We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for a visit to the White House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Ranked #58 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2012

The Hilton Garden Inn is a good location for several of Washington's major attractions, including the White House, which was an easy two blocks walk. The rooms are very small and 'old' and it was extremely noisy. We had two rooms for our stay and one on the street side and the other was facing the lane way and the noise in both rooms made it difficult to sleep. Breakfast was ok but we had to wait nearly 30 minutes on both days for a table, as this was Thanksgiving weekend this could attribute to the long delay in seating. The $38 fee (plus tax) to park the car was a huge rip off.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belle8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIDC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am sorry you had to wait for a table for breakfast. During the weekends we are happy to have many families stay with us. We see on the weekends folks like to dine together with other guests they may be traveling with and stay longer. They visit and plan their day which is fine but it also means we cannot turn the tables as fast. As we are in the heart of the action, there is some street noise which I wish I could abate.

Parking is expensive at $38. I assure you if you were to shop other hotels in the Downtown area, you will find we are the lowest with the exception of one hotel which has an open air, self park lot.

Thank you for responding and we will work on turning tables faster in the morning and on the noise on the street.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,942)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,986 - 1,992 of 2,942 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2012

Excellent location and price! Very close to tourist attractions, walking distance from the Smithsonian and if you walk up to K street excellent restaurants! Large rooms and a great concierge! There is a small "grocery store" in the lobby so that you can enjoy a beer or bottle of wine at the end of the day with some popcorn for your in room movie! Clean bathroom and very comfy beds! Excellent value!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shutrixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We were first time visitors to Washington DC and wanted a location central to the main attractions around the Mall, White House, museums, monuments etc, and found exactly what we were looking for in this hotel. You have to be crazy to drive in Washington with the constant traffic jams, not to mention rich with the very high parking charges. So the central location of this hotel in walking distance to all the attractions was first class. In addition they are opposite a metro station which we took the three stops to visit Arlington.

The price was reasonable for a central location and the room more than adequate for our needs. It was fitted with king bed, fridge, micro wave and safe. The view was not great but as we planned to be out all day that was off secondary importance.

The concierge staff are very knowledgable and willing to share with you where to go, where to dine etc, without being pushy. They will also make phone calls for you, as in our case to check up on the whereabouts of the shuttle we had ordered to take us back to the airport.

Check in and out was speedy and they were good enough to give us a later check out to accommodate our time to go to the airport with no fuss or charge. Our package included breakfast which consists of the usual buffet and also omelette station. We ate at their restaurant one night, and it was very good.

There is a happy hour each evening with cut priced drinks, and they also supplied hot apple juice ( they called this cider but it is nothing like the cider in the UK) and cookies free of charge. Coffee, apples and newspapers are also provided free.

They also have a small gym and indoor swimming pool. Not massive but enough for a holiday workout.

Could find no fault with it so recommend if you are looking for something similar as we have described then go for it.

Room Tip: High floor is always welcomed in a city with busy traffic although the double glazing seemed effecti...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JandJ71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Booked a room here to avoid paying $240 a night at the Grand Hyatt where my conference was, this was about 160 a night. This clean hotel with excellent staff (front desk crew had a great sense of humor) and a great breakfast set up was well worth the money, and sitting on H and 14th, is close to everything I wanted to see, and just a 15 minute cab ride from the airport. The negative is the bed -- for some reason all HG Inns have these weird mattresses which adjust via a dial on the top side of the mattress. Believe me, as a larger person, they are torture. The chain uses them but in my opinion, they should dump these loser mattresses for a normal innerspring bed like all other Hilton properties use.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you are a large person
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paoniakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We booked a suite here which was great - lounge area and bedroom area - which was very comfortable, especially at the end of a long day out walking! This hotel is a step up for an HGI as it is extremely well staffed by friendly people from the breakfast staff to the bar staff. It is very well situated for walking to all the Smithsonian Museums and to the main stop for the trolley. The Old Town Trolley Company tours take you all over D.C. and out to Georgetown and over the two days we went everywhere. After a day's sightseeing the bar was a great place to sit and chat about what we had seen. Very friendly staff and customers. I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manytravels_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Second stay here, service & furnishings are consistent with HGI properties (although rooms are a bit on the small side which is typical of city hotels.) Breakfast was good, staff was friendly and helpful; and the location is perfect - across the street from Metro station, a few safe & scenic blocks from White House, Washington Monument & National Mall. CVS is down the block, good for bottled water & snacks. Will likely stay here again if they continue to offer the low weekend rates.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tville3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

First-time DC traveler. Hotel was convenient for walking to attractions but there's a subway stop a stone's throw from the front door - very nice (especially on a cold day).

Desk-clerk was extremely welcoming and very helpful with helping me find my way. Plenty of staff around to help you get to the locations you want to see and they inspired confidence in their directions (sometimes desk clerks give me directions and I think "that can't possibly be right.")

Room was a little smaller than my expectations but it was lovely, clean and a great night's sleep. A+ for the heating/cooling system. I'm usually cold in hotel rooms - no matter how much I turn up the thermostat. But within ten minutes of amping up the heat I was nice and toasty! It was much appreciated since the weather forecasted for my first day of travel fell short.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 142 in Washington DC
3,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 142 in Washington DC
3,198 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Address: 815 14th St, NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-3301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £105 - £389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, Dc Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing