We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th of July in DC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Ranked #44 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“4th of July in DC”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at this Courtyard July 3rd - July 5th. We don't require much. It has to be clean and functional and the staff has to be polite. I have long given up hope of good customer service. They do a great job here! After the fireworks on July 4th, they set up a small table in the elevator lobby with cookies, lemonade and cold beer! GREAT touch!

Valet - I thought it would be a hassle, but the staff made it easy.

Front desk - check-in and check-out were easy. A little long at times as they only had 2 people working.

Room - CLEAN and small. I didn't think the roll-out bed would fit, but surprisingly it did and we all could still walk around in the room. The room was clean. VERY CLEAN. Probably one of the cleanest I've seen in a while and I am one who has Clorox wipes in their carry-on. The room was well thought out. Functional, what space there is in that room, it was not wasted.

Breakfast - The ladies that were working breakfast are great! Very friendly, accommodating, excellent customer service.

Short walking distance to all the things we wanted to see. The mall was an easy walk from the hotel and we even secured a spot on the lawn to watch the fireworks. Short distance to Chinatown as well.

Overall our stay here was great! We don't usually stay on this side of downtown, but will definitely return here in the future!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HockeyMom365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    384
    120
    33
    12
See reviews for
375
246
64
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Divonne-les-Bains, France
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My colleagues were booked in this hotel so despite a couple of not so good reviews as well as lot of very good reviews on the hotel, I reserved 5 nights.
I asked for a quiet room, not overlooking a busy street, away form the ice machine and elevator. The room they gave me was on the 8th floor. Walking out of the lift to the room was depressing, wallpaper peeling off , carpet in a bad state ( and yes there had been a flood but no none told me). The room was dark and somehow also depressing so I asked if there was something with more light. The manager, Louise, was really amazing and as she was new to this particular hotel wo looked at the available rooms together and found one that seemed better.
What I did not know was that it backed onto the service elevator ( which was used by guests as one of the main ones did not see, to be working) so rumbled every 10 minutes like train was coming - and the AC was not only noisy but because of where it was near the bed, the bed shook when it came on.
Although the bed was comfortable enough - very odd in the way it is made with a sheet, a duvet with no cover and another top sheet- don't they have duvet covers like the other hotels?
The rooms have nice coffee machines and a real cup ( not plastic, so a plus) and the internet was free and good.
But I am afraid that I checked out after a sleepless night ( jet lag + the noise of the AC and elevator) despite the wonderful staff , who were friendly, accommodating and gracious.
The hotel is very central and convenient, so if you are not a light sleeper - it is a good choice - but if you are a light sleeper, find some where else.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafiki99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights while vacationing. Great location, near the sites, metro, and good restaurants. Very helpful and friendly staff. Quiet rooms. We were able to check in very early, and also able to leave our luggage there for the day even after we checked out. Fun to stay in a historic building, and even see the old bank vault door.
Pool is small, but no one was in the pool area when I went to relax in the hot tub, so it was fine for me.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at this centrally located downtown Courtyard Marriott June 26, 2014 for two nights. The architecture is quite beautiful, apparently this building was once a bank. The vault door is the main attraction when you go downstairs to the breakfast buffet area. We arrived really early, about 10:30 a.m. And although our room was not ready until about 2:00 p.m., the front desk manager was extremely courteous and when our room was ready it was on the 9th floor with a great view of the front of the building. We had a comfortable stay, the room was very clean, we never bothered to figure out the air conditioning and we either froze or we were too warm. I never like the pillows, way too plump, need flatter ones to be comfortable. We always stay in Marriott hotels and we have always had free breakfast, but this Marriott charged $14 for their buffet which didn't even include homemade waffles, that I could see. unless you had to order them from the counter service. One thing we did notice was that the service personnel for the breakfast service were extremely friendly, courteous, helpful and cheerful! Strangely, there was an altercation at breakfast involving about four Arab men, and the women handled the situation well, and even came over to apologize for the disturbance. Great job handling that situation! Too early in the morning for that kind of excitement! We would definitely stay there again, the price per night was reasonable, about $ 165 per night, located perfectly where all the attractions were in walkable distance. Great quick hop over to DC, to see as much as we could see in a short amount of time. The desk manager even extended our check out time to coincide with our shuttle pickup. Great job Marriott! See you again soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierrette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

A very nice weekend trip! My wife loved it!!

The good:

- Excellent location. Property is located one block from Madam Tussaud museum and one block from Spy museum. There are also plenty of big and small restaurants in the area to choose from. Big tour bus stop is about two blocks away.
- Valet parking is very convenient since the hotel is located in a very busy area. It is a little bit price though. I believe it was $35 a day. But you don't really need a car in DC unless you have to travel long distances or are not willing to use taxi or public transportation.
- Excellent restaurant on site! It is actually a brewery.
- All the rooms have a nice view. All the windows are facing the main street. So you just need to worry about the floor. The higher the better as usual.
- Bellboy and concierge were extremely friendly and always willing to help.
- Fresh juice and cookies were occasionally served near elevators. Nice touch.

The bad:
- There is a night club in front of the hotel. And it can get noisy at night. Just make sure you are located as high as possible! In the other hand, I did enjoy to see the nightlife as well.
- I also wish the nightly rate was lower than the one I got. But I do believe the location and perks are well paid.

Will definitely recommend this hotel. The on site brewery is a must!

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor to avoid noisy night club across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The hotel was great, especially for the price I paid. The building is beautiful, first of all, and the location is close to all the things you might want to see on a visit to DC: The White House, the Capital, the National Mall, Verizon Center, Chinatown, and more. The staff was also very friendly and helpful. Conveniently, there is a restaurant off the lobby, and a breakfast buffet downstairs in the morning near the pool and gym. I would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DD_Vols2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Hotel is located at a convenient location, the rooms and service was very good. Couldn't venture out of the hotel due to the snow storm, the thermostat failed but the hotel staff was very prompt in responding to the problem.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajeev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#46 of 141 in Washington DC
975 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#86 of 141 in Washington DC
177 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 141 in Washington DC
2,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
484 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#67 of 141 in Washington DC
801 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Washington Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Washington Convention Center

Property: Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Address: 900 F St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1404
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Washington Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Washington Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Washington Hotel
Courtyard Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott
Washington Dc Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing