We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, close to everything, reasonable price for the area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Ranked #60 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed three nights over Easter weekend (April 22-25, 2011) and got their DC Weekend Getaway package that included room, parking, and breakfast for our family of three. The rooms were clean, standard hotel rooms with the nice addition of a small refrigerator and a microwave. Breakfast was serve-yourself and was quite good and had a variety of cold items, hot items, and a chef that would make custom omelets. There was also waitstaff that provided your drinks and did a nice job of keeping your table clean. We had one dinner at the hotel and the service that night was a bit slow and the food was quite cold on delivery. The hotel is very close to the White House and conveniently located to other restaurants. The parking garage was very efficient and did a great job of quickly bringing our car right to the front of the hotel and was very accomodating with in-and-out privileges. The sunrise Easter service was amazing down at the Lincoln Memorial. We enjoyed our stay and would go back again if we find ourselves in DC.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingSoal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,022)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,402 - 2,408 of 3,022 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2011

We researched several hotels for our visit to downtown DC, and decided to stay at the Hilton Garden Inn mainly for its decent ratings and cost--it was one of the lesser expensive hotels in the area. All I can say is if you're visiting DC to do sightseeing, the location of this hotel is absolutely fantastic!! First about the hotel - very friendly staff and clean, comfortable rooms that have a refrigerator & microwave. The view was of another building, but we didn't care--we weren't there to spend time in the room--we were there to see DC. There is a bar/restaurant in the lobby and small convenience "store" for basic items you might need (although there is a CVS drugstore only about 2 blocks away on the same street).

The location--the Metro Train Station (MacPhearson Station) is directly across the street. We kept our car parked in the valet lot during our entire visit and never touched it until we checked out. The Metro Train conveniently took us everywhere we wanted to go within a matter of minutes. And walking distance--the White House is literally only about 2 blocks down the street, as well as most of the memorials and monuments within doable walking distance. My husband and son were ecstatic that Five Guys burger restaurant was located directly across the street, and I was very happy to have two Starbucks located very close by. There are also great restaurants you can walk to, including the Old Ebbitt Grill--highly recommend the crab cakes--best I've ever had.

The only thing I would not recommend is the breakfast buffet at the hotel. There is a charge of something like $14 per person and it is nothing more than your sub-standard breakfast you typically get free at some hotels (cereal, dried out bagels, undercooked bacon, make-it-yourself waffles).

I just recommended this hotel to my neighbors and they will be staying here in the next few weeks. Also we are planning to visit DC again next year and will definitely be staying at the Hilton Garden Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We traveled to DC with 4 children under the age of 12. This hotel had a game table available (though we saw alot of lap top meetings in the morning hours) and provided board games at night. The weather was soooooo hot and they were generous enough to provide ice cold bottled water every morning on our way out to site see. The refreshing lemon and orange water was a welcomed site when we got back late in the afternoon. The only drawback was the pool....very small, in a cave like area of the hotel and no real support to get in and out. Other than that, we defineately recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SadiCrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

My wife and I came to DC for our 1 year anniversary to do some sightseeing and looked at a numerous hotels and asked friends/coworkers for recommendations as many have been here previously. The Hilton Garden Inn on 14th St. was high on the list (despite not being a 4 star hotel). Considering I'm an HHonors member and that the location looked great in relation to the sights we were going to see we booked this hotel.

All I can say is that I am nothing but impressed with the customer service provided by all the staff from the Front Desk, to the Waiters/Waitresses, Bartenders.

Room Tip: Just wasn't a fan of the pillows as I had a hard time getting comfortable. Although, that is ty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peripatetic1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We spent a 4 day family trip in DC. This hotel was in a good location. We just walked a few blocks to monuments and museums. The hotel was clean. Staff is 5 stars. Staff could not be more helpful. It was the hottest week of the summer. There was ice cold water in a cooler by the front door for guests as soon as walking in. Fresh cookies every day. Room was nice and clean. Has a delicious cook to order breakfast every morning. Will definately stay here again. I give them 5 star rating. Great trip. We always seek out Hilton properties because they always have pleased us on other family trips. My husband travels for business, and has found Hilton always offers a nice hotel. This hotel did not let us down. I would recommend this hotel to other people.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raylandridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIDC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2011

Thank you for your kind remarks regarding your experience.

We are working very hard to be travelers first choice when coming to Washington DC. We feel our location and value are excellent. By thinking ahead and anticipating your needs such as the endless supply of bottled water when it was 100 degrees, we hope to gain your loyalty.

Thank you once again!

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed here July 19-22 using Hilton Honors points. If you are staying in DC to see the sights - or need to be in the downtown area - this hotel is in an excellent location. Metro access is awesome. We traveled from BWI airport to the hotel by taking the Metro B30 bus to the Metro Greenbelt Station ($6/person...you'll need the exact cash amount for the bus - no change given) and purchased Metro Farecards at the machine at Greenbelt Station. Take the Green Line to L'Enfant Plaza Transfer Station then the Blue/Orange Line to McPherson Square Station. Exit on the 14th Street side - and the Hilton Garden Inn is right across the street. Our total cost per person from BWI to the hotel was less than $10/person!

Once we settled in to the room, we took a very short 2-3 block walk to the White House. With my child and I being first-time visitors to DC - it was a great way to be introduced to the importance & grandeur of the city. The Mall area is within walking distance too but we did get tired - but you could easily take the Metro blue/orange line to Smithsonian or Federal Triangle stops to save on some of the walking. The Capitol Building is best reached by taking the blue/orange line to Capitol South.

The hotel is located in "downtown" DC - so don't expect a lot of activity at night like you might see in Georgetown or near the Wizards arena.

We initially asked for a room at/near the top facing the street - and was told it was a non-smoking room on a smoking floor. We went ahead and accepted it - but the smoking odor was pretty strong - and the view wasn't that great. We asked the front desk for a change - and they graciously changed our room to the 10th floor on the backside. There was no view - but at least it was a true non-smoking room. In the evenings the 10th floor hallway smelled like hamburger grease and there was a breakfast smell in the mornings. It was tolerable - but not pleasant.

The room itself was fine - nothing special and outdated - but it was clean. The A/C was horrible! It had a hard time cooling and it rumbled throughout the night. The temps outside were extremely hot the days we were there, so perhaps our experience with the A/C was due to this.

Because we are Hilton HHonors Gold members, the room did include two free breakfasts each morning. I noticed a sign that the regular price for the "breakfast bar" is $14.95 each - the price for our pre-teen child would have been $10. I also overheard the hostess indicate that one can purchase items separately. The breakfast was marginal and pretty typical of hotel breakfast bars.

Using HHonors points, the price was right for us. We did have a car the last evening for traveling outside of DC for the rest of our vacation - parking per night is $35 plus parking tax (almost $40).

Customer service was fine and I have no complaints. After reading some recent reviews, my expectations had been set too high. For a nice touch.....there was complimentary coffee in the morning....and in late afternoon there was complimentary fruit flavored water (although cups weren't always available) and sometimes cookies.

Overall, I'd recommend this hotel for convenience & cleanliness, not luxury. It's great for a first time short visit. I understand there will be renovations later this year so perhaps the hotel will get its much needed update.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvmyjhawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIDC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at our hotel.

I am sorry that you had a smoke odor in your room. We have seven smoking rooms left in the hotel and have toiled with the idea of going 100% Smoke Free. There are two problems that I see coming from that. First we need to provide a place for folks to smoke. In a Downtown location that is either in front of the hotel or in the loading dock. Neither option is great. Second people are going to smoke and sometimes in areas that they really shouldn't.

The hotel's last renovation was 2008. We are renovating again this November! The rooms are in good shape but we want to be more hip and the new design is definitely that. We are also looking some treatment for the floor that has those smoking rooms to break them off from the rest of the floor possible with a set of glass doors.

Thank you again for your comments. They really do help us be a better hotel and hope you will come back again to the changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Very close to White house. Close to restaurants and transportation.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stoprr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Capital Hilton
Capital Hilton
#98 of 141 in Washington DC
3,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#72 of 141 in Washington DC
5,004 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#69 of 141 in Washington DC
3,122 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
3,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Address: 815 14th St, NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-3301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £79 - £354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, Dc Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing