We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotty service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Ranked #43 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
302 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Spotty service”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

This hotel is conveniently located for the convention center and the National Portrait Gallery and close to other museums on the Mall. It's hard to say much about the "value" of DC hotels because each hotel's prices range all over the place, depending on the level of convention business (and special events like cherry blossom time). If your schedule is flexible and you want good prices, look for times when there is no business going on such as around July 4th and other holidays. Since this trip was business paid by someone else (who made the booking) I don't even know what the price was. However, I do know that the hotel was pretty disorganized. The room booked for me was supposed to include breakfast but when I checked in they said it didn't. There were about ten of us in the group, so I contacted the organizer the next morning who spent a considerable amount of time trying to get the situation corrected before the others were denied breakfast - with no success. They did provide us with breakfast coupons for the next morning, but frankly after I ate the breakfast I wished I hadn't - it just didn't taste very good and the fried potatoes left a bad taste in the mouth, like the fat had been sitting around a while.. I used to like Courtyards - they used to have a moderately priced breakfast buffet of cold items with optional hot items cooked to order. Maybe other Courtyards do but this was disappointing. The hotel has an indoor pool, although it is so small as to be a joke as far as I am concerned. You couldn't use it for exercise. The gym was split between two rooms, one with four treadmills and two elliptical trainers, the other with a weight machine and a set of weights. Half of the weight machine was non-functional because of a broken line, and had probably been that way a while. The first morning I was there, the elevator wouldn't respond to the call buttons on the main floor. When an elevator arrived (by virtue of someone having used it to come down to the floor) a hotel employee got off. I mentioned the problem to the employee and he totally ignored me, walking right by and going over to the desk. I went to the desk and mentioned it again and he took my room key card from my hand - although I protested that the card was not the problem, and disappeared. The desk clerk said that he had gone to find the engineer. When the elevators started working again, I had to wait around for the guy to come back with my key. I wouldn't stay at this hotel again by choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gogocar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rshorter913, Manager at Courtyard Washington Convention Center, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments. We apologize for the many inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. The service that you received is not reflected of our hotel and the Marriott Courtyard brand.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to amend the many challenges of your last visit and deliver the Courtyard brand experiences, exceeding your expectations.

Warm regards,

Ralph Shorter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    530
    381
    118
    33
    12
See reviews for
371
243
63
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I have been staying in Marriott hotels for many years, both on business and for pleasure. The Courtyard group has always been very good value and is my preferred choice when I do not need the full service fancy restaurant experience. This particular Courtyard is one of the best, if not THE best in the group. Free internet, cocktail appetisers for 5pm - 7pm, good buffet breakfast at weekends, gym & pool, great accommodation and a superb location. But the best feature of this place is the staff. They were very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble, creating a relaxed atmosphere with a first class 'can do' service attitude. Every department had the same ethic including front desk, concierge, restaurant/cafe, health. They even provide open access to a small business module with printer for everybody's use.
I look forward to visiting again....
Rob Warriner

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobWarriner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rshorter913, Manager at Courtyard Washington Convention Center, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit with us and found our location ideal and staff so friendly and helpful. We strive to exceed our guest expectations and are glad you enjoyed our daily guest "thank you" reception as well. We are looking forward to your next visit with us.

Warm regards,

Ralph shorter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is a nice hotel to stay at for a family trip to DC. The location is perfect -- two blocks in one direction to the Chinatown Metro, and 3 blocks in the other to the Metro Center Metro. The kids enjoyed the pool. The hotel was clean and comfortable, and was walking distance to many great restaurants. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravel5525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rshorter913, Manager at Courtyard Washington Convention Center, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you for your visit and comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your visit and found our location ideal and staff so friendly and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Warm regards,

Ralph Shorter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo,DR/NYC, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

For the past three years I've been a patron for a week each time. This hotel is the cleanest, service superb, staff extremely friendly and fluent in various languages.
there is coffee and tea free in the lobby and 4 computers for the guests. As the actual hotel is not shown in the list I want to stress the fact that I stayed at the Courtyard Marriot in Winsconsin ave. Chevy Chase, Md.

Room Tip: Reserve in advance, you won't regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vigaralva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rshorter913, Manager at Courtyard Washington Convention Center, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
We appreciate your visit and comments and glad you enjoyed your stay. We take great pride delivering to our guest exceeded expectations for both short and extended stays. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again in future.


Warm regards,

Ralph Shorter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
193 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The Courtyard at Washington Convention Center meets the Marriott standard -- well-equipped rooms and well-maintained property. The location is within a former bank-building that retains on the lobby-level vestiges of being a bank (vault, etc). However, the rooms on the upper floors have the usual character of a "chain-hotel" -- standardized but not very interesting.

Service is very good -- front desk is helpful with room-assignment and with maps and directions.

If satisfied with staying in a standardized Marriott property, this should fit the bill -- but if seeking something distinctive, you may want to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rshorter913, Manager at Courtyard Washington Convention Center, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments from your recent visit. We are one of the most mature structural properties in Washington Dc, and as you experienced our outstanding service, updated rooms and amenities continue to give us the competitive edge over our competitors. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your future visits.

Warm regards,

Ralph Shorter,
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Helpful staff, clean, well maintained. It is everything a Marriott should be and nothing you can really remember. A safe but dull bet.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rshorter913, Manager at Courtyard Washington Convention Center, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy that our hotel and guestroom amenities were adequate for your stay. While you experienced a safe environment, we are disappointed that you thought our hotel surroundings were dull. The Nation’s Capital is a landmark for tourism, perhaps on your next visit our Concierge team can connect with you and suggest some must see sites.

Once again we appreciate your visit and hope to see you soon.

Warm regards,

Ralph Shorter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This Courtyard Marriott has an excellent staff who work extremely hard making your stay quite comfortable. The location is perfect as it is literally less than 100 yards from the metro. The rooms are very comfortable and brand new. I highly recommend staying at this location.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#48 of 141 in Washington DC
955 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#95 of 141 in Washington DC
165 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#64 of 141 in Washington DC
2,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#45 of 141 in Washington DC
471 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#65 of 141 in Washington DC
790 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#58 of 141 in Washington DC
2,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Washington Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Washington Convention Center

Property: Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Address: 900 F St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1404
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Washington Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Washington Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Washington Hotel
Courtyard Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott
Washington Dc Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing