We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for an Aussie family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Ranked #43 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Perfect location for an Aussie family”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This hotel has character and it does have flaws but location location location! We're a family of four from Australia with two boys 9 and 11. It's not overly expensive, the location is superb, if your kids are into sport it's one block from the Verizon center (basketball and ice hockey), it's next door to the international spy museum, it has an inhouse brewery which had my husband the moment we walked in the door, there is plenty of restaurants very close, two blocks to a Macy's, and the staff were the best I'd encountered on our month visit to the States.

The staff were helpful and friendly. Barrack likes to run his motorcade past you quite often which is always a thrill. There is a great steak and seafood restaurant right across the road and it's cheap. Our room was huge, modern and clean. In the afternoons they set up a complimentary cookie and lemonade stand. We had a huge room which after New York was luxury. Ford's theatre is right around the corner and all the huge attractions you came for are in walking distance. Heck - Obama is in your neighbourhood.

Downsides
- the airconditioning was noisy as in our room
- there are no in room safes
- we only discovered there was breakfast available on the day we checked out

Room Tip: Ask for one with a quiet airconditioner
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaw O, Hotel Operations Manager at Courtyard Washington Convention Center, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Ms. Fiona,

Thank you so much for staying at Courtyard Convention Center Washington D.C; and for taking your time to write this wonderful review about our property. I am happy to learn that we have met most of your expectations especially with our staff service level.

I am sorry about that AC noise you had experienced. It is not usual for our AC to generate that level of noise. I will have our engineering team inspects those AC units shortly. I am also following up with our Front Desk team to make sure that they are informing our guests about Bistro (Breakfast) at time of check-in.

Thank you again for this wonderful review and I will look forward to welcome you back when you are in town next time.

Warm regards,

Zaw.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    530
    381
    118
    33
    12
See reviews for
371
243
63
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

I loved the location and the price. Close to two metro stops. Walking distance to mall museums and around the corner from Lincoln sights and affordable but unique restaurant options. I was very pleased with my choice. John Wilkes booth escaped through the alley behind the hotel. Brew pub/restaurant was a great way for us to relax. Small pool was a great break for kids. It had inflatable toys and ball which made the small pool fun. Great architecture in lobby and pool. Loved the hamburger and shake place across the street.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Janeandpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York, USA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

If you want to walk to some great restaurants, over to the Verizon Center to get in a Capitals game, or jaunt over to the Smithsonian - this location is just awesome. There's a Gordon Biersch conveniently housed in the adjacent building as well.The lobby and breakfast bar are a bit cramped, because the building was formerly a bank, but the rooms are very nice. The only downside was the price - for the price of a one bedroom suite per night, you could stay somewhere on a nice beach. But we weren't there for a beach, but to see the sights of DC. I would stay there again if I needed the location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Navarath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We were trying to look for a decent downtown DC hotel, that fit our budget. Courtyard Washington Convention Center was it! And we didnt regret it, almost all museums were a 7-15minute walk, it was early April so the walk itself was a great experience.
its beside the NEW SHAKE SHACK burger joint, walking distance to Verizon center and lots of places to eat.
one of the best downtown DC hotels!

Room Tip: ask for a room on the 10th floor (the only floor with the laundry room!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I'm a frequent business traveler. My recent stay at the Courtyard Marriott Washington Convention Center was a family trip on points, and I must say, this hotel operates like a full service hotel, and a good one at that!

The staff is consistently helpful and friendly, My room was completely up to date, the location is perfect for tourism, and government business ... and they have a full breakfast buffet along with a full restaurant for lunch and dinner.

The manager takes service so serious that he was helping a guest in the breakfast lounge get connected to the internet, and checking on guests to make sure their stay is a happy one.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
547 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Rundown for a Marriott. Rooms are old-fashioned and cooling system is noisy enough to interfere with sleep. Slow housekeeping service. Towels could use bleach, a bit on the grey and threadbare side. Overpriced for what you get. A good location for Verizon Centre games. Would not stay here again!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank gorlinjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed here again for this past weekend and had another wonderful stay! Such a great location..super clean..everyone is very friendly and helpful. The "thank you" cookies upon check out was such a special personal touch. We hope to be back real soon. Thank you for an awesome weekend!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Court1116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#48 of 141 in Washington DC
955 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#95 of 141 in Washington DC
165 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#64 of 141 in Washington DC
2,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#45 of 141 in Washington DC
472 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#65 of 141 in Washington DC
790 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#58 of 141 in Washington DC
2,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Washington Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Washington Convention Center

Property: Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Address: 900 F St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1404
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Washington Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Washington Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Washington Hotel
Courtyard Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott
Washington Dc Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing