We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Ranked #56 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Cremorne, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A great option”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

While I stayed I ended up being rather sick and the staff were amazing. The room was really comfortable and in an amazing location in only a 5 minute walk to the White House. The restaurant is definitely worth a try as the food was lovely. The use of the washing machine was even highly appreciated as this was the mid way mark of a 5 week trip and clean clothes was something I was lacking by this point.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,291
    1,131
    282
    89
    32
See reviews for
930
702
153
661
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Clean, decent, small room, minuscule bathroom located a block from the White House and National Mall. Nice touches, like lemon water, tea, coffee and cookies in the lobby during the afternoon. I used my Hilton Honors points to spend the night, but $300 would have been excessive for this average hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicente R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This is a modern high quality hotel located in a quiet location within the business district close by to major tourist attractions and the White House only a few minutes’ walk away its difficult to beat, just bring your walking shoes. During the week it’s a busy location but at weekends it’s all change, reasonably priced, quiet and safe making it a good option for seeing the sites. There are also several bar’s and restaurants located close by along with the subway. Large modern clean rooms with newly refurbished decor, very quiet, free Wi-Fi and the 3 levels of comfort on the adjustable beds! all good for a city break. We stayed for 4 nights over the weekend and this is my 3rd stay with Hilton Garden Inn it always seems too impressive with very helpful polite staff and good breakfasts. For the price, location, quality of sleep and level of service it’s a good option, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DES32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
122 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

I was very pleased with my one night, weeknight stay, I generally ask for a room away from the elevators to avoid the noise, but even though I was right off the elevators, and vending, it was quiet enough for work and sleep. My colleagues did not fare so well. While my room faced the street they were facing the alley and listened to garbage trucks through the night. The breakfast is nice; but the fitness center is a little small.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BGBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, CO
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

My mother, sister and I just spent a week at the Hilton Garden Inn in downtown DC. We had a great experience there. It is a 3-star hotel. The price seemed right for 3 of us in one room. The Hilton is in the heart of the city, a few blocks from the White House. The location is the best thing going for this place. It's right across the street from the Metro station, which we mastered right away. We could go a hop, skip and jump and find several eateries that were the equivalent of Panera Bread or Atlantic Bread Company and eat for $10. It seemed to be close to everything. We could walk to some of the hop-on, hop-off bus stops. We were on two bus tours that took us right by our hotel in the end. We asked the drivers if they would let us off so we didn't have to hire a taxi from Union Station. They both let us off. There were a few homeless people around. The place was packed every day and night, mainly with business people and vets, since we were there for Veteran's Day. The staff was very friendly, helpful and accommodating. No complaints there. They had fresh coffee in the lobby. I have never been able to figure out those expensive Keuger one-cup German coffee makers that hotels are putting in rooms now. They had ice water and cookies/biscuits in the afternoon. They had a security system in place. The elevator would not go to any floor without us sliding our room card through a card reader, much like a credit card reader. We liked that. The restaurant was a little overpriced, we thought, and wine was $9 a glass. Totally ridiculous. We did get a lot of free vouchers for their breakfast buffet, which was really good. It would have been nice to have had access to a hot tub at night since our legs were killing us from all the walking. Before we booked the rooms, we read that there was a lot of noise outside. It is true. The traffic and sirens were horrendous, but I didn't hear anything until early in the morning when we were about to get up anyway. The traffic is like LA traffic. When I got back to Colorado, Denver traffic seemed to be going at a snail's pace. My husband came to Wash DC for part of the week. I then moved up to Floor 7 to be with him. We didn't hear any noise at all. Maybe being 2 floors further up helped the situation. Anyway, we weren't there to sleep anyway. We had too much to see and do. We liked being in the center of it all. I'm happy we picked the place. We hated to leave. November is a great time to go. The crowds are way down. The trees still had leaves, although it was a bit past peak. Still pretty. We had mostly warm, sunny weather, requiring only a sweater. On the 2 cold days, we visited museums. We don't like hot, humid weather or crowds. I'm glad we visited this month.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 55Merry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The hotel is well-maintained, in a nice location within decent walking distance of several of the DC sights. The staff is helpful, the restaurant good; in all, a convenient, enjoyable experience for a business trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Linda Susan Gor... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I got to DC mid-afternoon to check into my room, the desk clerk could not have been nicer and more helpful. They helped get me checked in a little early and gave me directions to our conference. I was traveling with a friend and they had given us rooms that were adjoining rooms. They were friendly and willing to help us.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#49 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#67 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,879 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,124 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#44 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Address: 815 14th St, NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-3301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, Dc Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing