We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location, clean and affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Ranked #58 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2011

This was our first time in Washington DC and we stayed 3 nights . We stayed on the 8th floor, but the view wasn't the best, but that was ok. We did so much sightseeing that once we hit the bed it was lights out. We were right across the street from the Metro. Buffet breakfast was great. If and when we come back to Washington we will stay here again. Staff was very friendly and informative. Location, Location, Location!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank DCgiroux623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,000)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,423 - 2,429 of 3,000 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2011

My wife and I live in Virignia and visit DC several times a year. The hotel choices are plentiful and some are better than others. Upon returning from our dinner we entered the elevator and pressed 2 to get to our 2nd floor room. The elevator went to what appeared to be the 11th floor and stopped. If you have not had this experience before, being stuck on an elevator is no fun. We could not get the elevator to move or doors to open. We picked up the emergency line to call the front deks and they kept hanging up on us. After 15 long minutes the elevator returned to the lobby where we got off and decided to use the stair for the rest of the trip. The front desk was not aware how to answer the phone in an emergemcy such as this which was discomforting. The doorman tried to encourage us to comein with another couple and we could not. Needkless to say we stuck around long enough to se ehe got stuck as well. We also wanted to park our own car and the staff was not helpful assisting us and instead were trying to get us to believe it was to diificult and we should just let them valet park the car for $25 a pop. We found parking about a block away at no cost, with no help from the front desk.

Room Tip: Shop and visit ahead of time if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Joey1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIDC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2011

Thank you for your comments and I apologize for the circumstances that left you feeling that the hotel services were not with your expectation.

Our elevators are equipped with a key card reader for additional security. From the description of the event, it appears your guest room key was not read by the elevator. The car then returned to a "rest position" and left you with the impression the car was stuck. For our part, I will review with all team members how to properly explain the operation of the elevator and how to respond to such incidents.

Should you return to Washington, please feel free to contact us so that we can welcome you back and show you how we used your feedback to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

The hotel was good, nothing special to note. The reason I'm giving it 5 stars is because I thought the service was great.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlbanyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

I took with two nieces for their first DC trip. We stayed two nights at the Hilton Garden Inn -- chosen on the basis of TripAdvisor reviews. Perfect location, across the street from a Metro station and a parking deck, walking distance to shops and restaurants in Chinatown. Good quick service. Wish they provided a complimentary continental breakfast -- then the review would have been even better.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hikernow07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

The service was fantastic! Enjoyed the comfort of the beds and the room size. Could not ask for a better location , we took the metro everyday and only had to walk across the street to catch it.. The best things that we liked about the Hotel were the staff , food ,and the location.. did i mention the staff ? Gennaro was fabulous! ( he and Fose will take very good care of you) my promise to you...Thank you George for taking care of us too! ( he's your Director of Food and Beverage , ask for him )

Room Tip: Super close to the metro station..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdsountris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

We checked out all of the hotels that were close to a Metro station. We were able to get a room with a King sized bed for $139 a night through Priceline. We were impressed from the beginning that we were able to check in at 12:00 pm with no problem and they took our car then as well. The staff was friendly, attentive and well organized. They gave us a map of the city, a document about what would happen if the government shut down, and recommendations about what to do and see. We didn't have a good view from our room but the room was very nice, very well maintained and the location was great. We really enjoyed the Corner Cafe Bakery for lunch or breakfast. Reasonably priced, good service and very good food. If you check out before 2:00 pm they don't charge you for the overnight parking charge of $35. For such a central location, we didn't mind pay for two overnight parking charges. The Metro is DIRECTLY across the street from the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaeLynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Great hotel and location! Everything you can expect from Hilton! Near subway station and most attractions!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maribel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Capital Hilton
Capital Hilton
#97 of 142 in Washington DC
3,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#71 of 142 in Washington DC
4,961 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Address: 815 14th St, NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-3301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £87 - £365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, Dc Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing