We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Washington vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Ranked #57 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
North Attleboro, MA, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Washington vacation”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We had an excellent experience at Hilton Garden! The location was perfect - close to restaurants, the Metro and the White House. Room was cleaned thoroughly every day, breakfast buffet booked with the stay was an excellent bargain. I truly cannot think of any way in which our stay could have been improved!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,291
    1,129
    282
    89
    32
See reviews for
929
701
153
661
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This Hilton Garden Inn is in an excellent location, right outside the McPherson Square metro station. You can walk to most Downtown attractions, including the Smithsonian museums (~20 mins), National Gallery of Art etc and if you don't feel like walking, it is just a short metro ride away. There is also the 52 & 54 buses right outside the hotel, which will take you down to L'Enfant Plaza, then a short walk to Air & Space Museum, Natural History Museum etc.

The room itself is very comfortable and well designed as a business hotel - work desk with plenty of power outlets, free high-speed WiFi (fast enough to stream video with no issues), comfortable work chair etc. Beds are very comfortable. There is a small heated pool and gym in the basement and a good business centre next to reception. If you want to print your boarding passes, there is a free terminal near the bar area at ground floor. Staff was courteous and efficient. Ask for a room towards the back of the building away from the elevators, if you want a quiet room.

Will definitely stay here again when I visit DC the next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zana711_London1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We chose to stay here because we are Hilton Honors members and wanted to earn more points. Even without the points, we were very pleased with the hotel.

The hotel is VERY conveniently located -- right across the street from the McPherson Square station (blue & orange lines), 14th & I exit. It's also within walking distance of just about everything. Of course, some walks are longer than others. :-)

At different times of the day, there was always water, coffee and/or cookies available in the lobby. The staff were very friendly, helpful and accommodating. We were a little disappointed that we weren't able to be upgraded as Gold members, but that wasn't the staff's fault. We didn't opt for the breakfast and chose points instead, so I can't comment on the breakfast, but it looked pretty standard. In our zeal to go out and see the sights, we also never visited the pool or fitness room, so I can't evaluate either. We had a street facing room (a room with a view according to the front desk) that was of decent size. I suppose it was a bit noisy, but it really did not bother us at all and the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom had decent water pressure although the shower head seemed like it was a water saver. There was a nice sized safe in the closet, a microwave, refrigerator and a Keurig coffee maker. The only annoyance was the thermostat. If we set it at 70-71, we had cold air blowing out the unit. If we raised it to 72-73, the room became stifling hot. The best thing about the room was all the electrical outlets; two on the bedside lamp base, two on the desk lamp base, two on the wall behind the desk, one on the wall behind the chair, and two in the bathroom. There may have been more, but we didn't look since we already had more than we needed. After having stayed in hotels with inadequate number of outlets to charge phones, cameras, iPads, etc., this was greatly appreciated.

All in all, it's not a luxury hotel, but we would definitely recommend it and stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jlaughs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apex, United States
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Loved the friendly staff, great location and excellent service at the Hilton Garden Inn. We were on a family vacation to DC and the people at the hotel made us feel welcome and comfortable. We would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great downtown location in the heart of everything.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights while visiting DC. Room was clean, beds comfortable. We had a king bed suite which was great for a family with two children (comfy sofa bed). Breakfast buffet was very good (service and food). Right across the street from Metro station. Only negative was that our room overlooked an alley at the back of the hotel and the noise from the garbage trucks emptying the dumpsters woke us at 7 each morning - otherwise a wonderful experience.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bueller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This was a great choice for our visit to Washington D.C. The room was clean, quiet, and had wonderful amenities like microwave, frig, toiletries, hair dryer and safe. I liked the "green" suggestion from the staff to make a choice about reusing towels. The location was perfect for our visit. It was within easy walking distance of nearly everything we wanted to see, and other transportation options were available nearly right outside our door. Again.... it hit all the marks!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Older property in the middle of everything. Nothing special about this HGI. Rooms were cheap for Christmas day. Staff was not happy to be working on Christmas day. The breakfast was good, as was the wait staff at breakfast. The restaurant was closed during the PM on Christmas day, that was disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank FredRob123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#49 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,870 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#15 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,120 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#44 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Address: 815 14th St, NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-3301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, Dc Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing