shower curtain rod. My other concern were the conference rooms themselves. The rooms were well tended and very clean. However, they were freezing! Luckily I had read other reviews and brought sweaters (in July) for all of my outfits. The Lincoln rooms which are on the lowest level were especially cold.
On the positives, the hotel common areas were very neat, clean and well staffed. The hotel is difficult to navigate and there were staff at every juncture to assist you in finding where you wanted to go. I was especially impressed with one particular female staff member who was especially chipper and welcomed each of us every morning with greetings and directions. The food was quite good and the food at the pub was beautifully presented. Our conference also had the continental breakfasts catered by the hotel in the mornings which were very well done. The food was kept warm when appropriate with adequate amount for all 2000 attendees. The crustless quiches were a welcome surprise for what was billed as a continental breakfast and the fruit was all very fresh. The hotel fitness area was well maintained and had nice equipment. I was able to get my workout in for 3 consecutive days and had to wait for cardio equipment only once. I have traveled to several other conferences over the years and the audio/visual equipment usually has difficulties. I was impressed with the amount of rooms we utilized and audio/visual resources that I never saw difficulty in any presentation.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel for a future conference. It was large enough for a large group and in a nice area of town with local restaurants easily accessible and close to the metro. I would recommend that Marriott look into the shower heads in the bathrooms and the temperatures in the conference rooms though.

Room Tip: The hotel is currently undergoing construction but they do not seem to work late or too very early i...
See more room tips
Green Features: I left the do not disturb sign on my door so that they would not waste water/chemicals washing so many towels and linens. In response a bag of fresh towels was left on my door. I then requested that they not waste fresh towels daily on my room and my request was respected.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,461 reviews
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#99 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,645 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#23 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#81 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Adams Morgan
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#96 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#124 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Marriott Wardman Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott Wardman Park

Property: Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Address: 2660 Woodley Rd NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-4106
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#77 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott Wardman Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you arrive at the Washington Marriott Wardman Park, you'll find a charming neighborhood in the heart of Washington, DC filled with amazing restaurants and quaint shops. Just a few steps away, you'll discover the funky stores and ethnic cuisine of Adams Morgan or the exciting night life of Dupont Circle. Head north to hear the sounds of animals coming from the National Zoo. Or venture into the hotel's natural surroundings to enjoy a quiet hike or invigorating run through Rock Creek Park. With a Metro stop just outside the doors and area airports close by, it's a premier city destination just two Metro stops from everything DC has to offer. We believe that brilliant meetings begin with brilliant space and offer an astounding 195,000 square feet of versatile space that can be customized for groups of all sizes. It's an unmatched place to meet where accommodating venues and equally helpful planners can bring any groups unique ideas to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Washington Marriott Wardman Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing