We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Ranked #43 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My husband and I decided on a quick trip to DC for the weekend. We chose this hotel because of it's proximity to the Metro Station, Smithsonians, restaurants and the Mall. I requested an early check-in since our flight arrived at 7am into Reagan. Took the yellow line straight to Gallery Place/Chinatown station...got to the Courtyard before 8am! Checked in at the hotel and they were able to get us our room. Room was on the 10th (top) floor. It was quite small and did not have a view of anything (unless you consider the space between 2 buildings a view.) It didn't matter to us. It was very clean, quiet, comfortable bed and just what we needed. We were not in the room much anyway. Everyone was very friendly. Very convenient (few blocks) to the Mall and the Smithsonians. Some of the best restaurants were in this area too. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cincytraveler621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    383
    120
    33
    12
See reviews for
376
246
64
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

This hotel is in a great location. Near the Ford Theater, Spy Museum, National Art Gallery, Convention Center, Metro. When you take the Metro be aware that there is a $1 surcharge for using a paper ticket, even though that is the only ticket you can buy. If you don't add the $1 to your fare you can't exit at your destination. There are machines there where you can add a dollar but they only take cash. We walked to the Mall and the attractions there. On the way to the Mall, corner of Pennsylvania and 9th is a great restaurant for breakfast and lunch, Paul. It is French but very reasonably priced and the bread and also coffee is to die for. They also have freshly squeezed orange juice and fantastic croissants. We ate there 4 times in 5 days. We stayed on the 8th floor and the room was quiet, clean and reasonably spacious. We had access to the concierge lounge. That was a little disappointing. One morning they ran out of coffee. One evening they had no hot snacks (they said the chef was not in tonight). Anyway, we would still stay there on our next visit to DC

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor. Limits noise from the street below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tfaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I booked it through expedia flights and tickets from toronto to washing dc came up to 590.00 per person.
Excellent location , near most of the museums and cab ride from airport to hotel was 15-16 dollars. Staff was very friendly and they had free water bottles for the customers great for this humid weather. they had weekend happy in the evening with complimentary fresh fruits and juice. Will be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JASHFAQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rshorter913, Operations Manager at Courtyard Washington Convention Center, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit with us and found our location ideal. We strive to exceed our guest expectations and are glad you enjoyed the complimentary food offerings. We are looking forward to your next visit with us.

Warm regards,

Ralph Shorter Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canandaigua, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We spent four days in DC...This Hotel is in a great location and in walking distance from all the museums and monuments. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. We loved this Hotel and would recommend it to anyone staying in DC. An AWESOME place!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rshorter913, Operations Manager at Courtyard Washington Convention Center, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Thank you for your visit and comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your four-day visit with us and found our location ideal, staff so friendly and helpful. We agree that we have an awesome hotel and strive daily towards exceeding our guest expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Warm regards,

Ralph Shorter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

The Courtyard Marriott Washington D.C. is built in a vintage bank building which explains the quirkiness of it's space and its character. The tiny pool and spa is built in the old bank vault. The signage on the stairwell leading from the main lobby to the lower level still indicates it leads to the safe deposit boxes.

As other reviewers have pointed out, the staff at this Marriott are amazing. Check in was a breeze and front desk couldn't have been friendlier. He even called my room after checking in to make sure every thing was okay.

I had a room on the third floor facing the street. It was small but comfortable and tastefully decorated in a non-cookie cutter style that made me think I was in a boutique hotel and not a national chain. The room was clean and well-appointed, It included a microwave, coffee maker, and small fridge. It also included free WiFi (an amazing premium in a city like D.C.). The room was quiet and the housekeeping staff were efficient and non-intrusive.

There is a separate weight room and workout room in the basement level. The workout room includes two elliptical machines and three treadmills. All are equipped with personal televisions. There is a tiny pool and spa adjacent to the workout room.

The basement also houses a bistro that serves breakfast (via menu on weekdays and buffet on weekends). My breakfast was included in the price of the room. There is a nice selection and the service was quick and friendly.

There is a Gordon Biersche Restaurant located on the property. They also provide the limited room service. I ordered dinner via room service all three nights I stayed at the hotel. Each night it was delivered within 20 minutes and the room service staff were very friendly. The food was tasty and reasonably priced (for room service). Tip: Call the front desk to connect you with room service. For some reason the room service number provided in the room doesn't work and just gives you a busy signal.

I can't say enough about the location. The hotel is about a block from the Gallery Metro Stop so it was just a 15 minute train ride from Reagan National Airport and it only cost $3! The hotel is also less than a block from the National Portrait Gallery. The hotel is also within an easy walk to all of Washington D.C.'s attractions.

I highly recommend the Courtyard Marriott Washington D.C. Convention Center to business travelers and visitors alike. It offers great value and a great location without sacrificing style or comfort.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timelvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rshorter913, Operations Manager at Courtyard Washington Convention Center, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Thank you for your visit and for sharing your valuable feedback. We agree and as you have experienced during your stay, "you can bank on" efficient service, clean and comfortable rooms, friendly staff, and great food options. Our hotel is very unique and although housed in a converted bank, has the charm of a boutique hotel and we are able to appeal to every guest. We are glad that we were able to exceed your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest regards,

Ralph Shorter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Clean, safe, and staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect, within walking distance to the National Mall and museums. Enjoyed the on site restaurant. The room was spacious with plenty of closet and drawer space. Bed was very comfortable. Can't say enough about how courteous the staff was.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly remodeled rooms. They are more spacious than the older rooms and have a walk-in s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieC829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rshorter913, Operations Manager at Courtyard Washington Convention Center, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Thank you for your visit and sharing your comments. We agree our downtown location is excellent and convenient to all points of interest. We are glad that you found our staff friendly and were able to meet your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest Regards,

Ralph Shorter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Absolutely fantastic hotel. Service is impeccable, much more than I ever expected from a Courtyard by Marriott. Our group of 16 all enjoyed the stay and were very grateful to the staff for ensuring we had rooms all together. We loved the happy hour offerings in the lobby on Friday.

The rooms were clean, comfortable and had both microwave ovens and mini-fridges. Our view was fantastic, overlooking F St NW. Free coffee and tea is available in the lobby behind the TV screen and the breakfast area, serving Starbucks coffee (limited menu), is just downstairs. The history of the building is cool, with a bank safe door still adorning one wall in the breakfast area.

You do need your room key to enter the hotel after hours and to use the elevator at any time. This is a nice feature as it keeps the random tourist from wandering the halls of the hotel. Nice when it is so close to the many great attractions DC has to offer.

Valet parking may seem expensive, but is in-line with most hotels in the area... and gives one of the few options for parking overnight in the city.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apojudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#46 of 141 in Washington DC
976 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#87 of 141 in Washington DC
178 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 141 in Washington DC
2,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
485 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#66 of 141 in Washington DC
801 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Washington Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Washington Convention Center

Property: Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Address: 900 F St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1404
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Washington Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Washington Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Washington Hotel
Courtyard Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott
Washington Dc Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing